We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice landlady, pity about the rest”
Review of Kings Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Cannington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It has to be said that this was very cheap. And we were told that the rooms were being refurbished. We didn't mind if a bit of redecoration was needed, but there is no excuse for cheap shallow mattresses with springs sticking up. My night was spent like playing the game Twister horizontally. Not good for the back! The bed was the worst thing, but the room was at the back of the pub at ground floor level under a covered walkway, where the customers went to smoke. At one time there were 3 people lined up outside our room, one blocking the doorway, blowing their smoke, which inevitably came Into the room. It wasn't bad but it was noticeable. The food in the bar was good. My partner had an excellent curry, but my ham with the egg and chips didn't taste nice. The landlady didn't charge me for my meal. They are obviously trying to make a go of this, but I think it will take quite a bit to get this room up to standard, and smokers need to go right into the garden!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillibetdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a night on the way down to Cornwall. We were out during the day and got back around 7ish in time for a lovely dinner (it was steak night!). We were going to head up to bed soon after but ended up having a few drinks and playing pool all night. The staff were absolutely lovely and we were chatting to the managers as if they were old friends! Very welcoming, great service and fantastic value for money!! We will definitely be returning next time we're in the area!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have dined at The Kings Head twice recently, the food is good, plenty of choice and meals served were hot and fresh. Especially enjoyed the Burger and my partner the freshly battered fish chips. Unfortunately the service doesn't match the food, the cutlery was not especially clean on either occasion, waited along time for the plates to be cleared and not offered any desserts so we didn't bother to ask.

A gent who on overhearing a conversation I believe to be the manager was wondering around the bar in a pair of socks!!! Well is ok at home but surely not in public in a business serving food? The lady behind the bar seemed to be more interested in serving the few locals that were in the bar than looking after any diners that were there.

Would visit again because of the food, but they really must raise their customer service standards!!!!

Room Tip: Did not stay, just dined
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This pub has recently changed hands. We tried the lunch special which was 2 courses for £6.50. We could not fault the good and varied choices on offer. The haddock and spring onion fishcakes for starters were yummy, and homemade, full of fish rather than mostly potato. Our main courses were gammon and mushroom/spinach gratin.Both piping hot and wonderfully tasty . Our hosts were attentive and very welcoming. We will certainly be returning

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed there for three nights and we had no problems. The bar staff were very helpful for anything that we needed. Made everyone in the bar feel welcome. We had no problems while we stayed there so allin all i would highly recommend this hotel to friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leroy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A very pleasant stay in a lovely old village inn, en suite rooms, with a beautiful beer garden, managers made us feel very welcome and were very helpful to us, we could not fault our very enjoyable stay at "The Kings Head", thanks everyone !

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 , overlooking the lovely garden, but we are sure the other rooms would be as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacardimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the managers were friendly, the bar staff very helpful, the rooms are a little tired and could do with a spruce up, the meals were great value! It's just basic pub grub which is fine, I had fish and chips and my partner had faggots and mash, which were locally sorced, the beer garden needs tidying a bit but on the whole a pleasant experience and would stay again, but the rooms do need a refurb

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesb8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Inn

Address: 12 High Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cannington
Price Range: £46 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Inn Cannington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing