We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upmarket, relaxed and ubertrendy”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“upmarket, relaxed and ubertrendy”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we spent a night away here recently to have some child- free couple time. It was lovely: beautiful interior design and grounds and great attention to detail. The service was warm and friendly and the food was excellent. My only complaint was that I didnt bring my trendy dark-rimmed specs and trendy media outfit! This is a destination for the "Soho set".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    102
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
87
280
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for a night in April, this was a treat from my son and what a treat.
He had booked the walled garden room which was amazing, it's like a little hideaway in the woods. Spacious bathroom, huge comfy bed on a mezzanine which overlooks the walled garden, beautiful living room with log burner and wall to wall windows. Outside on your private courtyard overlooking the gardens is a large tin hot tub which we used quite a lot ! Gorgeous cowshed products to use as well.

Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Simon in the bar who recommended some lovely cocktails. Lunch in the bar tasty and good choice. Afternoon tea amazing and was complimentary.
Evening meal in restaurant was relaxed and again great choice. Ordered breakfast in room which was a nice touch, continental hamper was lovely together with a cooked breakfast, took us a while to eat as there was so much !

Grounds beautiful to walk around, with a cute little church and lake, I can see why this is a popular choice for weddings.

We went to be spoilt and relax for a couple of days and we certainly did, I wish we could have stayed longer. Was not sure if this was going to be stuffy and pretentious as some country houses can be, but was so not. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Walled garden room every time as have own hot tub in garden and views beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent a lovely weekend at Babington House. The Cowshed spa was impeccable and we had 3 treatments each in total. The swimming pool was nice, although if you are an adult I would definitely avoid during the children swimming times. The staff were BRILLIANT. The room and bathroom were gorgeous with fullsize Cowshed products in the rooms. Breakfast was very good and the free afternoon tea was a lovely touch. The only reason I have not given 5 stars was due to lunch and dinner. It was fine and a reasonable price, but nothing special. We have been to other spa hotels in the UK who have fantastic restaurants, some with Michelin stars, and it just seemed a shame that the food wasn't quite up to scratch given the price of the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary here and it was a wonderful and indulgent treat. The food was exceptional and I would definitely recommend the roasts - generous portions and the cauliflower cheese and roast potatoes were delicious and plentiful - we struggled to finish everything. The dining room overlooks the lake so is a lovely spot to enjoy your meals. We had a working fire place in our bedroom (room 1) and they were happy to make up the fire for us which was so cosy as we relaxed on the sofa and huge four poster bed reading and adding the occasional log to keep it going. The afternoon tea was superb (and included in the room rate for guests) with home made cakes and scones and was definitely worth driving back from Bath early to enjoy. They have their own cinema onsite adjoining the spa and we got the chance to see a film that was not yet on general release which was great and they let you take your drinks in. I swam in the indoor and outdoor pool (for five minutes only!) in February and the indoor pool is very warm so you can dash from one to the other quickly and stay warm. Definitely recommend Babington as a treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night as a special treat to ourselves. We stayed in a walled garden room and couldn't have asked for more. The private tin hot tub was our favourite feature, alongside the copious amounts of Cowshed products. Had a massage after checkout and we thought it a nice touch that reception told us we were more than welcome to hang out there until whenever regardless of not having the room anymore. Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EClarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fabulous hotel and amazing setting. We went for a friends wedding and it was perfect, our room was slightly quirky with a bath on the balcony, but this just added to the charm. Food was amazing and breakfast was a feast of berries, breads and the traditional English. Would love to go back .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

...any hotel that gives you cleanser and toner as bathroom goodies is ok with me. The afternoon beckoning for tea was a genius bit of thinking - kind of like a posh Butlins campers call. So exciting. I swam very happily in the outdoor pool in October which has a wonderful infinity angle to it. Food delicious and in a lovely environment. Bathroom larger than my bedroom at home. Staff on hand at every corner.
I was slightly intimidated at times by the over confidence of the other guests but all in all its a wonderful, wonderful bit of calm which is so very easy to feel at home in as soon as you arrive. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have staircases leading to the beds so if you're a bit wobbly in the night best to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
671 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
968 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,341 reviews
3.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Property: Babington House
Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel
Babington House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing