We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #27 of 28 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Situated well in the middle of town. Arrived very late and the only people in the restaurant - however, that didnt matter as the Manager - David provided an excellent and personable service and the food was great! Equally so for breakfast the following morning, freshly cooked and a choice of cereals, fruit juice etc. The hotel is very old and quirky and to be honest needs a little money spent on it, however, the owner has the made the most of the layout. I was a little disappointed in our bedroom when we arrived it was adequate - but funny what a good nights sleep does, comfy bed and pillows, as in the morning it looked quite pretty and overlooked a lovely garden. We did have noisey guests with a toddler over our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaystravelling03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    59
    33
    28
    21
See reviews for
24
83
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a birthday surprise so I had no idea where I was going. To say I was pleased would be an understatement. We had The Somerset Room -a huge room with a four poster and sofa. Very comfortable room. Good night's sleep. What we saw of the hotel itself was good - very old and quirky. Breakfast was lovely. Right in the centre of town but we missed the turn for the car park at first so went all around the one way system. Parking was a little tight but can't fault anything else

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBeth65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location is perfect - right in the middle of town, with parking and quiet enough to ensure a good night's sleep. It's a beautiful old building, although our room was across the courtyard from the main building. The room was adequate for one night as it was quite small - not enough room even for a chair. Breakfast was very well cooked and with quality produce. We were very grateful to be able to leave our car safely parked for a few hours whilst we attended a funeral at the church opposite. Many thanks to the kind and considerate owner!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Historic hotel, wonky floors, stairs and doors. Well appointed, ticking many boxes. Unfortunately it is in Bridgwater, a town that has seen better days. Hopefully the advent of the nuclear plant gives it a lift; literally.

Room Tip: The stairs up to our room in a separate block were precarious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Gornal, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and the wife stopped one night on the way to cornwall,room was very clean and cosy,the breakfast was to die for, best ever and all for £65 worth every penny!Definately will go back in the near future,also lovely patio & gardens well worth a stroll around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife I stayed one night in the four poster room and have to say it was a most pleasant experience, if in Bridgwater again I would,definitely use this hotel. The staff were most helpful and the historic building is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a review of two half's.

First if you love old rustic buildings that are full of character then this is definitely a place that will appeal.

Second if you like a quiet modern hotel where you cannot hear the floor boards creek as the other guests move around, then this is probably best avoided.

For me I am torn on this hotel as a place to stay. There were some great points about it, like it's history, centrally located position and rooms are a reasonable size. A gentleman who I understand to be the manager was very good, but was the only member of staff that stood out. The other staff at no point asked how I was and seamed hurried. Even when checking out I was not asked if my stay was ok, just a passing comment as I was walking out the door to come back again.

Even though the rooms were a reasonable size, they were very noisy for me. The windows are single glazed and the sound that stood out the most was the loud cries of sea gulls. I am a light sleeper and it did not help that the dividing walls between the rooms were made of plaster board and you could literally hear every bodily sound from the guest in the room next door was quite off putting for me.

The beds were comfortable and importantly clean, although the bathroom was somewhat dated. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room was good and all the free view channels available on the tv. There is also free wifi available, that returned a 1 meg download speed, when I speed tested it.

The entrance to the hotel is extremely tight. It is an old horse and cart entrance, and certainly was not built with cars in mind (again its age and history of the place). I noted one other guest had put a considerable scrape down the rear side of their vehicle. I have a medium sized vehicle and took two tries to enter the entrance. Once into the parking area there are only about 8 spaces, that are not guaranteed, although I understand you can pay extra money and the hotel will reserve a space for you. Just do not arrive n a large car.

The restaurant area was again full of character but the evening meal menu was very limited and seamed quite expensive, but there are lots of places to go and eat within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, so plenty of options and choice.

The breakfast was good, with plenty of cereals and a cooked breakfast option and also a smoked salmon and scrambled egg option.

In conclusion I feel personally I would not come back to this hotel. For me as a light sleeper it is just too noisy with the plaster board dividing walls and the sea gulls. Saying that this place will obviously appeal to those who love old buildings with history who are heavy sleepers!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
173 reviews
2.6 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#3 of 6 in Bridgwater
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
BBs Letting Rooms
#8 of 11 in Bridgwater
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#1 of 28 in Bridgwater
360 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Olive Mill Hotel
The Olive Mill Hotel
#10 of 28 in Bridgwater
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
Friendly Spirit Inn
Friendly Spirit Inn
#24 of 28 in Bridgwater
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: 45-51 St. Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing