We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #27 of 30 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and the wife stopped one night on the way to cornwall,room was very clean and cosy,the breakfast was to die for, best ever and all for £65 worth every penny!Definately will go back in the near future,also lovely patio & gardens well worth a stroll around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for The Old Vicarage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife I stayed one night in the four poster room and have to say it was a most pleasant experience, if in Bridgwater again I would,definitely use this hotel. The staff were most helpful and the historic building is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saint123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a review of two half's.

First if you love old rustic buildings that are full of character then this is definitely a place that will appeal.

Second if you like a quiet modern hotel where you cannot hear the floor boards creek as the other guests move around, then this is probably best avoided.

For me I am torn on this hotel as a place to stay. There were some great points about it, like it's history, centrally located position and rooms are a reasonable size. A gentleman who I understand to be the manager was very good, but was the only member of staff that stood out. The other staff at no point asked how I was and seamed hurried. Even when checking out I was not asked if my stay was ok, just a passing comment as I was walking out the door to come back again.

Even though the rooms were a reasonable size, they were very noisy for me. The windows are single glazed and the sound that stood out the most was the loud cries of sea gulls. I am a light sleeper and it did not help that the dividing walls between the rooms were made of plaster board and you could literally hear every bodily sound from the guest in the room next door was quite off putting for me.

The beds were comfortable and importantly clean, although the bathroom was somewhat dated. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room was good and all the free view channels available on the tv. There is also free wifi available, that returned a 1 meg download speed, when I speed tested it.

The entrance to the hotel is extremely tight. It is an old horse and cart entrance, and certainly was not built with cars in mind (again its age and history of the place). I noted one other guest had put a considerable scrape down the rear side of their vehicle. I have a medium sized vehicle and took two tries to enter the entrance. Once into the parking area there are only about 8 spaces, that are not guaranteed, although I understand you can pay extra money and the hotel will reserve a space for you. Just do not arrive n a large car.

The restaurant area was again full of character but the evening meal menu was very limited and seamed quite expensive, but there are lots of places to go and eat within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, so plenty of options and choice.

The breakfast was good, with plenty of cereals and a cooked breakfast option and also a smoked salmon and scrambled egg option.

In conclusion I feel personally I would not come back to this hotel. For me as a light sleeper it is just too noisy with the plaster board dividing walls and the sea gulls. Saying that this place will obviously appeal to those who love old buildings with history who are heavy sleepers!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here in the four poster room which is beautiful. Really cant say enough good about it. Like travelling back in time. The room was spacious, warm and spotless. The breakfast was really good too.
Its worth the little extra to stay in this room around £95.00 per night with breakfast for two. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Pick the four poster room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed in this place for one night whilst away on business. Was a little traumatic at first as I couldn't quite find it. When I eventually did, I couldn't find anywhere to park and then scraped my car trying to get into the very small entrance for the car park. I then rang the hotel to ask for their advice on parking and they said that on the street is fine until 9am (no space was available) or even on the church car park. Unfortunately Weight Watchers was on, so that car park was full too. After driving round for 30 mins, eventually weight watchers was finished and I was able to find a space. I was checked in and shown to my room by a lovely gentleman and I had a fabulous room. It was huge, with a separate lounge and dressing room. I ate in the bar downstairs and the food was wonderfully presented and delicious. It was the same gentleman serving and again, he was lovely and welcoming. The hotel itself is wonderfully old and rustic and I love that. Breakfast in the morning was also great. All in all, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Old Vicarage is handily located in the centre of Bridgwater, right beside the shopping centre, but quietly situated beside the church. The staff are very friendly and efficient and breakfast was fine. The room was OK - a little dusty and in need of a bit of TLC, but was well equipped. Very good shower. For the money paid (£69) I was expecting something a little more luxurious, but for a one night stay it was fine.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Town centre location, lovely rooms nicely decorated, power shower off road parking great breakfast very clean highly recommend :) second visit for us as we have family in bridgwater and will be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 5 in Bridgwater
186 reviews
4.8 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
BBs Letting Rooms
#8 of 11 in Bridgwater
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#1 of 30 in Bridgwater
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Boat & Anchor inn
The Boat & Anchor inn
#1 of 1 in Huntworth
193 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Olive Mill Hotel
The Olive Mill Hotel
#16 of 30 in Bridgwater
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: 45-51 St. Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing