We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend”
Review of Secret Valley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun weekend”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went to the Secret Valley for a hen weekend. Good facilities overall, but our group was spread out over the site. (This was more to do with our late booking than the organisation/management). Very off the beaten track in pretty countryside. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and assisted us with organising activities and settling us in. We stayed in the tipi, one yurt and 2 wigwams. I would say that the tipi and yurts were the prettiest of the accommodation on site. Plenty of communal areas including kitchen/dining areas (inside and outside seating), plus lots of toilets and showers. Provision of a shower or two over by the yurts would be a good addition to the site. The only negative point was that the local pub, Tynte Arms (which is recommended on the Secret Valley website) has the rudest landlord I have seen/spoken to for some time. Do not go to that pub when you visit. Black Rock outdoors was a great company and we enjoyed our mountain biking experience on the Quantock Hills immensely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localmylorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place to stay, the amenities were spot on. Jan and John the owners were so friendly and accommodating. One of the cleanest places as well. Couldn't fault it :) very good value for money too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charley1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just had a fantastic weekend at the Secret Valley! Jan and John were awesome hosts and very welcoming and could not of done anymore if they tried they where first class in every respect. We stayed in a reindeer lodge which was fantastic as it was right next to the reindeer pens which made waking up and walking outside extra special.

As we were there for a birthday we went on a tour of the farm and finished with a wine tasting. What was more delightful about the wine was it was made from grapes from the farm

The cleanliness of all facilities was exceptional.

We are off to archery now. Thank you for a brilliant times.

Natalie and Nathan (Reindeer lodge 2)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan1983magee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

From the second we arrived we were very impressed. The site is beautiful and the accommodation is excellent, I hate camping but this place is brilliant. Jan and John are very accommodating, and helpful. We were able to have a party in the barn and they were more than happy for us to decorate and have loud music. I must make a point of saying how clean the facilities are, the toilets are cleaner than some hotels! The only dampener to the weekend was the pub down the road - we walked in and asked to leave as the owner doesn't like none locals. Jan went down there to speak to him and was so apologetic to us that that had happened. It didn't ruin our stay and we really had a fantastic time. Would recommend the vineyard tour, lovely way to see the farm and beautiful views over the valley. Excellent value for money, we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoeprincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Beautiful views, cosy clean wigwams with huge comfy beds, heating and electric- Secret valley have thought of everything. Better than most budget hotels! if you have reservations about camping or glamping this will ease you into it. In the evening you can electric cards, charcoal, marshmallows, cider and wine off the back of the owners quad and there is always wood available for a late night fire in your personal fire pit. The toilets are proper flushing toilets with hot water and soap always available and are always clean as are the showers. Good kitchen if you want to cook indoors and a games barn with pingpong and mini tractors for the kids to play on. Beautiful wlak round a small lake nearby, excellent for dog owners, I took mine and it was v relaxed with gated fields and good walking. We went as a part of a hen do and everyone was really freindly but you are close to ther cabins so you must be respectful of noise levels. Amazing star gazing on clear nights and good fun in the archery tag barn too at a good price of £12 pp. They also offer wine tasting, farm and vinyard tours and there is an adventure sports place next door. Great for families and large groups, but would also be good for couples as you have enough space to feel comfortable. I can't wait to go back with my partner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eri e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights here at first in the big yurt and then moved to a wig wam which the site owner had delivered especially for us as the weather was turning for the worst. This is a really beautiful place to go and relax. The owners are extremely friendly. If you need a break from the stress of life come here to unwind you will leave feeling like new.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have just returned from a two night break and I can honestly say secret valley was just perfect. We booked a small wigwam which is far from small and just the perfect little pod we wanted. The wigwams are clean, tidy, cosy and warm! It was amazing. The little seating area outside with the BBQ is lovely to have dinner on and watch the sun go down drinking wine from the farms own vine yard (you can do a DIY wine tasting course where you can sample the wines...the red wine I very very nice). The wig wams are not the only accommodation you can stay in..yurts, tipi's, lodges and shepherds huts..which all look lovely too. The communal shower block and toilets are clean and the hot water is hot, and the kitchen you share with other guests are spotless. The farm is lovely to walk around and the animals are really looked after..we loved the cheeky goats and the reindeers. The local area is fantastic to walk around and if you do run out of essential supplies the local supermarket is 20 mins away. The staff are so lovely and helpful and Jan and John showed a genuine interest in how we were and anything further they could help with. We really can't wait to return without friends and we are so pleased we found the secret valley.

Room Tip: Small wigwam perfect for a couple.. The large wigwams are good for families as more sleeping and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjeni1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
231 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#1 of 28 in Bridgwater
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The School House
The School House
#1 of 2 in Woolavington
21 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Cannington
40 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Boat & Anchor inn
The Boat & Anchor inn
#1 of 1 in Huntworth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Valley

Property: Secret Valley
Address: | Cobbs Cross Farm, Bridgwater TA5 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Valley is a unique Glamping experience based in the heart of the Quantock Hills, Somerset. An area of outstanding natural beauty, Secret Valley offers a prime location to escape and relax. Guests love the peaceful, tranquil setting of Secret Valley, and we work hard to provide a new type of Staycation or Glamping holiday. It’s a real chance to escape the pace and practicalities of our busy lives and share the precious place, that is Secret Valley. Secret Valley is a working organic farm, vineyard and outdoor activity centre on the Quantock Hills, Somerset, which is an area of outstanding natural beauty. Accommodation is provided in a peaceful relaxed setting with heated wooden wigwams, yurts, tipi, shepherds hut and reindeer lodges. You will also find that Secret Valley is perfect for private events, such as hen parties, stag parties, birthday parties, wedding parties, corporate days or anniversaries. Accommodation is well spaced, allowing groups to stay on their own.Secret Valley offers tailored vineyard and farm tours, wine tasting all on our working organic farm. There is a complimentary coarse fishing lake and indoor archery tag (paintballing with bows and arrows). Black Rock Activity Centre is located onsite, offering a variety of outdoor adventure activities for all ages and abilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Valley Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing