We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st Getaway”
Review of Secret Valley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This place is amazing! Everyone is so helpful and friendly.
Have no complaints at all.
Showers were a little cold but this was due to the weather being cold.
Stayed in the small wigwam....which to be honest are not that small. Very warm, even had to turn the heating off! Bed was comfortable and big as only me and my boyfriend were staying.
Would definitely return. Maybe when the weather warmer so I can stay in the tipee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Secret Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

So we had booked to go camping but the weather forecast was poor. We still wanted to get away without breaking the bank. I googled camping pods in Somerset and 3rd on the list was this place. I booked the basic yurt online easily and the Mrs and I paid the £44 for two nights and off we set. On arrival we were knocked out to see our names on a board and after following the clear signage found our Yurt under an oak tree in a field. Perfect!! We used the wheelbarrows to take our stuff down a steepish hill and set up camp. After cracking open a bottle of wine, we binned the idea of going out and just enjoyed our surroundings for the evening! It is so clean and Jan the owner could not have been more helpful. It is a truly amazing find. We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbscrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We came to Secret Valley for a family weekend break over Maybank holiday. We came with my sis and her husband and family and really loved the layout of the site, the excellent kitchen facilities and the extra mile the owners went to in general. The farm trailer tour was a highlight for the kids and a nice way to find out more about the farm.
There is a play barn for kids (it didn't rain but if it had we would have spent ages in there) and they come around each evening with coal, firewood, wine & cider. The airer in each wigwam is very helpful as is the microwave fridge toaster & kettle. We've stayed in lots of wigwam sites & this is the best we've been to. Highly recommended! Only a few negatives (just to give balance) - a blackout blind would be great, a light in the loo would help and a few swings and slides would be the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a lovely stay at Secret Valley. The wigwams are roomy, the play facilities and kitchen and dining room a great extra touch, my daughter adored seeing the animals and walking round the farm and getting to feed them, but what really made the break so special was the little touches like a chalk board to write notes on, post boxes to place provisions orders, jan and her little golf buggy popping up every evening with farm made wine, local cider and ice cream, coal and wood and even marshmallows for toasting. We adored it and will be back soon...we still have the shepherds hut, reindeer lodges, yurts and tipi to try!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We hired out the whole of Secret Valley for party for about 40 friends. The whole weekend was perfect. Jan, the owner, went out of her way to make sure everything ran smoothly and the event was a complete success. The wigwams and reindeer huts were warm and comfortable and the barn was a great space for the party. Thanks for such a great weekend - everyone loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doctordickieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have spent a fantastic three nights here. Our accommodation was a reindeer lodge - insulated huts with electricity and heating, no plumbing.
It's obvious that the owners have gone to a lot of trouble to create the site thoughtfully and carefully, rather than just putting some lodges and wigwams in a field with a toilet/shower block. There are different sections of accommodation, a play barn with toy tractors, and (best of all) reindeer, chickens, Reers(sp?) (emu type birds),cows, ducks and goats.
There is relative privacy for a campsite.
The owners were incredibly kind to our children (and us), taking them to see the chicks, letting them help with feeding and allowing us to help with the chickens and collect the eggs (which you can buy!).
It felt like we were incredibly welcome, Jan (one of the owners) even let the children feed the chickens all by themselves (an event of high excitement).
The farm has a vineyard and makes its own wine- which is bought round along with logs etc for you to buy in the evening - they're producing their own fizz too for the summer.
It's worth noting that the three reindeer lodges are set together, apart from other accommodation and would make an ideal three family camp.
We will definitely be back (not just to try the fizz..), we've done a lot of camping and Secret Valley is definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Secret Valley has a little bit of everything for everyone. The kids love the animals- the reindeer were a particular highlight, the countryside and the outdoors with a huge rang of activities on offer. For the adults the vineyard offers wine tasting opportunities and you must try the award winning secret valley wine which both delicious and reasonably priced. This is a unique stay in an amazing countryside location but with close local pubs and tourist attractions and the town of taunton is only a stones throw away. The owners are incredibly friendly and the service they provide is exceptional. I would definitely recommend this location for a relaxing break, for adventure seeking families with young children who will enjoy the high ropes or mountain boarding on offer, or for events such as hen nights who can enjoy the local pubs and clubs or for adults who want a relaxing break in the countryside. I definitely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
119 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
253 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 5 in Bridgwater
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Somerset Yurts
Somerset Yurts
#3 of 17 in Taunton
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Valley

Address: | Cobbs Cross Farm, Bridgwater TA5 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bridgwater
Price Range: £10 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Valley is a unique Glamping experience based in the heart of the Quantock Hills, Somerset. An area of outstanding natural beauty, Secret Valley offers a prime location to escape and relax. Guests love the peaceful, tranquil setting of Secret Valley, and we work hard to provide a new type of Staycation or Glamping holiday. It’s a real chance to escape the pace and practicalities of our busy lives and share the precious place, that is Secret Valley. Secret Valley is a working organic farm, vineyard and outdoor activity centre on the Quantock Hills, Somerset, which is an area of outstanding natural beauty. Accommodation is provided in a peaceful relaxed setting with heated wooden wigwams, yurts, tipi, shepherds hut and reindeer lodges. You will also find that Secret Valley is perfect for private events, such as hen parties, stag parties, birthday parties, wedding parties, corporate days or anniversaries. Accommodation is well spaced, allowing groups to stay on their own.Secret Valley offers tailored vineyard and farm tours, wine tasting all on our working organic farm. There is a complimentary coarse fishing lake and indoor archery tag (paintballing with bows and arrows). Black Rock Activity Centre is located onsite, offering a variety of outdoor adventure activities for all ages and abilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Valley Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing