We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place full of character.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boat & Anchor inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
1 review
“Place full of character.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Michael the owner couldn't do enough for me. Bar staff very friendly. Rooms are rooms. Could be cleaner but overAll enjoyed my stay. I would stay here again. Location is nice. My room looked on to the canal and fields.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattio82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    39
    30
    23
    23
See reviews for
41
55
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Can't comment on the accommodation only the food. Happened to notice the Inn from the the M5 on our way to Devon, it was easy to find, ample parking and a very good location. The bar staff were very friendly and the service was great. Prawn baguette and chips and a chicken and bacon salad just average, nothing one could complain about and nothing one could rave about. Drink prices above average, food prices just average. Don't think I would return as I am sure there are better around

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for an evening meal on the way home from Liverpool to Cornwall. Driven past the signs on the roof and haven't been in for approx 15yrs. Food was excellent and location was good. Easy to find and only a few mins off the motorway, beats a service station hands down

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sean_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here in late July as an overnight stopover to Devon. We were made very welcome and nothing was to much trouble - The staff are a credit to the place and the chef and Michael, the owner, deserve a special mention for just going that extra mile to make sure we all enjoed our stay.
When we arrived we were allocated Room 2, the largest room as we needed a cot & extra bed in addition to our double bed (I doint believe they have a "Family" room) A very pleasant & helpful girl found us in the bar to ask what we needed and quickly provided a made up mattress, cot and plenty of extra towels.The room was clean and comfortable and had everything you need.
Bobby the parrot provided plenty of entertainment for the kids and we never felt they were in the way or not welcome - The chef even offered to cook earlier for them. Our little girl especially enjoyed her quails eggs garnish which she thought were mini just for her! We enjoyed a good meal after the kids went to bed - nothing fancy, just decent pub grub but well cooked & presented.
We stayed during the very hot spell and had to have all the windows open, we were concerned about hearing the M5 and getting a decent sleep but we need not have worried. We all slept brilliantly (the distant hum of the M5 is very soothing it would seem!) and our toddler in the cot would have slept on!
Breakfast was simple but hot and freshly cooked bacon, sausage, egg & beans. A few less beans and maybe the option of tomato & mushrooms would be nice. The cereal choice was limited but adequate and there was no orange juice - however I didnt ask for any either and I'm sure it would not have been a problem.
Overall an enjoyable stay where "good" is improved by the staff and attitudes and we would happily return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Canal seem quieter and the M5 is just a distant hum you dont notice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Came here for a family lunch on a rainy Saturday. Although the bar was fairly quiet the staff where cheery and helpful. Meals for 6 of us arrived promptly and enjoyed an unhurried meal. The onlt downside was my dessert....the raspberries in the sundae were still frozen but still I enjoyed it. I can imagine on a nice bright sunny day then it would look a lovely canal side pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked this hotel via Laterooms. Or so I thought. When I arrived there was no booking at the hotel, (I had a confirmation from Laterooms) and they had received NOTHING from Laterooms about my booking. Thankfully, the hotel staff were great and got us in, and the place was very nice - right next to a canal.

I got no satisfaction at all when I complained to Laterooms. Just a bunch of lies.

My advice - don't bother with Laterooms. They are incompetent and disingenuous. Book direct.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the canal if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights too many. My room was small, the bathroom and shower even smaller. No shampoo. Cheap soap. Big pub, and on the face of it looked promising. But wait for it.... It shut early at 10pm. Security was poor. The downstairs door to the rooms was never locked and the door at the top of the stairs had a lock that did not work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F13LEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
1.9 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
6.8 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#2 of 28 in Bridgwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Olive Mill Hotel
The Olive Mill Hotel
#12 of 28 in Bridgwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#27 of 28 in Bridgwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat & Anchor inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat & Anchor inn

Property: The Boat & Anchor inn
Address: Meads Crossing, Bridgwater TA7 0AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat & Anchor inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat and Anchor has recently had a change of ownership and most of our rooms have been redecorated and all rooms have had new beds and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat & Anchor inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat & Anchor Inn Hotel Bridgwater
The Boat And Anchor Inn
The Boat & Anchor Inn Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing