We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #31 of 31 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was a very comfortable place in a good location. Breakfast was excellent. We could walk from here to several local restaurants, or stay in and dine. It was a very useful stopover point not far off the M5.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    54
    30
    24
    19
See reviews for
22
75
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flaxton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I were visiting family and friends, and stayed at the Vicarage for one week. The staff were wonderful and friendly - our request were all met with smiles. Though historic, the twin room was adequate, with en-suite, flat screen TV, free WiFi, and coffee and tea restocked daily. The hotel is ideally located near city centre. Despite that - it was a very quiet area - so sleeping was good. For such an old building, it was surprisingly sweet smelling - not musty.
A few suggestions: the bedding could use refreshing, especially the pillows. The room could have used an a good vacuum - we even saw an old red napkin under the corner of a writing bureau that enjoyed the week's stay with us :) Overall, quite good though - we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetknees58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

On the plus side we received a very warm welcome on arrival and breakfast each morning was good, well prepared and served with a smile!
Our en-suite room in the annexe was adequate for a night or two but showing signs of wear and needing a little bit of TLC. However, it was clean and did have everything needed to make the stay comfortable.
Other commitments made it impossible for us to try the restaurant for dinner but as mentioned breakfast was good and the dining area, together with what we saw of the rest of the hotel, was full of character. Housed in a centuries old building, the Old Vicarage, is best suited for those like us who appreciate the charm in narrow staircases, sloping floors, beams etc.
With it's very central position the hotel couldn't be better placed and with a little bit of updating, has the potential to be so much more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EELPIEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I like the look of this place from the website & was pleased to find a family room which was billed as 2 bedrooms with a bathroom. Our room was in the original part of the hotel through 2 damp smelling corridors. The rooms needed redecorating as the paint & wallpaper was peeling off & none of the beds had valanaces on. The old net curtain did no reach the bottom of the window. Could only open the window in 1 room so had to get a fan (happily supplied). One room and a single bed & a random selection of 80s furniture including a storage cabinet, why?? Was expecting 2 singles for the kids together but no. Bistro was v dark so gave it a miss. Breakfast cooked well but in no way made up for the rest.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GillyStAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just returned home from an overnight stay at The Old Vicarage in Bridgwater. Excellent ensuite bedroom, very good dinner and suberb breakfast. We were joining up with some friends for a short reunion and the whole experience was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winifred39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just stayed a night here with my husband. If you like character and not a hotel chain then this will suit you very well. We were in room 8 , and it is compact with a skylight and shower only (I prefer a bath but for one night it was fine). Apparently some rooms have baths , so ask about it when you book. The room was very clean, and a comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was more than okay , with some nice additional choices other than just full English. There is a Wetherspoons , and other eateries nearby so no need to stay in the hotel for meals if you do not want to. We did stay on a Saturday night , and there is a pub next to the church which plays loud music up to about 12 midnight. If this would be a problem just ask for a room not at the front. When I book again I am going to ask for a room in the older part of the hotel , as we only ate in that part, and it felt lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

A gorgeous old building that has been renovated sympathetically. The rooms we stayed in were spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and roomy. The best part of the stay is the food. We ate an evening meal and had breakfast, both of which were delicious, with fresh ingredients and imaginative presentation. The staff are very friendly without being over the top, and were most accommodating, nothing being too much trouble.
Free wifi
Free parking
Breakfast to relish
Very short stroll to the main high street
Quiet location overlooking the church
Friendly staff

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speck39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
4.8 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#2 of 6 in Bridgwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
BBs Letting Rooms
#9 of 12 in Bridgwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Babbling Brook
The Babbling Brook
#12 of 31 in Bridgwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: 45-51 St. Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing