We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage. Deserves 5 stars”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Carthouse

The Old Carthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Carthouse
King bedroom upstairs Waterfall at Gurney Manor Mill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Old Carthouse
King bedroom upstairs
Waterfall at Gurney Manor Mill
Twin Bedroom upstairs
Twin Bedroom en-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Dining Area
Lounge Dining area
Kng Bedroom en-suite bathroom
Gurney Manor Mill bridge and pond
Dining Area
Ground Floor Bedroom
En-suite shower cabin downstairs bedroom
Garden and Mill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bridgwater, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
D5034MFda...
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage. Deserves 5 stars”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have been every year for last 3 years Christmas to New Year, 14 nights
We both love the place can not reccomend enough. We booked the 2018 Dec/Jan stay same day as we arrived to book in last Christmas. Very helpful and friendly owners. Cottage has everything you could need and is always very comfortable and clean.
The beds are really comfy, and bedrooms spacious and well decorated. The kitchen is a home from home lovely and large and very well equipt indeed, everyting you can think of is supplied. We go as a couple but this year our son and grandchildren came half way through our break for a few days and there was still plenty of room and they enjoyed it as much ad we did.
York is not far away and well worth a visit. We went to York Dungeons it was great, I would also reccomend visiting there. The town of Malton is not far away either and has the big supermarket chains there. Asda, Morrisons and also a Lidl, along wigh plenty of other shops.
If your after a nice quiet relaxing break this is for you, but also it will suit the more adventurous too as its not too far away from the york attractions and plenty of other sites around to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
I think you stayed in a different Carthouse as we are in Somerset
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thanks you for your lovely response and glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are in the country side so Wifi is not always perfect but most of the time is ok We can always reboot it if asked.

Hope to see you again.

Pauline and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vinwood
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful location in the charming village of Cannington”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Carthouse is private, clean and reasonably well equipped for a short stay. Having read the owners website and other TA reviews regarding the property, we were not disappointed with its location. The Village of Cannington is charming and proved to be ideal for our family get together.
Our only frustration and disappointment was the non working wifi system. None of our devices (ipads, iphones) worked. When I finally mentioned this to Bill, the owner, he insisted that it was our devices that were not working. He eventually reset the router which appeared to rectify the problem but only for a moment. We eventually gave up trying.
We understand that these things happen and it is not always possible to resolve these matters quickly however, a simple apology would have sufficed rather than trying to make us feel that we were all carting around cheap and ill effective machinery.
In spite of Bill, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - there were several places to eat within walking distance or a short drive
Liked least: dysfunctional wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Dear Nigel
Thank you for your review.
Regarding the WIFI signal. We are sorry it wasn't working well enough at the time you were staying. It is a shame you didn't mention it at the beginning of your stay and then we could have checked it out then.
Although it can be slow, we do not normally have a problem with it, just a weak connection or reboot needed at that time.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise.

Regards

Pauline and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garthleen...
1 review
“outstanding”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

stayed at this wonderful house for a local wedding, what a beautiful place to stay. the baths, showers, setting, house, beds, sofa's, kitchen are absolutely amazing. Highly Highly recommended.. The only thing that was not there was any sort of stair gate, and more protection is needed by the water.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
We warn people to keep an eye on children at all times when staying especially outside
The outside gate is shut to stop them going round to the pond which is part of the B&B rather than The Holiday Let.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hop to see you again.

Pauline and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaycow
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely place, clean large rooms beautifully decorated, set within quiet idyllic grounds. Would defiantly book again and recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words.

Hope to see you another occasion.

Pauline and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura E
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended place to stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous experience - this is a really great place to stay, a real 'escape to the country' experience, 3 large well furnished bedrooms, all spotless with well equipped en-suites. Fully equipped kitchen and a super hamper supplied by the very warm and welcoming host Pauline. Comfortable and homely lounge, underfloor heating just what we needed in January. We would really recommend this beautiful place and hope that are able to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style, cleanliness and friendly host.
Liked least: There was nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind comments.

Hope to see you again

Pauline and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE B
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“beautiful SOMERSET”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very pleasant peaceful cottage of this magnificent English campaign.
This cottage is very well situated to discover the region
One thank you for your warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thanks you for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay

Pauline and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing