We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, great service just off the M5 jct 23”
Review of Admirals Table

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Admirals Table
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridgwater
Runcorn
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great pub, great service just off the M5 jct 23”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here last Thursday after getting off the ferry from Santander to Plymouth. As the ferry didn't arrive back until 4.30 pm we decided to book a room here for the night to break the journey home. When we arrived the place was busy but we had no problem parking. Our bike was parked here overnight without any problems.
Checking in was very quick and easy at the bar and the lady who checked us in was very helpful.
The room was very large and very clean and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was spotless.
The only problem was, we arrived on a very hot night and as our room was on the front. We couldn't leave the windows open due to the noise of the A38 traffic. Maybe a fan in the room would be nice? We could of gone and asked for a fan but we didn't so we don't know if fans were available.
Because we booked the room through Marstons we also received a 20% discount off the food. That along with the 2 for 1 made the meal very cheap and very good value for money. I had the sirloin steak which was very nice and cooked just how i like it and my partner had the hearty meat pie which he said was great. To follow we went for the giant carrot cake but sadly failed to eat it all. It was very nice and 1 of the best carrot cakes i have had in ages.
The service here was great and we didn't go to the bar once all night as the staff was very quick at bringing more drinks over to us. The food we had did not come straight out of a microwave and was well worth the money we paid. The pub had loads of atmosphere and we got chatting to other people staying here and some of the locals.
Breakfast was also really good and for what we paid for bed, breakfast, evening meal and all our drinks it was very good value for money.
We would stay here again but ask for a room not on the front next time.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    81
    45
    27
    17
See reviews for
70
90
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We booked on-line and at short notice to break a trip from Yorkshire to Cornwall...location was good and the price was fair...the food was typical pub grub, either out of a packet or a microwave...in fairness no worse than we expected.
The pub emptied of diners about 9 o clock and any atmosphere disappeared...in fact we felt like spare parts.
We decided to take a bottle of wine to our room..watch a spot of TV and have an early night so we could leave early next day.
We opened the wine in our room...guess what was in there...NOT WINE...IT WAS WATER...UNBELIEVABLE !!! The barmaid offered some lame excuse as to how it might have happened...No matter how...it's UNBELIEVABLE..but TRUE !! .Come on Marstons..How about an official apology ? I await your response !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorsport3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

oswestry, england
Level Contributor
574 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed the night before Glastonbury festival and after previous bad experiences at other places, all we wanted was a good bed and a quiet night. The hotel is on what appears to be an industrial park just off the motorway, but we didn't hear any traffic noise. We checked in and went straight to our room, which was quite big, with a decent sized bed, very quiet, tea and coffee, and a powerful shower. Perfect for a stopover, excellent price, nothing special, a little worn in places, but just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It was our first stay at Marston's Inn, we stayed for one night at the end of May to break our journey back from Cornwall. Our room was upstairs, no lift access to carry heavy bags. Room 3 was a nice, spacious room, with 2 single beds, a widescreen TV, wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The bathroom provided a large bath and shower. Good selection of complimentary refreshments provided in the bedroom.

The beds were good quality, very comfortable, and even through near the main road, it was very quiet, and not distributed by traffic noise.

The next morning, we had breakfast downstairs in the main restaurant area. There was a wide selection of food and drinks available for breakfast. However, only 1 gentlemen serving and did lead to considerable delays in service. The food we ate was of a good standard, and good portion size.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the pub, will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed on our way down to Cornwall and it was a perfect place. Just off the motorway. We arrived about 9pm and the room was lovely. We requested a cot when we booked but it wasn't in the room but we had one brought up straightaway. Breakfast was great and included in the price. All staff helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kha1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was our first stay at a Marston's Inn and we stayed just one night to break a journey. We booked the room through LateRooms.com and paid £37.89 for a twin bedded room with breakfast for two.

The Inn is alongside the A38 trunk road with plenty of parking at the rear. Signing in was quick and efficient. Most of the accommodation is on the first floor and there is no lift. Our room was on the front of the building facing the A38 and is affected by road traffic noise although there is secondary double glazing that reduces the noise level. The disadvantage is you can't leave the window open if you want a good night's sleep.

The room was spacious with two comfortable beds, desk and two easy chairs. It was clean. The en-suite bathroom had a good shower cubicle and was generally very clean with a bit of mould at the base of the shower that could be quickly remedied. Towels were of a good quality.

Breakfast was provided in the bar on the ground floor. There was a short delay because the chef's bus was late. This shattered my illusion that the chef's were always provided with a chauffeur driven car. A small choice of cereals or porridge, fresh fruit and a cooked fry-up with good quality ingredients.

Overall it was good value for money but a room at the back would give a better night's sleep if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and not affected by road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have stayed here before about four years ago and was very impressed by the value for money.

As we had to be in the region at short notice and needed overnight accommodation we booked in again.

The Admirals Table was exactly as we remembered it and I think this is the problem. It is a slight problem but a problem nevertheless. It looked as if very little had been done in the way of updating the rooms and wear and tear were beginning to take its toll . The door lock was extremely difficult to open and as I think someone else reported there are signs of mold on the bathroom ceiling.

There was a hole in the wall where the difficult door had apparently been opened with force causing the internal door lock to break the wall.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, spacious and well appointed for an overnight stay but I would mention that rooms at the front do suffer from some road noise, which was not apparent during our previous stay when we had a roomat the back.

The staff, were friendly and pleasant to deal with.

The food in the restaurant was pub food of a good quality but the breakfast was a disappointment and while acceptable - just was not up to the standard of our prior visit.

Against these negatives has to be set the very big positives of the ridiculously low price charged for overnight accommodation including the breakfast.

I would still stay here again, if I was in the area and hope that some of the wear and tear issues are adressed in the meantime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the prmises ie. not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
5.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Table

Property: Admirals Table
Address: Bristol Road, Bridgwater TA6 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Admirals Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Table Hotel Bridgwater
Admirals Table Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing