We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first 5 Star rating. Worth the wait!”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“My first 5 Star rating. Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

A truly spectacular experience in every sense (staff, food, bar, rooms, spa). Understated chic with a very casual feeling, but I get the impression that they achieve this through hard work and immense attention to detail. Loved every moment, and would love to go back, if only I could afford it!! If you really want to treat someone special; this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz_Traveller Latin America
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    99
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
83
275
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just returned home from my surprise anniversary getway at Babington House. The experience from the moment we got there to the time we left was amazing. The rooms are so comfortable and the staff were always there to help. My husband and I had a mud treatment in the Cowshed which was to die for and the Cowshed Manager (I think) was very informative and made us feel so welcome and relaxed. Thank you so much to Matt, the General Manager, and Alice, the Restaurant Manager for making this weekend so special.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had a recent 3 night stay here (Main House first floor) and can't recommend it highly enough. We were particularly with October weather - no rain, crisp Autumnal air... lovely!

Totally relaxed place... want The Sun? No problem. Want to Sky+ Downton? No problem!

Attention to detail is evident from the beginning, from your car being parked, your bags brought up to your room and carefully stored, music system switched on (to Classic FM which was what we had on in the car - could be coincidence!, but nice touch if not!)...

Plus points:
- Attention to detail
- Service (mostly)... bar staff particularly good / friendly
- Comfort
- Good solid food
- Great facilities... pools, Cowshed, tennis, beautiful grounds
- Dedicated pool time for kids (meaning the rest of the time is adults only which is great)
- Real fire in the bedroom, which they were happy to light for us before we came up from the bar

Any niggles?
- Not much!
- Minor breakdown in communication between reception staff periodically when we had a problem
- Some restaurant staff a tad surly / no rush to come over and take an order
- Less than clear whether it's a robe-wearing type place, which can lead to some awkwardness!
- A tad difficult to find but well well worth it!!

Great place, yes hefty enough on the wallet, but worth it. Get involved!

Room Tip: Main house, 1st foor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wols88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned To Babington house with our three young children after our first visit over ten years ago, and still love it just as much!
We had a family room in the stable block, fantastic set up, stylishly decorated and fitted us all very nicely.
Children loved the swimming pools, especially the very warm outdoor pool on a cold morning.
Only downside were the surly staff behind the scenes, all rather thuggish looking and my daughter actually watched one of them 'gob' as he walked passed our room.

But regardless, wish we could have stayed all week, but as per usual they were fully booked, a sign they must be doing something very right.

Room Tip: I imagine they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebellChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent 1 night here in October 2011 and cannot fault the service, quality or location. (wlthough it is very difficult to find).

The design of our room in one of the coach houses was stunning and all the fittings and attention to detail was excellent. Walking the Grounds was also a treat.

I also had a nice swim in the outdoor heated pool (in mid October!)

However, it seems that an overnight here is in the order of stg£450 and there is also some confusion about being a member of the Club (different prices if you are a member).

This place is probablty the closest I have gotton the the famous addage........

"If you have to ask the price......... then you probably cannot afford it !!"

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTravellerPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed for one night at Babington House to celebrate our wedding anniversary and brought our 3 month old baby so we stayed in the Stable block. Location is excellent right amongst the countryside and atmosphere was very chilled... the grounds were extensive and looking immaculate. Stable block rooms were extremely spacious with a wide range of amenities including things needed for the baby... although we did spot some items in the room missing but the staff sorted it out when we raised this. Food was okay not michelin standard but was enough to keep us happy. Although we didn't use much of the facilities e.g. gym, pool, tennis courts etc we did have treatments at the Cowshed spa and was impressed with the level of service. We visited Longleat after checking out and this was only 20 mins drive away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuelindaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I had the misfortune to be invited to an event at Babington House. I was made to feel unwelcome by the staff and the service was appalling. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who values being made to feel special by the service they are given or the general demeanor of the people who work there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
7.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
21.4 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Property: Babington House
Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel
Babington House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing