We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good old fashioned Somerset welcome... NOT!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Burtle Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Burtle Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good old fashioned Somerset welcome... NOT!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

As this pub was only down the road from where we were staying, we turned up around 8pm for drinks and a meal.

We found a seat, and proceeded to the bar to order drinks and grab some menus. The person behind bar looked like she didn't want to be there and running around serving drinks and taking food out.

We were asked if were going to eat, which we said yes and "HOW MANY ARE EATING" to which we replied "Four". The reply wasn't great, first we were told there would be a wait for food, then she would have to speak to the chef to see if he could cope/handle another four diners.

From the bar area, we could quite clearly hear the ensuing conversation with the chef...

He quite clearly didn't want to cook for another 4 people, and said "HAVE THEY BEEN SERVED DRINKS YET".

After that, we decided to take our business and spend £100+ elsewhere.

Having worked in the catering and hospitality industry as a Chef ranging from local country pubs to Michelin Star'd restaurants, I understand that it can become busy and sometimes customers might have a wait and if they are told about it, then the customers are generally very accommodating. For us this wouldn't have been an issue...

The issue was with the attitude, as they clearly didn't want us in there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairynosedwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charges and Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

£12.90 for a carvery I thought was a little steep but when I went to pay using a debit card was charged an extra £1.75 for the privilege. Talk about adding on changes to make more profit!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly period pub with excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have visited twice now, the last visit being Friday 29th June 2012. It is a little off the beaten track but well worth a visit. The pub is warm and welcoming with period features and open fires. We went for the restaurant which is part of the pub but distinct separate room. The staff were attentive and friendly making it a relaxed and enjoyable meal.

We selected the steaks; rump or fillet sold by the ounce although there are many other choices available including some nice seafood options. We were served complimentary fresh sour bread with oil and balsamic while we waited. The steaks were fresh and tender, beautifully cooked with crispy chips; definitely a good choice! To follow there are also many desserts to choose from but I could only manage one; the home made almond bread and butter pudding with custard is delicious! The wines were very good too.

Thanks for a lovely evening meal. I am sure we will visit again very soon!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow serivice and muddled orders”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Go to the Burtle Inn, Catcott Rod, Burtle, Somerset, if you have lots and lots of time on your hands and have sufficient patience to wait for your supper and aren't fussy what you eat. Otherwise go elsewhere! Service is polite but slow - and when I say slow, I mean very slow; even when the main restaurant was empty and the middle bit only had one other diner. That should have told us something about the place, since we visited on Saturday night and the place looked quiet. So a good choice if you like to take your time and have the pick of where to sit. As for the food, well it wasn't that special. The deal breaker was that they messed up the order, brought out the wrong food (after nearly an hour of waiting) and the owner offered 10% off for his mistake. After some heated discussion with his put upon front of house staff, he conceded to 20% off the price of that item - a discount of £2.10 begrudgingly given to make up for his mistake! So I give one for the front of house service but nothing for the rest of the experience of eating in the Burtle Inn. I should also mention to add insult to injury they have the check to demand £1.70 fee if you try to pay by anything other than cash. One to avoid

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SChrodingers_Cat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outraged!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were charged an "administration fee of £1.75" to have the audacity to use a debit card to pay the bill

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pauld_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burtle Inn also viewed

 
Spaxton, Bridgwater
Cannington, Bridgwater
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing