We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Babington House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Babington
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
361
105
42
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
105
42
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowshed productsthe main housewalled gardencoach houseoutdoor poolstable blockspiral staircasesplit levelattic roomtennis courtshuge bedspa treatmentsfree standing bathsteam roomliving areamud treatmentmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A really interesting property based on an old house sympathetically restored to be luxurious and homely at the same time. The restaurant is pretty good - really fresh salads to start and the best chips ever. The mix of club members and hotel guests is a little odd, particularly in the gym (chummy members dominating the thing) but not diminishing the experience. We're staying in a walled garden room which is really nice; no children allowed in these and their location makes them quite quiet, save for the noisy crows at 7am.

Room Tip: Room 32 (walled garden room) is furthest from the main hotel - nice and quiet but a bit of a walk. We liked it that way.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent 24hours. I feel like i have really relaxed. Every aspect of this hotel is fabulous. The rooms are chic and nostalgic. The food is incredible and the service excellent. My only criticisim would be that the pool area is a little snug and no room to lounge by the indoor pool. The treatments are amazing and relaxation area fantastic. I will definitely be returning. Overall its the best place i have ever been to!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heret0help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at Babington House in September 2013 with my boyfriend to celebrate our first anniversary and unfortunately we did not have the wonderful experience we'd hoped for having read many other reviews of this hotel.

We stayed in the tiny attic which looked lovely from the pictures. It was certainly interesting and presented in a novel way with all the toiletries you could hope for, however, there were several problems. Firstly the carpet was extremely prickly which meant it was impossible to walk from one end of the room to the other without shoes as it was too painful. Secondly the room has several low hanging beams so we did hit our heads more than once. Thirdly the temparature control on the shower was extremely dodgy and we were both showering in either freezing or blistering hot water for some time.

While these issues could have been forgiven what really upset us were the flies. There is a complementary tea each afternoon which is a wonderful idea but the cakes were all covered in flies. There was a breakfast buffet each morning but again all the food was covered in flies. As we ate our meals there were flies flying around the dining room and onto our table. This made the food extremely unappealing and really put us off eating.

We were extemely upset by our experience and did contact the management to discuss our concerns in respect of the flies. We received a response but this particular issue was not addressed. We will not be returning to Babington House. It has a huge amount of potential but in its current state the price is ridiculous. We have stayed at many luxury hotels over the past year including the wonderful Montagu Arms in the New Forest and Ellenborough Park in the Cotswolds and this was by a long margin the most disappointing and the most expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had high hopes (in September 2012) but sadly they were not met. The staff on reception were helpful and well trained. However, when ringing up for room service, the staff were less than polite. The room (in the Coach House) was clean and of a high standard however we had to endure the smell of paint fumes and the noise of maintenace work throughout our stay. Plus the bar was closed and the hotel didn't think to warn us beforehand or apologise. The food was at best, average. The menu stayed the same the three nights that we stayed and we had the worst pork sandwich we have ever had (all fat and grissle). Breakfast is definitely the best meal of the day but ridiculously expensive. Worse still, my boyfriend was trying to propose to me throughout the trip but was thwarted time and time again by workmen pumping the lake, the church being closed and trays full of empty and dirty plates and mugs etc on the cricket pitch. It was so romantic when he finally found the right moment, in the dark, in the grounds.

The highlights were the tennis court, the pool (but only at night as other members and their children ruin it in the day) and the spa. Highly recommend the 'Mud for Two' and hot tub and the massages and the staff there were exceptional. Otherwise, we feel completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A fabulous country house hotel. We visited in winter (january) and it was chic and cosy, food was delicious. Yummy afternoon tea. Great pre dinner cocktails in the bar!

Our room, in the main house, had an open log fire in the bedroom AND in the ensuite bathroom....fabulous!!!

very relaxed atmosphere....good service.
Enjoyed massages in the spa.

We shall return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnycotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews