We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cinema”
Review of Scott Cinemas

Scott Cinemas
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: HISTORY This cinema was opened as The Odeon on 13th July 1936. The architect was T.Cecil Howitt who also designed very similar Odeons in Weston super Mare, Bristol and Clacton on Sea. It had 1,525 seats. Howitt's Odeons were very stylish mid- Art Deco buildings and there are exterior and interior photographs on display in the cinema foyer. The main staircase and upper foyer retain many features. During the late 1960's it was sold to Classic Cinemas, who were later bought by Cannon Cinemas. Classic separated the stalls area for Bingo and divided the balcony into the two existing cinemas, making a new cinema entrance on the side. Scott Cinemas acquired cinemas in this thriving town in December 1983. For further information see: Odeon Cinemas 1 by Allen Eyles, BFI Publishing. CURRENT The cinema has two identical auditoria on the first floor occupying the old circle. A refurbishment was carried out in 2005 to restep the auditoria to allow new seating to installed. 2011 saw the refurbishment of the toilets and some front of house areas, and both screens were converted to Digital Projection. In 2013 we completely refurbished the lower foyer, with some sprucing up of the upper foyer.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cinema”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful cinema much better than the big multiplex ones, just 2 screens so you get a much better service. Ticket prices are very reasonable and so are the snacks.

Helpful?
Thank HVE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great Independent Cinema”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Absolute delight to visit this independent cinema. Old fashioned values, clean in al public areas, comfortable seats, good film choices and discounted evenings. Well done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
277 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great little cinema”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Okay so it's not got the razzmatazz of the big chain cinemas but this smaller 'local' cinema is a great place to watch the latest films. We booked tickets through the Scott Cinemas website for Dawn Of The Planet of the Apes. It should be noted at this point that their website booking facility does not seem to work on iPad / iPhone as when I tried it on my iPad etc it kept coming up with an error message. Using a PC and Internet Explorer it worked fine, there is also a Scott Cinemas App but you have to go online to book tickets.

The cinema in Bridgwater does not offer any disabled access, the two 'terrible' reviews on here refer to the lack of disabled access. I think these reviews are slightly unfair as the website clearly states that disabled access is not available and also this lack of access is beyond the operators ability to change / improve.

Car parking is quite good with a reasonably sized car park right opposite the cinema or you can get parked down a small side street just to the right if there are still spaces.

As I had booked tickets I was able to use my card to collect them from the machine just to the left of the main box office which is what you expect at the bigger establishments but isn't always available at these smaller places.

The price of the tickets was very reasonable compared with the larger chains, just over £5 for standard seating and just over £6 for premier seating. We recently went to a Vue cinema and had premier seating there, after 1 1/2 hours I was suffering numb bum! These seats at this cinema I thought were much more comfortable even if they lacked the obligatory cup holders! They are also much less expensive than Vue or Odeon. There was plenty of leg room and you don't feel cramped at all.

I had a small Pepsi and the wife had a coffee and a bucket of popcorn which came to £6.20 in total which I thought was good value, they even offered my wife the choice of a china or cardboard cup for her coffee! You certainly wouldn't get china crockery being offered in the big chains!

The screen is a little smaller than the Odeon or Vue cinemas but it still provides perfectly good viewing from all angles, I normally prefer to sit quite far back and in the middle but due to it being quite busy ai could only book seats off to a side. This didn't spoil the viewing experience at all and we were quite happy with the experience.

The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome, having toilets actually in the screen room itself was quite good for my cousin and his pathetic bladder; you miss a lot less of the film when you don't have to leave the screen you are in and walk to the other end of a giant multi plex etc.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend watching a film here and saving yourself a lot of money in the process! The actual film we went to see was distinctly average to poor but we can't level any criticism at this great little cinema for that!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGarrett78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much better then the chain multiplex...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My 7 year son took me to see the Lego movie and it was great. Prices, even for premium seats are very reasonable as is the cost of the snacks! This is a good old fashioned cinema that may not have super doper state of the art sound systems etc but it makes up for it in charm and value for money

Helpful?
Thank mpeaton99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned cinema”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's just a traditional cinema with a touch of the League of Gentlemen, what could be better? We saw Monty Python and during the interval the desk teller came to see if we wanted ice creams!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlonaChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scott Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to Scott Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing