We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault anything, and felt the staff went that extra mile”
Review of Puriton Inn

Puriton Inn
Ranked #11 of 115 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't fault anything, and felt the staff went that extra mile”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went for Mother's Day, in a party of 20, the service was excellent especially when you consider how busy it was. The food was good quality, excellent portion sizes and good value for money. Each persons average cost was £7.50 for a good roast dinner, and £3.50 for a huge desert with excellent choice and quality.
All the mothers received a potted rose plant at no extra cost included with there meals.
We had 6 children with us who all ate their meals, and deserts, a good sign. There was plenty for them to do playing pool and running around in the large garden area. It helped that the weather was nice. The staff moved tables to accommodate us and how we wanted to sit.
Drink prices where standard for a pub and not over priced.

2 weeks prior to this visit, the pub accepted us all for a family wake, we're the buffet was again excellent quality and reasonably prices, the staff once again went out of there way to give us a section of the pub.

The Puriton inn is a real pub, by that I meant it isn't a modern chain pub, like weather spoons, and there was a friendly, positive atmosphere on both occasions.

I would visit here again, even though it's an hour away from home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hmspilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    61
    21
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are regulars at the pub, sometimes just for a drink and other times for a meal. When we eat at the pub we always have a great meal, good food, big portions and served by good friendly staff. This week we celebrated my husbands birthday. There were 13 of us and all our meals arrived together, hot and all correct, meaning we could all enjoy our meal together. Staff were and are always friendly and accommodating. Thanks for a great meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DGriffin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good quality”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed lunch at The Puriton Inn. The Ploughmans is certainly a highlight! Friendly atmosphere, good amount of space and family friendly. The desserts are also high quality and enormous!! Well worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Somerset Pub”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Been a regular visitor here for many years. It's a great pub situated right next to junction 23 of the M5. There is an extensive menu covering everything from sandwiches to full meals and there is even a children's menu. Good atmosphere, good beer and good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing home cooked food and friendly establishment!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

On entry into the Puriton Inn, you're presented with a beautiful presented & typically English pub. The food is beautifully presented simple english food, but made with top quality ingredients. The staff are very pleasent and make you feel welcome and comfortable from the off. There aren't many places like this left, but thankfully The Puriton Inn has resisted the urge to become a Brewers Fayre/Table Table etc, where all the food tastes the same. I'm working in the area and only discovered it 5 days ago, and now been 3 times!! Amazing food at very cheap prices - Unbeatable!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puriton Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Puriton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing