We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honest traditional local!”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #21 of 118 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
WELLS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great honest traditional local!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We've visited this pub on numerous occasions and it's a real gem. Good ales, a warm welcome from Nikki and Simon, a nice cosy fire blazing (unlike some pubs, they light the fire any time when it's slightly cold, not just in winter!), and when we last visited they had just started a Sunday carvery which is top notch and very reasonable. They also have live music once a month and this is brilliant too, a really good friendly local crowd who all turn out to watch and like to let their hair down!

They have a nice, well kept beer garden too, and the pub is situated in a very quiet rural location so it's a great place to chill out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Take-out”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

As newcomers to the area, we found the White Hart to be so friendly and welcoming. It has a very good menu at reasonable prices and their take-out fish and chips are without doubt the best in Somerset.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“Genuine village pub”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

There are so few real village pubs left but this one is a jem. Good beer in good condition, home-cooked, wholesome meals at sensible prices. Also has a great garden. Very welcoming.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viking639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A village pub”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I have visited this pub on numerous occasions, the welcome is always genuine. I have never had a bad pint and my wife always comments favourably on the wine. The food when we have eaten there is really good, great portions, home cooked and always served with a smile by the server. Simon keeps a very decent selection of whiskies for those whose tastes lie in that direction including Welsh, Japanese and even English, try 'em and smile. The service is spot on even when they are busy. So there you have it, a village pub that gets just about everything right. Long may it prosper.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aoc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“great food”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

very welcoming lovely atmosphere good staff and nice homely food I will be definitely be going again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing