We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brent Knoll
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD AS EVER”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was the 2nd time we had been to the Battleborough for a family wedding and it just gets better & better.Belinda and her excellent waiting/serving staff just go the extra mile and make sure a special day is perfect-thank you.Only let down was no real ale on the bar-so I had to drink
wine!Keep the good work up and recomend it for weddings and any sort of function-plus what a stunning setting & view.Roger & Liz-bridegrooms parents

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves! With regards to real ale's we can understand your disappointment in the lack of them but to hear that this did not affect your enjoyment is excellent. We hope to see you many more times in the future and wish the happy couple all the best!

Kind regards
All of us at the Battleborough Grange Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    48
    38
    20
    21
See reviews for
57
70
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked for one night but wished we had more night there. The staff are friendly and most of all professional in the service they provided.
My wife & I stayed in the Mendip Suite, although the décor is a little out-dated, it is in keeping with a room with a four poster bed.

The room was clean and had all amenities one would expect, with the windows open one can here the "hum" of traffic from the near-by M5, In my opinion, not too intrusive. The menus in the rooms where out-of-date but the up-to-date menus which where in the dining room where excellent and offered a good selection of meals
.
(SUGGEST UP-TO-DATE MENUS ARE AVAILABLE IN THE ROOMS)

The evening meal was delicious and came with a complimentary bottle of wine, the atmosphere in the dining area was pleasant & comfortable, once again service was friendly and professional.

Breakfast was a selection of cooked English or Continental, good selection of cereals & fruit juice
pastries etc.
I would recommend this hotel and would suggest it should be awarded a four star rating, rather than it's present two star.

Mr. P. Green

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are lovely to hear as we have currently been inputting previous guests suggestions into practice. This seems to have paid off and we hope that you return again in the future. We'd like to thank you again for your comments regarding updating menus in the rooms. This is a very good suggestion and one that we have implemented.

Kind regards

Battleborough Grange Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we attended our nieces wedding and they pulled out all the stops to make sure she had the day of her dreams, the weather was not good but at the last minuet it changed for the better and the staff quickly set up the arbour and wiped off all the seating for the wedding to take place outside well done.I work in catering and i can tell you the wedding meal was spot on hot,tasty,cooked to perfection and delicious well done to the chef, the staff were very good and worked really well as a team quick and efficient.we stayed over night in room 1 at the top of the stairs, lovely and clean room, my only bad point is the bed it is a small double and the mattress has seen better days we felt every spring , my shoulder the next day was in pain all day
well done to all the staff you made my nieces day perfect Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are such a pleasure to hear and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We send our apologies regarding the mattress and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you visit us again in the future!

Kind regards

Battleborough Grange Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystrad Mynach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked 4 days at this hotel when we were showed our rooms we changed it to1 night room smelt of smoke net curtains were not very clean .carpets looked in need of cleaning some damp in bathroom staff were friendly .£50 pn with breakfast for 2 not bad if you are passing through .in the dining room you had net curtains above your head which were in need of a wash breakfast was nice but very slow to come ..Not for us sorry

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you felt your stay was not as described as we always try to make each guest feel at home and welcome and to know that your room was not to yours nor our standards is disappointing. The hotel was completely refurbished 4 years ago with each room having its own personal touches and a newly fitted bar in our restaurant area. We are currently in the process of making sure our rooms are just as perfect as they were 4 years ago along we our bar & restaurant and we hope that you one day return to see your comments were greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.cambs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night during a tour of the south country. We were in the mendip suite and were very pleasantly surprised. It was beautiful. Ok the taste was a little old fashioned but still it was beautiful. The best bed I have ever slept on! Thick carpet thick curtains and a brilliant bathroom. I really was disappointed to be leaving and wished we could have stayed. The staff were lovely and one particular barman was excellent. Having wanted to eat a snack and not a main meal he made the effort to ask the chef for me and bring me outside a wonderful sandwich. (Which I had ordered not just assumed!! )I would definitely stay there again. The ONLY negative thing was it was too hot in the room but they can't help summer and I didn't ask if they had a fan. Beautiful room beautiful location lovely staff. Can't wait to go back and I so will.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barneyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We do supply fans on request and would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't understand why they wouldn't have a fan on a very hot night?

There are peculiar steps in some of the rooms, so watch you don't trip.

Breakfast took a very long time to come and unfortunately was neither hot nor tasty.

However if the weather was cool I would go there again the people are very nice and the place is sweetly quaint

Room Tip: Perhaps you can ask for one with no steps in it? Dangerous when getting up in the middle of the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lechatnoir7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and always appreciate feedback. As we are an old building and with the summer months being vary sparse we do not have air conditioning however we do supply fan upon request. I apologise that this was not offered to you. We would also like to apologies for your disappointment with breakfast I can assure you that this is not normal procedure nor is it our normal quality as previous review show. Your tips are perfect as we do have rooms that do not have steps in them and always try our hardest to make sure that our guest get a room they feel comfortable in them. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a two night mid-week break at Battleborough Grange. We booked a 4-poster room at the last minute through laterooms.com. The rate included breakfast. We wanted somewhere near to Weston-super-Mare and this hotel is perfectly located just off the M5. Although the room was just above reception and you could hear the traffic from the M5 and A38 this did not bother us at all even though we left the windows open all night because of the heat. The bathroom was upstairs in the attic but unfortunately because of the heat and because there is no ventilation it was like a sauna. This bathroom really does need a sky-light that can be opened to let in some air. The extractor fan didn't work either even though we did report it. The breakfast was nice, we had full english but if you just wanted a continental then there wasn't much choice. I would recommend this hotel if you fancy something a bit different from the usual chains.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandraMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Guest relations at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and your suggestions are greatly received. Unfortunately due to the age of the building we are not allowed to put a sky light in the bathroom. Regarding our continental breakfast we have noted this and appreciate the feedback. We hope you return in the future to see how your feedback has helped us to grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brent Knoll
2.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
175 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
859 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bristol Road, Brent Knoll TA9 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Brent Knoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brent Knoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battleborough Grange is conveniently placed close to Junction 22 of the M5 near to the towns of Burnham-on-Sea & Weston-Super-Mare. It is set well back from the road and nestles under the historic hill known as Brent Knoll. The hotel offers 21 en-suite bedrooms with some splendid touches, including a rare split level honeymoon suite, new extension with 3 Executive bedrooms & 3 Four-Poster bedrooms, lovely landscaped gardens which have a Gazebo that is licensed for wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battleborough Grange Country Hotel And Restaurant
Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant Brent Knoll, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing