We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant so much improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Tyn y cornel is in an idyllic setting. We did not stay at the hotel this time but had an evening meal there. It was delicious!! So improved since change of ownership. Three courses for £25, huge portions of very good food. The chef is to be commended. We will definately stay there when we next take a break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Encouraged by seeing this hotel had ample availability that night via the Trip Advisor link we drove some distance fully expecting to stay a few days full board. When we arrived in the early evening there were no cars outside and the place looked deserted with not too many lights on. When we walked in a very chatty front of house person said we could of course stay and he would get a room made up but he said there was no heating - apparently the manager had not kept an eye on the oil levels and they had run out earlier that day and she was not there to order any more. He added that the newish owners lived miles away and he could not contact them that evening. As it was already very chilly in the reception area we decided to give it a miss and move onto somewhere warmer and as we left we decided maybe it was just as well as the place did look very shabby and run down and absolutely devoid of guests or any other staff. We see from previous reviews on here things have been up and down during the last two years so we hope this lack of oil is not a sign of things to come. All so very sad as we did want to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe telephone first just to make sure they are fully functional and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Visited here for a soup and sandwich lunch over a very wet Christmas 2012. Had not been here for thirty years but drawn back by the stunning location.
Warm welcome by friendly staff. Dining room comfortable, clean and tidy with wonderful view. Quality beef sandwich delivered by a very friendly and pleasant waitress. I apologised about the crumbs on the carpet but she said no problem and just swept it up !
Might be back for the fishing next summer, you never know. Delighted Tynycornel appears to be in safe hands now.
One of the Classics of Wales, needs to be cherished for all to enjoy.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Having read some dreadful reviews shortly before setting out, we were tempted to cancel our booking. I'm glad we didn't.
First impressions are important, and we were pleased to be met and have our luggage taken from the car up to our room. Room 2 was spacious, overlooking the lake; the bed was comfortable; good fitted wardrobe with full length mirror doors; sofa and armchair added to comfort. Bathroom had been recently refurbished - the tiling not very well grouted! On a very cold day the room was adequately warm, but our request for a supplementary heater was dealt with immediately.
There was a good choice on the dinner menu, although there was no vegetarian option. We chose different dishes and were pleased with what we ordered. If anything, we were given too much. Service was very willing, but somewhat unskilled. However, whatever we asked for was provided with a smile. Breakfast was fine, but the dining room was a bit chilly in the morning.

We thought the proprietors and staff were anxious to please and we were well looked after.
There are still improvements to be made, but we think people looking for a comfortable stay in a small delightfully situated hotel should definitely consider the Tyn Y Cornel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmrLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend by the Talyllyn lake in mid Wales we stayed in the Tynycornel Hotel and everything was perfect. The room was superb and the breakfast and evening meals were brilliant. I would thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed here for four days and really enjoyed it. I stayed in one of the rooms in the annex, the Mallard. It is facing the lake, when you wake up in the morning the view is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is terrific and serves generous portions, I was looking forward to dinner every night and was never disappointed. When I complimented the cook on the onion rings, he sent out an extra serving of them to my table! I was in a group of six people, and we were all very happy with our stay.

The room was very spacious and the bathroom looked like it was recently done, it was quite fresh and new looking. There was a large bathtub and the shower head had one of those rain water models like they do in spas, which was nice after a long day. The toiletries provided are also of good quality. it was kept clean, not hospital clean but perfectly acceptable. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank frauchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Recommended by friends we were not disappointed despite the recent change in ownership. Room was a decent size with great view over the lake. Bathroom was very new and even had underfloor heating ! There is a fairly small evening menu but all food is freshly prepared and good quality. The chef seems genuinely interested in the food he prepares and what customers think.
Only suggestion I could make was that the lounge would be more cosy with a focal point like a woodburner or open fireplace. Great venue for visiting mid and north Wales, spectacular scenery and great walks on you doorstep.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
160 reviews
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
5.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#3 of 4 in Machynlleth
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
2.7 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#1 of 1 in Abergynolwyn
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Address: | Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £75 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing