We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat away from the city”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat away from the city”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Babington gives you everything you expect and more. The service is impeccable and the staff can never do enough for you - from the moment you walk in to the bar staff.

They simply tick all the boxes. Yes, it is expensive but what you get for your money is beautifully appointed rooms, an informal yet subtly grand atmosphere, good food and delicious drinks, wonderful public areas (both inside and out), one of the very best spas and a real sense of being away...it is a home from home.

We were also actually fortunate enough to hold our wedding here last year (May 2012) and there aren't enough superlatives.

This is the creme de la creme of UK country hotels.
We have been to a few on a similar level but this is very few and far between.

Room Tip: For our wedding we had the entire place and pretty much checked out the different rooms. whatever yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastiandilleyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    102
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
87
280
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

To be honest I was left feeling a little bit disappointed after a recent visit to Babington House.

While there was absolutely nothing bad about the experience, and the service was fairly good, I just felt for the money we paid, we could have got a lot more. I have paid less for overnight stays at places like Pennyhill Park where, I believe, the service is better, the spa facilities more extensive and the food much nicer.

Just as an example, as somewhere with a spa you expect to be able to sit and relax at the pool side. This is not an option at Babington - the pool house literally houses a pool and nothing more. The Cowshed spa where you go for your treatments is in a totally separate building so wandering between your treatments in your robe or taking a shower immediately after your massage just isn't an option.

Additionally, at dinner I ordered a rare steak which arrived well-done. When I sent it back and ordered another one, also rare, the same thing happened again and the second steak was also well-done. You just don't expect this from a place like Babington House - you would think they would be able to cook a steak to order. And, even after this happened, they didn't knock it off the bill despite my not eating it at all.

Having said all this though, the rooms themselves were absolutely amazing and we couldn't have asked for much more. The surroundings are also stunning, it is just some of the facilities and service that do not match the hefty price tag. I'm glad we experienced it but I definitely won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It's tricky to find fault with Babbington. It does what it does with ease and simplicity, comfortable rooms, good solid food and warm - if occasionally inattentive service. It's been doing it for a number of years now - and knows not to mess with a winning formula, and while others attempt to match its skills, somehow they all fall short.

Nowhere else can quite pull off an afternoon of cricket on the adjoining ground and have people lounging around the bar in whites and stripes for the rest of the evening. Nowhere else can conjure up the majesty of the main bedroom with bow window and bed the size of a small chapel...

Occasionally the age of the staff means a lack of maturity in understanding their guests requirements, but Babbington was the first of the Soho House establishments outside London and its reputation for comfort, peacefulness and restorative solitude - a getaway-from-it-all pleasure dome remains unrivalled.

You will find over indulgent yummy mummies with children who run free - because "Johanna is a free spirit darling - she must draw on the walls if she feels like it" and public schooled bankers who don't know the strength of their own voices "Had to leave the McLaren in the garage - bloody Somerset potholes bugger up the wheels you know..." but it as long as you are happy to watch the wildlife - it rarely disturbs you specifically....

Go, enjoy and relish a bygone age of the house party at its finest.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The website gives the impression that this is a baby friendly hotel when it is not. The area where you are allowed in the main house after 7pm is actually more like a breakfast counter rather than a bar,right next to a busy kitchen. It is not somewhere you would want to spend any time or most of your evening. In the daytime there are signs on 2 of the 5 areas of the main house that babies are not allowed, and you are not allowed in the bar, restricting you to the restaurant. There is nowhere else for you to spend time in the main house with a baby in the day and you cannot be in there in the evening. This was not made clear or identified on the website at all. The lodge is at the end of a dark road which is unsafe to walk with a pram and without a car. When we realised these restrictions as soon as we arrived, we had not even gone into our room at this stage, the manager was not able to offer a refund.
The website should be upfront and state clearly, families with babies not welcome in the main house, but you can stay in your designer room, watch a DVD and pay us 500 for the pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jovinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We had been meaning to visit this place for a few years. It was such a treat! Really such a fantastic place... We had a room in the main house. It was a large and luxurious with lots of generous touches such as the full range of cowshed shower gels in the bathroom. The bed was massive and really comfortable. Everything was absolutely perfect.

Spa was perfection. We swam in the outdoor pool in the dark and it was fantastic - steam rising and very atmospheric!

Cocktails are fabulous, dinner delicious. We had a game of pool afterwards. It couldn't have been better. This is now my go to hotel of choice in the UK!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

An absolutely lovely hotel. Luxurious through and through, as the other reviews say. But our stay was spoiled by the noise of an industrial extractor fan. Our room was above the kitchens. On the first night the fan didn't go off until 0430 and was back on at dawn. We complained and the manager assured us it would be turned off the next night, but it wasn't until we asked. Unfortunately it has to be on when the kitchens are I operational so we were woken up on both mornings which was a real pity. So ask for a room away from the kitchens!

S

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank timwalker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We went here for our 25th wedding anniversary. I'm very particular when it comes to hotels and look for special rooms with extra touches. This hotel definitely had that.
The pictures of the rooms don't do them justice.
We stayed in a walled garden room (32). You enter into a huge bathroom, two sinks, nickel bath, shower and separate loo. Then upstairs is a mezzanine bedroom and downstairs a sitting room with table, log fire, and antiques. Actually everything you may want. Outside there is a terrace with outdoor hot tub. We couldn't have asked for more.
It is vastly expensive though but for a special treat or if money is no object it's a must.
The food is good but not fine dining if that's what you're looking for.
Staff are very friendly, the whole place has a relaxed house feel. Good bar.
Spa is great and treatments are varied.
We had mud for two, great fun and the massage at the end is amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katepots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
669 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
967 reviews
3.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
471 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Property: Babington House
Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel
Babington House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing