We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Break In A Long Journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bridgwater
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Welcome Break In A Long Journey”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked one night stay on the way down to Cornwall from Essex and one night stay on the way back and as this was roughly half way it seemed ideal and it was,It is located only a couple of hundred yards from the Motorway so no time wasted looking for it, and is one of the refurbished ones and very nice it was. Comfortable Bed, Free Parking, and plenty of facilities surrounding it and two decent pubs on the other side of the roundabout within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simmobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    58
    20
    18
    18
See reviews for
69
57
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel and room were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Free parking. Convenient location. All in all excellent value for money. Only snag: hot & no air conditioning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank wildnwoolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We used this Travelodge for a one night stop. It had seen one of their refurbishments and in terms of size , price and location it was just what we wanted. If you know Travelodges you weill know what to expect. However, the temperature in the room was very high - a fan had been provided which helped, but with very high temperatures outside it was very hot and sticky. Only some sort of cooling would have allocated this - but when you book Travelodge you don't normally get this facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Fritzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Value for money
Ideal location, Very nice staff, Parking very good.
Best night's sleep I've had for ages
Went to bed at 11:00pm woke up 9:30 in the morning.
We always try and stay in a Travelodge as the beds are very comfortable Showers very good as well.
Cant fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden_Orfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The entrance is a bit hidden due to entering via shops but once in, the Travelodge was clean and tidy. The bed was so very comfy and helpful for a good nights sleep. Would have given a 5 star rating had it not been for being woken up at 6.00am due to metal cages being noisily manouvered - presumably for the shops below.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean comfortable family room. Some noise noticed at night from traffic as it is situated on motorway services. Food expensive at motorway service shop. About 2miles from town centre, reception staff helpful in arranging a taxi into town, cost £11. Overall satisfied with this travellodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

One must accept that this is a lodge for travellers and not a hotel, therefore the rooms are sparse. This particular Travelodge had apparently been re-vamped, although I didn't notice that much difference from my stay last year.

I stayed two nights. The room I was allocated was on the third floor of the building, facing south. It was very large and spacious, believed to the used as a family room when cots are required.

There was a long work surface ideal for reps to work on or to spread one's belongings across.
There were four power sockets and two telephone/internet sockets(?). Wi-Fi access is charged extra, though. A suitably sized, but rather old, television provided most of the Freeview channels. A large mirror with wall lights either side above the surface. A sensible 1 litre electric kettle with complimentary sachets of tea, coffee and milk was provided - but no biscuits as is often found in hotels.

There were no ironing facilities or a hairdryer in the room. Presumably these had to be asked for if required.

This was a double room, but only one plastic 'dining' chair was provided. There were no armchairs and nowhere to relax other than on the bed.

The weather on my visit was very hot, but the room had a cold feel due to two walls being painted light blue and a blue carpet. There was a small panel-type electric appliance in one corner, which unfortunately I didn't examine, but it could have been a heater or cold air blower. If it was an electric heater I dread to think of the air quality if used constantly, ie. during cold weather.

The 'dream-sleeper' double bed was very comfortable, but the mattress surface was 70cm (28") from the floor! The fixed headboard had very small surfaces either side of the bed only just enough to put an alarm clock on. These were 20cm (8") below the surface of the bed and obviously from a previous installation to the present 70cm high bed surface. There was a thin bed runner across the foot of the bed, for decorative purposes only, matching the curtains.

Above the headboard was a large ridiculous-looking picture - more like someone had thrown paint onto a surface and not artistic in any way. Surely it would've been better to have a large print of a Somerset landscape or historic feature to set the scene of the lodge's location.

There was a door-less 'wardrobe' with ample shelving for guest luggage and clothing by the side of the entrance door, which had a full-length mirror for dressing.

The bathroom was ideal, with toilet, sensible-sized wash basin, worktop and mirror. A socket unit for both 115 and 230 volt shavers was available. Plenty of towelling was provided. The bath was very shallow and not suitable for those who like to have a soak. The shower unit over the bath was very good. It wasn't a power-shower, nor electric, but came off the main system. The flimsy plastic shower curtain was inadequate, wrongly hung, provided little space in which to manoeuvre and drew towards oneself due to the air current caused by the downfall from the shower. One had to be careful that it hung inside the bath and did not slip out, thereby flooding the floor if not noticed.

Two very good points with regard to the bath/shower was that a large slip mat covered the surface of the bath and a large grab rail for getting in and out or holding on to when showering. These are essential health and safety items, especially for elderly/infirm guests, children and those with disabilities. These items should be mandatory in every hotel, but are not always found, even in the best hotels! I would also add that a similar slip mat placed outside the bath would be a great benefit to the aforementioned, as the floor became slippery when wet. Placing towels on the floor is a waste of clean linen and not environmentally efficient by today's standards.

The room had a very large window with a view over a wooded area. All very nice to look at. There were new curtains of thin material matching the bed runner. There was a safety strap attached to the lower edge of the opening part of the window, preventing it from being opened no more than a few centimetres, obviously to prevent anyone falling out - or even escaping, perhaps!

Due to the lighting arrangement the room was somewhat dreary at night time and the only place one could comfortably read was sitting at the work surface beneath the wall lights.

The thing that spoilt my stay was that this room, No. 225, suffered from noise pollution - and not from motorway traffic, either:
(1) It was situated opposed the entrance door to the corridor, which banged every time a guest entered or left, including any noise made getting through the door with their luggage or the usual chatter before realising they ought to be quiet.
(2) In the bathroom there was a constant noise above the ceiling from what was thought to be the air conditioning system. The bathroom door had to be kept closed during the night when sleeping.
(3) Outside and below the window there was a large extractor unit to a side extension of the main building. It was so noisy the window had to be kept closed during the day, let alone during the night!

On the ground floor below there is a Costa coffee restaurant, M&S Simply Food shop, W H Smith newsagent/shop and a Burger King takeaway - all very handy for short stay and those on the move.

There was ample parking, but this was controlled by CCTV cameras which clock every vehicle in and out. For Travelodge guests it is free, but one has to book their car in at Reception, otherwise huge parking charges are applied.

Would I stay here again? Yes, simply because it is convenient for the purpose of my visit to the area. I can come and go as I need to, is less personal than bed and breakfast and I can choose when and where I eat with no fixed meal times.

Did I complain about anything? No. It wasn't the staff fault, so why bother them. They couldn't have done anything about it anyway. The faults lie in the building designer regarding the air conditioning and extractor, and in the interior designer for the room. Hence the reason I have recorded this on Travelodge's feedback and Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: 1. I am not a light sleeper, but for the benefit of those who are: (a) ensure your room is not oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
246 reviews
5.8 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#3 of 6 in Bridgwater
249 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bridgwater M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bridgwater M5

Property: Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Address: First Motorway Services M5 Service Area Huntworth Business Park, Bridgwater TA6 6TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bridgwater M5 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bridgwater M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bridgwater Hotel Bridgwater
Travel Lodge Bridgwater
Bridgwater Travelodge
Travelodge Bridgwater M5 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing