We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Old Country Village Inn,”
Review of Kings Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Cannington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A very pleasant stay in a lovely old village inn, en suite rooms, with a beautiful beer garden, managers made us feel very welcome and were very helpful to us, we could not fault our very enjoyable stay at "The Kings Head", thanks everyone !

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 , overlooking the lovely garden, but we are sure the other rooms would be as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacardimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the managers were friendly, the bar staff very helpful, the rooms are a little tired and could do with a spruce up, the meals were great value! It's just basic pub grub which is fine, I had fish and chips and my partner had faggots and mash, which were locally sorced, the beer garden needs tidying a bit but on the whole a pleasant experience and would stay again, but the rooms do need a refurb

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesb8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

local business man. asked if we could take our dog in pub no go, no problem. ordered food from friendly bar staff. my dog wouldn't of eaten it... one customer in pub. and they wonder why..beer was fine staff friendly then they serve up food of such poor quality you would not go there again...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 222Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Travelling down to Minehead we stopped at The Kings Head for lunch. Having read the reviews we were a little uncertain, however we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent, hot food, hot plates and presented beautifully, tasted great.
Thank you for a very welcome break and we shall return again when we pass that way again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Being reasonably local we were looking forward to this re-opening following a refurbishment. We didn't realise it was now owned by the landlord of the "Friendly Spirit" also in Cannington. I'm sorry to say it was a real dissapointment being almost a replica (food that is) of their other pub, which we have never enjoyed! It is really a 'Brewers Fayre' but privately owned and more expensive. My steak was overpriced and under cooked and my wife's chicken about the same. Wine was also quite expensive and not particularly good! Atmosphere was at an all time low and we found the staff to be curt and lacking a smile. Great pity-could be a nice place. Will NOT be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the friendly spirit for a meal (fantastic) we got talking to our waitress and were informed that the owners also owned the kings head so we thought we would give it a go .
What can I say we wish we hadn't !!
Cold plates the one thing I hate, the service was terrible and the cold food not much better sorry to say but a total disappointment after the lovely meal we had at the friendly spirit perhaps the chef there should go and give them some pointers !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidsterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

After being closed for some time the Kings Head opened at the end of October, since then we have eaten their twice and have booked a Christmas meal for a group of friends. The food is faultless with the chef Jason updating his specials board daily. Prices are good for food and drink. My parents were impressed when we took them there and were impressed with the food as well. If you are looking for somewhere to eat then I certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Inn

Address: 12 High Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cannington
Price Range: £45 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Inn Cannington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing