We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackmore Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackmore Farm
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here two weeks before I got married for a break and to clear our heads it was wonderful huge four poster bed lovley room with a great view and were made to feel very welcome breakfast was wonderful and Plenty of it there is a great little farm shop and you can look around the farm we had the great pleasure to a calf being born which made our day great pub five min walk very good service and very good food will def go back to Blackmore

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim8377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
18
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for a friend's birthday party nearby. We stayed in the old cider press, 2 bedrooms and an enormous communal space. Had everything you could wish for and the owners were charming and tremendously accommodating. Would recommend very highly and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLisaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We returned to Blackmore farm for a nights stay to break up our long journey travelling back from Cornwall to Liverpool. We stayed here nine years ago as a family and have such fond memories of it. The Manor house had not changed at all still full of old charm and character which we love. The business has expanded over the years now having a farm shop and cafe. We bought some home made cider and jam whilst we were there. The owners are lovely and accommodated us at short notice.
We stayed with two teenagers and even though for them there is not a lot to do they enjoyed the surroundings. We ate at the Malt and Shovel which is a short walk away the food was excellent and such good value. We would recommend staying here if you enjoy the charm and history of old buildings, they now have self catering barns but we have never stayed in these. We stayed in the manor itself in the family room, it was large with a comfy bed, the bathroom was very quirky, the rooms are not modern but have a charm of their own which we love. There are biscuits, fruit, sweets, juice, water,tea and coffee left in the room which is a lovely touch. The smaller bedroom is very small and a bit spooky but again we liked that. Overall it's a beautiful place to stay at and we will return some time again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evertonsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

I stayed here for on night last week with a colleague from work. I have to say we were a little doubtful as to what it would be like - we are used to the larger hotel chains for business trips. We need not have worried in the slightest and would definitely choose to stay here the next time we are in the area - in fact, I am considering booking for a short break with my husband.

The place has real character and an interesting history. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Lovely breakfast in the mornings. Nicely furnished rooms with very comfy beds. There is a pub about 300 yards away which does food in the evenings (all day I think) - don't forget to take a torch if you are walking back in the dark!!

You need a car to make the most of the area in my view, although it would be a good base for walking in the Quantocks. I think families with young children would enjoy it because of the animals on the farm (only downside was the cows woke me at 6.30 am during milking). There is a farm shop too.

All in all, excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here for two nights. It is the most beautiful house, the rooms are huge, I had a four poster bed. It is without a doubt the most fantastic B&B I have ever stayed in.. The cooked breakfast was lovey and the service was brilliant. I could not fault this B&B, it was outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank activebysweetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

This place is amazing, a true hidden find. The family who run Blackmore Farm are lovely - very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast in the Hall was delicious, and it was wonderful to have a meal in such historic surroundings. The Hall was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and had a very festive feel to it. The room was also magnificent - we stayed in the Gallery room (the room with the four poster was already booked) which was incredibly spacious and yet cosy!)

A word of warning though - this is a very old building (complete with wooden beams etc), and so as we are in the middle of winter, we did spot a few spiders in our room - however, this wasn't a problem for us, but if you have a serious spider phobia you may want to wait until summer before going to Blackmore!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we will be back very soon! I'll be dreaming of their breakfasts until then!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swirly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

A day that all of us will remember, the weather was perfect the Quantocks loooked down on the marquee and the staff were perfect hosts. The rooms were tasteful and unique, plenty of parking and nothing was too much trouble. True the weather helped but without the helpful staff the day would not have been anywhere near as good. Maybe I'm saying this through rose tinted lenses as it was my eldest daughters wedding but I like to think I'm being totally honest.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prouddad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannington
1.4 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackmore Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackmore Farm

Property: Blackmore Farm
Address: Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2NE , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cannington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackmore Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blackmore Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore Farm Cannington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing