We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the place to go for good pub grub.”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #20 of 116 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still the place to go for good pub grub.”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I'll have to own up to the fact that I am a regular here and this is my local. That said, there's no reason not to share the great job that Simon and Nicky are continuing to do in delivering a friendly comfortable ambiance and well-cooked, tasty food. This pub was on it's way to oblivion and there's no doubt they have rescued it.

This is not the Ritz, but the food is excellent value, lovingly prepared, tasty and wholesome. Cordon bleu it isn't, but expect a warm welcome and and a satisfying culinary experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCouple_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

At short notice Nicky opened up the restaurant for my visiting family. The kitchen is normally not open on a Sunday evening so how nice that a local pub goes out of its way to be helpful and supply good service and food. Pub food produced well and served with a smile( AND THEY WEREN'T OPEN) rare in this day. The white Hart is a place to use and make a beeline for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonzodog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,112 reviews
690 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,306 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Had to stop locally to pick up some furniture. Had lunch here. Looks comfortingly ordinary from the outside and predictable but well kept inside. Just what the doctor ordered. Friendly, welcoming, hospitable. Average but sufficient selection of well kept ales. We'll presented and what seemed to be fresh good pub food. Pleasant garden out the back. Fair prices. Taken individually all these things would rank slightly over average scores but when they all come together and just when you need them they make for a high score. Doubt I will ever be back in this village bit if you are passing through I recommend this pub.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Proper job!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

These days pubs need to try hard to build a reputation as a restaurant as well as a traditional country pub. It's a difficult balance being an excellent local as well as a draw for visitors across and beyond the Somerset Levels. The White Hart is a gold standard achiever.

Specifically, good ales and lagers and a wide selection of spirits (with Penderyn Welsh whiskey too!).The food is good, honest, delicious and locally sourced, even down to the wild boar I suspect! The fish 'n chips deserves the accolades from other reviewers: light, crispy batter cuddling a stompingly good and thick cod loin! The Sunday lunch is worth going for too and good value I'm told by patrons. t's on my list!

The bar and restaurant are nicely separated. Both enjoy a good ambience? The staff are great. They clearly enjoy working at The White Hart, and it shows in the way they interact with one another and with local patrons and visitors from further afield. Live music is offered at weekends and there's even a pub coach trip! A warm welcome for all.

Well done all, and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2twigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper village pub :)”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Have eaten here many of times beautiful food never had a problem.. Locals and staff very friendly and polite would defiantly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizzy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
 
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing