We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious country retreat”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious country retreat”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it felt like a week! This is a beautiful, secluded get-a-way. Definitely take advantage of the swimming pools and cowshed spa. I wouldn't recommend for families with small children, definitely more of an adults hideaway. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed, the staff are fabulous and treat you like old friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    102
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
87
279
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Delicious food, fantastic party venue with attentive staff. Every time i have been i have had a fab time, greeted by friendly and helpful staff. So great to take a break from London and wonder around the lake and sit and read. perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegeneralgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was my second stay in the Coach building for a family birthday.

Starting from the drive into the grounds you will arrive to a beautiful building containing the reception, reading room, pool room, bar, restaurant and rooms upstairs.

The pools, gym, cinema, treatment rooms etc are scattered around the grounds in purpose built / converted buildings.

I stayed with my girlfriend in the Coach building and wasn't interested in kids facilities - our main concern was a weekend to relax and enjoy the food in the restaurant and facilities in the room.

We stayed Friday afternoon through to Sunday afternoon and planned to relax outside (weather permitting) and use the gym, pool and pre-booked treatments.

The service is relaxed and friendly. The staff are occasionally confused so urgent requests may need to be chased. We didn't find this a problem but is a small area of improvement.

The general decoration is well described as shabby chic. The rooms are fantastic - the layout, beds, bath, showers, TV and cleaning services are all top standard. I think lots of people fall in love with the rooms!

The food is equally good. Great quality ingredients and an excellent restaurant.

Finally the cost may be out of reach for many people (which is genuinely a shame) if you are fortunate to be able to afford a weekend here you may find most other expenses reasonable - meals range from £30 - £60 without drinks. The mini-bar charges £3 for a packet of crisps (expensive) and room service seems very reasonable at around £9 for a pizza. Overall a healthy budget is welcome as it would be a shame to economise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had the wonderful experience of getting married here and it was the best day of my life. We have also stayed many times and the staff greet us like old friends. I have stayed in places all around the world and the very best places but this tops the lot. If you do want to get married here the only down side is that members can still use the place. Don't let that put you off as it is the nearest I have ever seen to perfection. The spa is also stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildGirlKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Having just returned home after a "superb" Sunday lunch I feel after many an outing to Babington I should take the time to leave a review that reflects the service we have always received and enjoyed!

Firstly my husband and I have been members at Babington and the soho house group for a number of years originally without children which we have always remembered as such a relaxing experience and now with our eldest daughter being 5 and youngest 1 it still remains that little peace of heaven!

Today was no exception! Firstly the peace and tranquility of the setting is homely and deeply relaxing! The service in the restaurant was outstanding, a very well spoken gentleman was attentive and appleasing throughout our delicious meal which was cooked to perfection! The wine list is desirable and the view from the orangery of the lake always adds that finishing touch!

However what I have to highlight which I may have been guilty of taking for granted is the additional childcare facility here, not only is the Manager always courtious, professional and trustworthy but my daughters adore her and cannot wait to spend time with "Sharon". There are plenty of toys and activities always on offer and within the hour they where taken care of they made easter biscuits and cards! Dispite Babington being busy today, she still had a few moments to clarify on how they had been. I would have no hesitation in giving my highest recommendation of the childcare facilities on offer! The hour allocated allows members that restbite although next time We may book and stay as hotel guests get a whooping 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon, plenty of time to be pampered by some of the fabulous treatments on offer at the "cowshed"!

The only reservation I have is since leaving the UK and only visiting 2/3 times a year we really don't come enough!

Room Tip: Any, there all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtrippinWithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Incredible. Simply incredible. I went to Babington House with my husband to get away for one night and I've never experienced such amazing customer service which made it so enjoyable.

The room we had was lovely, a bit stuffy and hot but there's not much they would be able to do about it because the bed was on a mezannine level and it would have benefited from a full length mirror but other than those small points, it was magical and very romantic.

The staff were unpretentious and very friendly. The communal areas were fantastic and an atmosphere of tranquility pervaded the entire hotel - perhaps it emanates from the brilliant spa....

Loved the free afternoon tea, gorgeous products and fabulous grounds.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Try it out and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrissieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is the best Spa Hotel in the UK
Decor is shabby chic but very comfortable.
Coach House rooms are spacious and full of every conceivable luxury.
Food-delicious and unpretentious .
Spa-purrfect! Indulgent, relaxing, professional

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
704 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Property: Babington House
Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel
Babington House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing