We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Half as Good This Time”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Admirals Table

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Admirals Table
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridgwater
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not Half as Good This Time”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My partner and I have stayed here many times, and couldn't fault anything.
This time was so different, awful, the bedroom wasn't as clean as it used to be, and the duvet could have done with a good shake, it was so lumpy, had plastic glasses in the en-suite.
Seven of us had dinner there on the Saturday night, never seen anything like it, we were kept waiting for 1 hour- 40min, after we ordered,and people kept sending food back all the time, if we hadn't been staying there, we would have walked out. The quality of food has gone down terrible frozen carrot and cauliflower, over cooked,you could squeeze the water out of them, they were so soggy, and the potatoes were black, ugh!!, we should have sent them back, but we were starving, after such a long wait. I only ate a few of the potatoes, and some of the beef, I must say the beef was tasty.
On the bright side now!!
A new manager started on the Sunday, so we might still give it another TRY, next time we are down South, subject to checking the reviews first here on tripadvisor, as there are lots of lovely places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryrhosUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    79
    45
    26
    17
See reviews for
69
88
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Ate here on a Saturday night when the restaurant wasn't busy. We were kept waiting a long time for our drinks each time we ordered. Our starters arrived in a timely fashion but our main courses took well over 30 mins to arrive after they'd cleared our empty starter plates away. We had five children in our party so the wait was a very long one. When we asked what the hold up was we were told they were on our way to our table but there was no apology given. When the food came there were things missing from a number of meals, some were changed when it was pointed out, but on the whole we just wanted to eat and get out of there. A number of waitresses needed a lesson in customer service, they were very rude. Needless to say we didn't order any desserts or coffees. When we received the bill there were a number of things charged to our table that weren't ours, it equated to another two people eating and drinking at the table. Overall, not impressed and couldn't understand why the service was so sub-standard when there seemed to be such a large number of staff compared to customers. I wouldn't eat here again. The toilet facilities also left a lot to be desired. There were three cubicles in the ladies, one was blocked and full of toilet roll another wouldn't lock, leaving only one that could be used. Lucky the restaurant was so quiet so that queuing wasn't an issue!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discodolly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Went in during the week, where we had not booked a table and had walked in about half past 8. We were a table of 7 and ordered from the menu which we were told that it was 2 mains for the price of just one, the food came without too long of a delay and everyone enjoyed the meal.

thank you too the team working

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 16/12/2013/to 19/12/2013 and had a brilliant 3 days. The room was very large, well decorated and comfortable. Room for at least 1 more bed if travelling with children. Tea and coffee facilities. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. You choose the items you want from the cooked breakfast menu. Therefore you dont get a full english that maybe is too much or some items you do not like. The main meals throughout the day and evening are all 2 for 1 so a good value. All food was really well presented with friendly staff who really knew their job. All the staff were friendly and professional. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy as on a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

stayed for one night weds 13/11/13.. the room was perfect nice big comfy double bed beautiful interior very clean and cosy.. decideded to eat in the restaurant, the service was fast and the food was great.. breakfast was really nice too.. couldn't find one fault with the place..an the lad on reception an bar was great too,.. had an excellent stay even wish I had an extra night, would have no hesitation on recommending this place to anyone.. would most certainly stay here again if in this area again... thanks again for a most pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristian26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here a few times. Sometimes it's waitress service, sometimes you order at the bar, quite confusing really! The waitresses seen more concerned with gossiping amongst themselves than dealing with customers. However, it's 2 for 1 very good value , serves a purpose.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WSMgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel, (room 5) for the Bridgwater Carnival weekend and making a shopping trip out of it. The room was excellently decorated, well proportioned and although it was on the main road, there was little traffic noise due to the glazing. Tea, coffee and water available too. However, this was spoiled by the mouldy ceiling in the bathroom and on some of the skirting.
The food...... not good I'm afraid. There was plenty to choose from but the quality was quite poor, there wasn't anywhere else that we knew of to eat so had no option but to eat here, the only saving grace was the 'two for one' offer, this eased the blow. Food again.... Breakfast.... Our teas were brought to us with lid-less teapots and the full English was received full of grease that filled a napkin. eeewwww!!!
Such a shame I have to put negative on here but I speak as I find. Hopefully this will help them make improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
109 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
23 reviews
12.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Table

Property: Admirals Table
Address: Bristol Road, Bridgwater TA6 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admirals Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Table Hotel Bridgwater
Admirals Table Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing