We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous location for an extended family Christmas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walkers Farm Cottages
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Thirteen family members sat down in the function room for Christmas lunch. All the accomodation was in good order, comfortable and clean. The beds were very comfortable and all the facilities top class. I would recommend this venue to anyone. Di and William were thoughtful and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2010

A warm welcome, with local organic milk and freshly baked cake awaiting your arrival. Cottage was perfect for a family, with games room to keep the children entertained, and equipped with all the facilities needed for a relaxing holiday. Nice and warm too given it was a bit chilly at the end of October.
Local facilities very good and ideally located for sightseeing and enjoying the area.
Last but not least the stunning views across the hills. Highly recommended and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hwetherall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

wonderful cottage and such lovely people to welcome us all
we had the most brilliant time in a very long time its a perfect place if you need a break and enjoy your holidays
we were welcome as well with a home made chocolate cake and a bottle of cider wich was absolutelly gorgeous
my 2 year old son really enjoyed feeding the chikens and the horses , went on the tractor and digger but most of all made a new friend george the owners son who is adorable
we really enjoyed walking down to the next farm to collect fresh milk and to see the cows being milked they make home made ice cream but unfortunatelly for us we could try it as there was no electricity that day but never mind as we are going back in february for another 2 weeks and we are hoping to get some of that ice cream and hopefully another chocolate cake (how cheeky of us but we just cant resist it it was fab)
the bed was so comfy and the play area was brilliant
we loved to play table tennis ( most me as i kept on beating my partner whoohooo he only won once against me ,loseeerrr lol)
please do go to this place i promiss you you will not regret it it is absolutelly worth it

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delandtris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at the Tallet, a 2 bed cottage on one level. It was ideal for us, a family with a 9 year old and 18month old. The children loved the animals on the farm especially feeding the chickens and collecting their eggs. The owners Di and Will make you feel exrtremely welcome, and a pint of milk, a home made cake and some local cider had been put in the fridge for us on our arrival. The cottage was clean and welcoming, and the location ideal for a country getaway. Great value for money, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We arrived at the cottage to a welcoming freshly baked lemon cake, a bottle of local Somerset cider and a fresh milk! This was a fantastic start. I can still taste the cake now.
The Tilleys are so very warm and wonderful. We felt so comfortable there and were genuinely sorry to be leaving. My daughters (aged 7 and 9) loved it so much that my 9 yr old wanted to move in and stay forever. They were able to wander freely through the surrounding countryside which, as a parent in London, is the last thing I would normally allow.
It's also a great place to use as a satellite for visiting surrounding areas of interest. We travelled as far as Lyme Regis on the coast. The drive was beautiful.
The accomodation itself was faultless. It was immaculately clean and the furnishings are of a very modern and high standard.
We've stayed in many self-catering cottages, villas and apartments all over UK and Europe. Not one has ever been as well-stocked as Walkers Farm. I usually find it necessary to bring all of the basics, such as washing up liquid, salt and pepper, toilet roll and kitchen roll, but arrived to find that it was all in place. The cottage is quite literally just waiting to be lived in!
I had wondered, when searching on the web, why the bedrooms are on the ground floor and the living rooms upstairs. I think I can guess why. The views over the rolling countryside are really beautiful. Who would want to miss out on that? It makes perfect sense.
What are you waiting for? Go on, you'll be in for a treat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWright68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

This is excellent accommodation and exceptional value for money. I stumbled across Walker’s Farm Cottages whilst searching for accommodation for the busy Glastonbury carnival weekend in November 2007. The Old Dairy situated in the quiet hamlet of Stathe, Somerset lies between the villages of Burrowbridge (well-known for its “Burrow Mump”) and Stoke St Gregory (with its Willows and Wetlands Visitor Centre). The larger towns of Taunton, Bridgewater, Langport and Street are all within easy reach.

The Old Dairy has a large open-plan living and dining area upstairs with wonderful views towards the Mendip Hills, a bath and shower room and two bedrooms. The cottages are fully equipped to the highest standards with comfortable sofas, microwave, TV with digital box and DVD. We were able to enjoy the light airy relaxing atmosphere and appreciated the kind hospitality of William and Di who provided home-made Lemon Cake, milk, tea, sugar, bed linen and towels. (All included in the price).

I understand that one of their cottages has full wheelchair access and they have a barn suitable for private functions such as weddings and other celebration parties.

If you need accommodation in this area, then don’t hesitate to contact [--]. We would certainly recommend either a holiday or short stay here and just hope they are not too busy when we want to return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpeedyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
11.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
121 reviews
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
8.1 mi away
The School House
The School House
#1 of 2 in Woolavington
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Boat & Anchor inn
The Boat & Anchor inn
#1 of 1 in Huntworth
202 reviews
7.2 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
239 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Cannington
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkers Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkers Farm Cottages

Address: Stathe | Burrowbridge, Bridgwater TA7 0JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Bridgwater
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four spacious barn conversions, fully equipped to a high standard. Tranquil picturesque position overlooking West Sedgemoor and the River Parrett. Centrally located to explore super Somerset. Ideal for relaxation, walking, cycling, golf, historic houses and gardens, bird watching and fishing (with bait fridge). Short breaks and Winter lets by arrangement. Linen, towels and heating/hot water supplied.M5 junctions 24 & 25 are 10 miles, A303 12miles. Local produce can be supplied. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walkers Farm Cottages Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing