We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The antidote to stuffy country house hotels”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I love this place. I've been there twice now and would not hesitate to recommend he it to anyone (apart from my octogenarian aunt perhaps). Effortlessly hip without being pretentious. We had one of the first floor rooms which was wonderful with just about everything you could need. We are definitely coming back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were looking for a fun relaxing stay for our wedding anniversary where our objective was to crash out and relax as my parents were looking after our 18 month old
The property and grounds are fantastically well maintained and you are welcomed with a friendly tour of the house and facilities, check in is normally 3pm but we arrived a bit early so went down to the pool to wait for the room to be ready. We were given a glass of champagne each when the room was ready which was a very nice touch.
The rooms are very well furnished and ours was nice and big with lovely wooden floors and a very large bathroom.
Our favorite part was the steam room, sauna and pool which gave us the perfect way to crash out and enjoy what was a very hot weekend!
The only areas i would say that were a bit of a downside was that we found the restaurant service to be rather slow and a bit disorganized while the other areas of the hotel were spot on from a service level point of view. The price is overall on the high side but we had an excellent time so it was all worth it.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 15, it was nice and big with a great walk in shower and separate bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This has been my top rated hotel since i first stumbled across it 7 years ago. I've either visited on or near my birthday ever since as it has been the one trip of the year i've always looked forward to and saved for.
This year, I treated my other half (who has never wanted to visit on the principle of cost) but conceded on this occasion as it was also his birthday present!
So, I had booked an attic room, which was the smallest i've ever stayed in. Nice, but quite cramped if you're tall and certainly very warm. Great to visit Babington at such a sunny time of year but the rising heat did us no favours at night. The room had a fan but the necessary open windows meant we were awoken each of the 3 mornings by a dredger, clearing out the lakes. One of the most peaceful places in the world and from 9am til nearly 6pm every evening, the noise droned on and on. Not very restful when trying to lie by the pool in a rural retreat.
The second worst thing was nearly stepping into or seeing dog foeces on 5 separate occasions. This was the first time i've ever come across this problem at Babington and it really ruined my (and my partner's) impression of the place.
Having had problems with our reservation in the first instance and being charged 3 nights in full rather than the one night as advised by the receptionist was already a bad start. The little extra birthday touches previously received at Babington were then also missing (other than 2 cupcakes belatedly placed in our room).
These issues cumulatively put a dampener on our stay. My partner has not been converted and wonders why I have banged on about how wonderful the place has been over the years.
The staff were as usual pleasant, professional and apologised for the issues. We received a complimentary breakfast for the booking over charge, which was appreciated. The spa experience was lovely (excepting the building work noise in the background) and the food/drinks were great too. The setting is sublime and the sense of space is great. Lots of families were there though it didn't feel over-whelming as a couple.

Overall for the price, we expected pure luxury and tranquility. We would have booked alternative dates had we been made aware of the maintenance work planned through the duration of our stay. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: The garden cottage is the best place i've stayed at Babington, followed by the coach house, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pipindorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a lovely spot! Beautiful house and grounds,sweet small church,excellent staff..especially Lauren,and mostly well appointed rooms. Our room was a walled garden room with charming views into the garden.The negatives were that you entered the room through the bath...that had a "vintage " toilet like a wooden bench with a lid..silly and did not really feel clean.Also the small bedroom was upstairs so night time access was a pain.Also we each had one drink in the bar and the bill was $35 ! Dinner dishes looked much better than they tasted..no depth of flavor..and also silly expensive. But to the positives,the swimming pools were excellent during adult hours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Babington with our 6month old on our way to Devon. The majority of staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We took advantage of their baby sitting service in the evenings which worked really well. The sitters were experienced and friendly.

The food was excellent and just what we needed. The amenities were first class and pools lovely and warm. Our room had everything we would want and more. We stained in the coach house which is adjacent to the main house.

Unfortunately my wife is going to want to make it a regular stop over when ever we drive down to Devon.

Thanks Babington, see you again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWR-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husbands and I had a fantastic stay. Nothing was too much trouble. A hotel where everything was designed with guests in mind such as the long breakfast hours - good for those who like to sleep in! Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Coach house upstairs room delightful. Skylight means not suitable for people who like to sleep in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in May, to attend a wedding. Our reception was warm and welcoming and Donna showed us around the site, from the croquet lawns to the outdoor heated (to 33 degrees!) pool, to the walled garden where they grow all their own produce to the Cowshed with its tempting range of natural, deliciously scented products and spa servvices. There is also a tiny chapel in the 18 acre grounds - but the wedding we were attending was held in the orangerie - its a personal choice. Our room was in the stable block - a slight disappointment, especially as the bedroom is reached via a spiral staircase and has no en-suite facilities - the bathroom is downstairs, off the sitting room area. However, the rooms were comfortable, the bed was heavenly to sleep in and the bathroom was luxuriously fitted, also there are lots of complememtary Cowshed goodies to pamper yourself with, and comfy robes and flip-flops. They even have green wellies and brollies in the lobby of the main building for guests who want to borrow them. The food was delicious and the breakfast on the first morning was excellent. Service was faultless. The wedding was seamless and food and wine and champagne all excellent. A wonderful Wedding Day. Service at breakfast the following day was a bit patchy tho' and the waiter seemed to struggle with the idea of giving us a cafetiere and brought two cups of coffee. He also forgot our toast and when we asked he hastily brought a couple of pieces cut in halves - not triangles! We felt a bit let down but didn't let this sloppiness ruin what had been a lovely, luxurious break in a fabulous country seat.

Room Tip: Ask for an en-suite room if you don't like spiral stairs in the middle of the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
684 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range: £313 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel
Babington House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing