We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect landlord and landlady , what a delight!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friendly Spirit Inn

Friendly Spirit Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friendly Spirit Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect landlord and landlady , what a delight!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My parents drove down from Scotland on Wednesday 13th nov as they where meeting us, they looked for accommodation and come across this beautiful B&B. they stayed for 2 nights and thourghly enjoyed there stay feeling very welcomed and homely. The food is very much home cooked and delicious with such a variety. We had breakfast on Friday morning and it was the best English breakfast we have all experienced for a long time eggs & bacon where amazing. Value for money and well worth a stay if your travelling through. Thank you again for your professional hospitality. PERFECT

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having spent an enjoyable drink in the pub beer garden over the previous weekend and only living 3 miles away, we decided to return and sample the ADVERTISED early evening weekday 5-7pm set menu offer.
We arrived at 5.30 to be informed that "the Chef does not arrive" until 5.45!
In good faith we ordered a first drink while we studied the menu, on returning to the bar at 5.45 to order food we were informed that orders had been taken and that a food order could not be placed at that time, again in good faith we ordered a further drink.
At 6.10 we were asked by a member of staff if we were ready to order. Based on the situation thus far I asked when we were likely to expect the food, we were informed at least 30 minutes.
Even though this establishment is actively advertising early evening trade they seem ill prepared to deliver what they advertise.
Having wasted our time and money in this establishment we declined the offer to wait as we were actually seeking a quick early evening meal.
Please be aware that this place is not delivering what it advertises.
However on a positive note we then visited the Malt Shovel Inn in Blackmore Lane less than 1 mile, where we enjoyed a superb meal, great surroundings and most importantly FINE service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were introduced to this lovely pub by friends. We have now visited several times in the past week or so.
The welcome has each time been very friendly and the food has been really good. This is a great example of Pub Food at the right price in the right setting. We have enjoyed really good service on each of our visits and the staff could not have been more helpful in meeting our requests for changes to the menu.
Living in a tourist based area it is lovely to be able to visit a pub where the locals still count. Hope to be able to visit here many more times

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have just been to the friendly spirit and I have to say the food was out of this world ! There is so much to choose from, how people on here can say different is beyond me !!! They have a lunch menu with a daily specials board, main and dessert £6.95 and an evening menu and specials board with no less than 5 different items to choose from. they offer good value for money when you look at the food they have on offer .
However I have to say the service was absolutely terrible the older lady who
Served us did not smile the whole evening the young girl was very helpful however she told us the head chef was called domonic .
We would return because the food is worth putting up with the bad service .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidsterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is difficult for me as I live in the village. However after my last visit I feel I need say something.

This time last year had improved greatly, but in the last 6 months has deteriorated. Being the best located in the village should have a lot to offer. We like the idea of being able to have a meal in what should be our prime community village inn, sadly that is not the case.

Called with family (5 of us) one evening. Personally I didn't want a lot to eat, but the limited menu did not include any light bites, salad options or jacket potatoes. I queried this with the guy behind the bar, and he told me such things were only on the lunch time menu.

He then disappeared into the other bar whilst we made up our minds. When he came back I asked if there was any chance of a salad or jacket potato, and he told me "I said earlier, if you want that sort of meal, it is only available at lunch times!" Strange really as I'm sure all these things can be found in the kitchen, There was nobody else in the lounge bar who were having food at this time as was early in the evening.

There were other menus on a side table that seemed different from the menu he had passed over the bar, one of our party ordered from this menu, he then told us abruptly we were ordering from the wrong menu. So back to our limited choice, which was in the main grilled food, steaks bangers and mash etc.

We ordered our food and was told our table number, and found it for ourselves in the conservatory. We still had the room to ourselves.

A lass took our order and disappeared. Whilst waiting for food I went to the bar for a drink, nobody there. Each time we visited the bar, not attended and had to shout for attention.

Food arrived at different times, same with the sweet. It was painfully slow. As well as the main meals, plates of additional chips and a potato in cheese sauce arrived, totally unnecessary as despite poor quality food, there was loads of it.

I think the problems may well revolve around the staff, not the management. Most certainly the guy who seemed to be running (Short with a moustache, looked like inspector Clouseau) himself seemed lack any sense of Friendly Spirit.

Did notice as we left, those that were sat eating in the main bar area looked like they were contractors who were probably staying there, and I suppose that is the type of trade the Friendly prefers to cater for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Good value two meals for £10 before 7:00pm.

Food well cooked and good service and resturaunt very clean and tidy.

The Friendly Spirit has decent decor and overall a nice village pub with basic but good quality food.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Service was awful, food was average and over priced, staff were unaccommodating and in one case was positively acidic. A real shame as the last time we visited family in Cannington and went for a meal here together we had high hopes for this being the new local eatery, with the village losing the good restaurant at the king's head and the globe inn several years ago. The owners have missed a real trick here.. what a shame, as the pretty location and potential audience/clientele deserves so much better!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Fr4uM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
2.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Cannington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Babbling Brook
The Babbling Brook
#13 of 31 in Bridgwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blackmore Farm
Blackmore Farm
#1 of 1 in Cannington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Spirit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Spirit Inn

Property: Friendly Spirit Inn
Address: Friendly Spirit Brook Street | Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Spirit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Friendly Spirit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendly Spirit Inn Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing