We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place - ideal for a weekend of R&R”
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babington House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We have been meaning to stay at Babington House for some as we are fans of both Electric House and Shoreditch House, and we fancied a romantic weekend in the country. The drive from London is lovely (apart from the congestion around Stonehenge), with beautiful rolling English countryside. As you turn into the long hotel driveway, you can immediately tell that you have arrived at a very special place and you start to relax and unwind. Upon check-in, your car is valet parked and the luggage is taken to your room and you will find clothes hanging up inside the wardrobe. We requested an early check-in, but there had been a wedding the day before, and so we had to wait until just after 3pm – no drama, we relaxed on the lawn outside the main house and enjoyed some refreshing drinks and breathtaking views of the countryside and lakes. We stayed in one of the Walled Garden Rooms and we weren’t disappointed. They have thought of everything – a pair of bicycles, Hunter Wellington boots, more full size Cowshed products than you could ever use in a Weekend, and toiletries. The shower was amazing and incorporated a steam room large enough for two people, beaten silver bath, and the toilet was an original concealed Thomas Crapper with a copy of "The Beano" next to it. The sitting room was very much home from home – interesting books, large television, Sky+ hd, Bose surround system, iPod dock, wifi, huge comfy sofa, candles and a log burning stove that the staff would light in the evening. We then had huge doors that led to the outdoor terrace – stunning views of the walled herb garden and a great beaten silver hot tub/Jacuzzi big enough for 2 people. The only minor irritation is the lack of privacy when guests are touring the garden, as they can see directly into the room. The Walled Garden Rooms are like small cottages – we didn’t want to leave and typically used room service rather than eating in the main restaurant. The food was very good and Breakfast was lovely although I am amazed this is not included in the room rate – very cheeky for a 5* hotel. We used the Cowshed spa and that was fabulous. We spent most of Sunday chilling at Cowshed Relax and the pool is a lovely temperature. There is plenty to do at Babington House, or you can just kick back and relax. I have seen the comments about children and kids and I agree – there were more than we expected, but it was school holidays and the hotel do try and control this, particularly at Cowshed Relax where kids are banned from the pool at certain times, and they have the Little House crèche. The staff were friendly and nothing was a problem. We requested a late check-out, but 12:30 was the best they could do, as the hotel was fully booked again. Yes, Babington House is expensive and the bill itself is breathtaking, but we had a fabulous time and have already booked a return visit – it’s a country retreat with a boho vibe - smart casual and not stuffy like many other 5* hotels in England.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longjohnsilverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed for one night in July in a large Coach House room.

The room was spacious and nicely styled with a huge and very comfortable bed – tonnes of pillows and soft bed linen of the highest thread count. Bedroom amenities were superb - Flat screen TV with DVD player and Sky Plus, Bose stereo, ipod dock, fresh flowers, lots of magazines, free water and milk in the mini bar along with other usual costly beverages and snacks. They have really thought of everything you could possibly want during your stay. Not to mention a decent supply of mirrors (including full length).

The bathroom was equally huge with double sink, roll top bath, huge walk in shower and flat screen tv. Loads of lovely full size Cowshed products of differing smells and a plentiful supply of other toiletries - bowls of cotton pads and cotton buds and everything from Listerine and toothpaste to tampax and condoms. You really don’t need to bring any toiletries with you, except maybe make up remover and cleanser.

The weather was hot whilst we were there so we were quite relieved to have a Coach House room on the ground floor which was cooler than it would have been staying in one of the attic bedrooms in the Main House. Oddly there was air con in the bathroom but not the bedroom. The bedroom did have a big fan but a bit too noisy during the night.

Food was great. There are 2 menus – bar and restaurant – and you can eat from any menu, anywhere, with different menus at lunch and dinner to avoid repetition. Pizzas cooked in a proper pizza oven and were delicious. And the cocktails were rather good too.

All in all we had a wonderfully relaxing stay and wished it had lasted for longer.

But… and this is a big but. There were kids EVERYWHERE. And of all ages, not just babies. There was no escape. When booking I thought that staying during the week and term time it would be kid free, but no. At one point I suspected that there must be a Mini Boden catalogue shoot happening there were so many families with young children running around. They overtook the pool area, the outside eating terraces and the grounds. If you wanted to escape them you had to basically stay in your room or retreat to the Library which isn’t ideal on a hot, summer’s day. I was expecting the clientele to be young media types but it seemed to be mostly just middle aged Telegraph readers and Boden clad families from West London.

The grounds and communal areas of the hotel are all lovely but there is a shortage of places to relax and lounge around outside, in the shade. People were fighting for umbrellas on the outside eating terraces and the huge day beds other than those by the pool are all in the sun. What is badly needed is a kid free outside space with both shade and sun.

Service was good overall despite a few minor glitches (a missed fruit salad at breakfast, delivering the wrong newspaper, missing an ingredient on a pizza).

One little annoying thing - I noticed that they had a poster by the ladies’ loos and in the Cowshed advertising in-house events such as cocktail masterclasses and films showing in the cinema. It would have been good to have this info on the website and in the rooms so people can book in advance. Had I known there was a cocktail masterclass I would have booked it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsSybarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed in one of the loft rooms in an attached building. Room was lovely, with roll top bath and great walk in shower - but my husband found the spiral staircase a little off putting when the bathroom was downstairs and you had to navigate down it during the night! Bed was comfy, and 'Cow Shed' toiletries provided were great.
As with other comments, there were lots of children (with nannies) and families, so if you wanted a relaxing couples weekend then it probably wouldn't appeal. We were at Glastonbury with friends so didn't see much of the Hotel apart from late evenings and lunchtimes. Ate in the restaurant on Friday evening and food was v.good. Didn't use the spa facilities, but the grounds are lovely to walk around.
Having stayed at other luxury hotels previously, we probably wouldn't return to Babington as value for money wasn't great - but it was a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed three nights. Awful, will never, ever return again. Babington House failed in every aspect of luxury hotel and only live in a former glory. I did not enjoy a room much smaller than my London flat and the ceiling so low I keep hitting my head, the shower/bath was so small the shower curtain sticks to your body while you stand in poorly draining bath so you constantly stand in mid-shin level water and the poor quality fridge only provide warm drinks.

Swimming pools are worse than a public swimming pool. I was truly shocked to discover how dirty and poorly maintained it was. The pool is full of children with nappies, water filthy, changing room is dark, dated and filthy. Lockers not working. Gym has only few old rusty equipments, no aircon, no cold water, no cold towels.

In addition, the quality of service and food were both so poor I was left thinking what is their selling point. yes, the location is pretty but this place doe not have amazing rooms nor spa. It is simply a summer camp for a family with young children and dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank remifentanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My manager and I were invited to babington house on a business trip. This is a fantastic venue for anyone looking for a romantic hotel or a girly spa get away! Whilst here we made the most of everything including the Spa which was lovely and the spa staff were so freindly and helpful. The rooms were all stunning and absolutly huge! The grounds are also the most beautiful ones I have seen and the large gardens are so amazing. The food is first class here and very health concious too so you need not worry about the diet! :) Overall we loved it and it was a perfect place to stay for a night- it felt like a holiday rather than a business trip!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaymarieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Eccentric, lavish and simply wonderful. Stayed there a few times now, my favourite room is way up in the attic with a hot tub on the roof! Nice chilled hotel with a very bad mobile signal (perfect)
If you have time, have a spa, if you have a helicopter fly in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Just returned from Babington Hse. 3rd visit for me. It has changed in the last 10 yrs, but in many ways it is better. Although I wanted a double room ( Iwas trvelling with my son (age 12) I was told this was not possible, and made to take a family suite, for a bit more. (I got last minute price reduction so the family suite was still affordable, but 60 more than a last minute double). It had 2 bedrooms 2 bthrooms,a nd was much too big for 2 of us. Never mind, these days everyone has strange policies relating to children. Room 27 though is very noisy at night, as it is next to the boiler room, ear plugs are necessary if you want un-interupted sleep.

Dredging the lake also meant that the relaxing swim in the outdoor pool was not the relaxing experience I had anticipated due to the noise of bulldozers.

Having said all that, it is still a unique and lovley place and I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mum48londonSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babington
15.4 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
693 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
12.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
887 reviews
9.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range: £309 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babington House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel
Babington House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing