We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is it?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bridgwater
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hard to find, being upstairs above Costa, Burger King, etc. Has a lift. Entrance and exit to services, and parking, complicated and confusing (not Travelodge's fault). More signs would help. Don't miss the fact that you have to register your car at reception, or you'll be charged extortionate parking rates. Room excellent - large and spotlessly clean. Quiet, despite being on a motorway services. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hey! I have finally found a Travelodge in a worse condition than the Exeter Services one! That takes some beating...
Firstly, it is at the worst equipped service station known to man, where you have to abandon your car in a dark, old, dirty, scary, unlit multi-storey AWAY from the hotel. Not good as a woman travelling alone.
This is however situated right next to a very busy and very noisy lorry park!
The "services" consist of a tiny eating area comprising a Costa Coffee and Burger King plus the usual slot machines and mini shop.
The entrance to the hotel is within this area, with minimal security.(Door locked between 10 and 6)
I take the jerky, dirty, squeaky elevator to reception, and then further up to my room, praying I don't get stuck - it sounds as tired as I feel.
The room key is on a fob with my number beautifully scrawled in biro, but no worries as it doesn't fit the lock anyway. Borrow another one that only works if you use the right combination of swear words at it.
I am already exhausted and I haven't even got into the room yet!
The bedding is not particularly clean, marks on the duvet cover, I have to ask for more towels, tea, a cup, hairdryer and "Do not Disturb" sign.
The T.V. doesn't appear to have ANY channels working, and even after attempting to retune I can still only get 3. Doesn't matter, I can't hear it above the noise of the lorries reversing outside my window anyway.
The carpet has some nice purple glittery hearts on it from the last visitor and the loo does not smell too good. Maybe the hoover is broken and they ran out of bleach? The dirty linen is still piled up in the hallway though...
Constant noise all night; I gave in and took a sleeping pill around about 3 am.
Why do I keep doing this to myself?! I MUST stop using Travelodge!
It's not always that easy though is it? If you travel the route I do, then there are few alternatives.
If you want a decent Travelodge, go to the one in Torquay - that one is amazing, and everything a budget hotel should be.
Not this one though! I have stayed in worse places, I am just struggling to think of them right now.

Room Tip: Sleep in your vehicle, it will undoubtably be cleaner and more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezziejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy, everybody slept well ( 2 adults 2 older kids 1 dog ) very busy location but this did not disturb our peace , car park brill

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very nice area of the country around Bridgewater, and a reasonably good location for getting to places around the area. Would not recommend the car parking facilities here, feels like a supermarket multistorey, and did not like leaving the vehicle overnight, did not provide a sense of security for the car, especially if parking on the top level, the distance from the lodge was also not good if you have lots of luggage. Shame we could not get a good TV signal, not sure if that is inherent from the location or poor maintenance. Generally the lodge is OK, can be a bit noisy as it's a motorway service area, and the front entrance feels like you are about to enter ASDA with traffic passing right in front of the entrance. Overall OK but not that good, wouldn't stay at this one again, there are better places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gordonere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great welcoming staff at check-in and a fairly decent example of a Travelodge, with the usual cosy room and efficient bathroom offering a comfortable night for a reasonable price. Just a shame about the crumbs etc on the carpet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Avoid at all costs. Horrible rooms that smell musty and shabby interior. This is like the public toilets of hotels located in a service station. Find a B&B instead this place is just not worth it. Will not be staying in a Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Bridgwater M5, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay at our Bridgewater hotel Richard B. Our housekeeping team are expected to notice any unpleasant smells and the room should be aired out accordingly so it is regrettable to learn this was not the case. We would like to be able to offer the same standards across all of our hotels so we are pleased to advise they we are currently undergoing a full refurbishment programme where all of our hotels will be receiving a new look and layout. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they are aware of the issues you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely staff, nice clean room. very quiet, comfy bed. Had an excellent night's stay. I particularly liked the way the room was so spacious.

It was a completely different story to an awful night in a Holiday Inn the day before.




  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
4 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#5 of 5 in Bridgwater
277 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
1.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
231 reviews
16.6 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
448 reviews
12.6 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bridgwater M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bridgwater M5

Address: First Motorway Services M5 Service Area | Huntworth Business Park, Bridgwater TA6 6TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bridgwater M5 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bridgwater M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bridgwater Hotel Bridgwater
Travel Lodge Bridgwater
Bridgwater Travelodge
Travelodge Bridgwater M5 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing