We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brent Knoll
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night during a tour of the south country. We were in the mendip suite and were very pleasantly surprised. It was beautiful. Ok the taste was a little old fashioned but still it was beautiful. The best bed I have ever slept on! Thick carpet thick curtains and a brilliant bathroom. I really was disappointed to be leaving and wished we could have stayed. The staff were lovely and one particular barman was excellent. Having wanted to eat a snack and not a main meal he made the effort to ask the chef for me and bring me outside a wonderful sandwich. (Which I had ordered not just assumed!! )I would definitely stay there again. The ONLY negative thing was it was too hot in the room but they can't help summer and I didn't ask if they had a fan. Beautiful room beautiful location lovely staff. Can't wait to go back and I so will.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barneyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We do supply fans on request and would love to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't understand why they wouldn't have a fan on a very hot night?

There are peculiar steps in some of the rooms, so watch you don't trip.

Breakfast took a very long time to come and unfortunately was neither hot nor tasty.

However if the weather was cool I would go there again the people are very nice and the place is sweetly quaint

Room Tip: Perhaps you can ask for one with no steps in it? Dangerous when getting up in the middle of the nig...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lechatnoir7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and always appreciate feedback. As we are an old building and with the summer months being vary sparse we do not have air conditioning however we do supply fan upon request. I apologise that this was not offered to you. We would also like to apologies for your disappointment with breakfast I can assure you that this is not normal procedure nor is it our normal quality as previous review show. Your tips are perfect as we do have rooms that do not have steps in them and always try our hardest to make sure that our guest get a room they feel comfortable in them. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a two night mid-week break at Battleborough Grange. We booked a 4-poster room at the last minute through laterooms.com. The rate included breakfast. We wanted somewhere near to Weston-super-Mare and this hotel is perfectly located just off the M5. Although the room was just above reception and you could hear the traffic from the M5 and A38 this did not bother us at all even though we left the windows open all night because of the heat. The bathroom was upstairs in the attic but unfortunately because of the heat and because there is no ventilation it was like a sauna. This bathroom really does need a sky-light that can be opened to let in some air. The extractor fan didn't work either even though we did report it. The breakfast was nice, we had full english but if you just wanted a continental then there wasn't much choice. I would recommend this hotel if you fancy something a bit different from the usual chains.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SandraMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and your suggestions are greatly received. Unfortunately due to the age of the building we are not allowed to put a sky light in the bathroom. Regarding our continental breakfast we have noted this and appreciate the feedback. We hope you return in the future to see how your feedback has helped us to grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Called for one night on a stop over on the way to Cornwall.Excellent position for this exercise -quiet and comfortable.and only snag was that we could not have dinner because there was a wedding that day (a very frequent occurrence apparently ). That gave us the opportunity to visit Burnham (five minutes drive away) for our evening meal and a walkabout which,on a sunny evening was pleasant. Returning to the hotel with the wedding in full swing we.had concerns as to how much sleep we would get but the staff had the situation well in hand and had put us on the quiet side of the hotel, away from the revellers.
Comfortable,welcoming, very convenient and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: A very popular wedding venue. Ask for a quiet room away from the action.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisBram2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, General Relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Apologies that you couldn't dine with us that evening but it sounds like you had a much pleasurable evening in Burnham-on-sea. We always try our hardest to make sure that our guests have a good nights sleep and it looks like this showed with yourselves. We hope that next time you are passing the area you keep us in mind it would be a pleasure to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

lovely surroundings poor customers service on arrival( not shown to room) no tv remote control,peeling wallpaper and paint ,damp in toilet and bedroom wall (staff did say they had a problem with damp)broken toilet seat, plastic box containing toiletries dirty had soap slime with hair strands attached, dirty cushions, dirty stained bedding. carpet had not been cleaned basic house keeping had not been met . male member of staff seamed embarrassed but could not offer us a new room as they were full he did offer to have the room cleaned by this time the stay had been spoilt as it was to be paid by mothering law for our pearl wedding anniversary we had already stayed in Dorchester the night before for the same price and had had a wonderful time .we decided to drive home, not to accept voucher to come back but had refund on the carvery .customer training is in desperate need for front of house we were later told room 28 never gets used .staff in bar and restaurant are a credit to the hotel shame about management who ever that was .apology was poor .

Room Tip: ask to be shown to your room on arrival so any problems can be sorted without having to look for som...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest Relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Can we please firstly apologise for the problems you experienced with your room. We are very glad you have bought this to our attention and the problem has now been rectified. With regards to assissting guests to their room this is not something we usually offer as we are not a large hotel with only 21 rooms and only 2 floors. However we are more than happy to assist guests and carry their luggage if they would like us to. We aim to please all of our guests and make their time with us relaxing and enjoyable and we are very disappointed that on this occassion we didn't. We do hope that you return again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here as a "last Minute" booking as I was going to Taunton and Torquay, and ended up staying 2 nights The staff are very pleasant and the carvery was okay. However, on my second night I would have liked a change, but again there was just the carvery!!!
I stayed in 2 different rooms, as I had checked out, and then later that day, due to business, needed to stay another night on my way back up to Bristol.. Both rooms were really good an BIG. set in lovely grounds, and it was really quiet. .
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest Relations Manager at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and can completely appreciate your deflation in having a Carvery two days running. If our guests are staying a long duration we do try and offer them something different over our 3 day run of Carvery (tues-thur) however with yourself because of the nature of the stay we didn't notice this and are truly sorry. We hope that you return again in the future and thank you for such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Decided to pop in to the Battleborough after seeing the roadside sign for the midweek carvery - Staff were pleasant - although there was plenty of vegetables they tasted like the had come out of a packet or a tin - Haddock tasteless even with capon butter Yorkshires were cold - Sat down at table one where the cobwebs were obvious on the curtains - the net curtains above our heads were dirty with dead flies

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swallowman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As we can tell from reading you previous reviews you have very high standards and we are glad that you brought these issues to our attention. We, like yourselves pride ourselves on having the highest standards possible. With regards to the vegetables I can assure you that they were not from any sort of packet or tin. All our produce is fresh and locally sourced. Our chefs make all dishes from scratch which helps us to cater to your needs. Although it does state that the Haddock comes with a caper butter the chef is always more that happy to leave this out if requested. I can only send my deepest apologies for the cold yorkshire. I hope that you return to see the impact that your comments have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brent Knoll
2.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
181 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
879 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
30 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Bristol Road, Brent Knoll TA9 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Brent Knoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brent Knoll
Price Range: £55 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battleborough Grange is conveniently placed close to Junction 22 of the M5 near to the towns of Burnham-on-Sea & Weston-Super-Mare. It is set well back from the road and nestles under the historic hill known as Brent Knoll. The hotel offers 21 en-suite bedrooms with some splendid touches, including a rare split level honeymoon suite, new extension with 3 Executive bedrooms & 3 Four-Poster bedrooms, lovely landscaped gardens which have a Gazebo that is licensed for wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battleborough Grange Country Hotel And Restaurant
Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant Brent Knoll, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing