We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real peace of history”
Review of Blackmore Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackmore Farm
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were taken back with the size of the accommodation on offer. Also how original the property has been keep. If you want total luxury this may not be for you, but if you want to look into the past and have breakfast on the longest refrectory table you've ever seen than this is about as good as it gets.
Great hosts but alas no ghosts.

Room Tip: The gallery and the 4 poster room are the ones to ask for, and are the same price.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSuzanne504167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Blackmore Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Apon arriving at Blackmore Farm from the Malt Shovel Inn we were provided a normal room outside the house by the farm shop. After driving from Hampshire to Devon, Devon to Somerset i was overly tired and wanted to have a bath and relax with my partner before returning to Hampshire. Upon trying to run a bath, both times a gull bath of just the hot tap running provided with two freezing cold baths - infact the hot tap water was colder than the cold tap water. I went over to the main house to inform them of no hot water of which i received a response of - well the only thing we can do is flip a switch (something to do with the boiler), however the boiler was in a different room where 2 woman were staying, so only if they were awake would we be able to have hot water. Thankfully they were, whereby both my partner and i were informed it was sorted and should have hot water within 10mins. Half an hour later no hot water.. an hour later no hot water... by this time it was nearly 1am and i had given up all hope and went to sleep on the hardest matress ive ever slept on - quite honestly i think the foor would have provided more leway for my back!!! Didnt both going for breakfast in the morning and did not pay for our stay. The woman was not very professional in dealing with our complaint and all she could say was - well you could of come to the house for a shower... 1. i wanted a bath 2. i shouldnt have to go and have a wash in another building, hot water should be provided!!! 3. why werent we moved to another room, or it be made clear to us that there were no other rooms available 4. the room should have been checked before we got there especially if the boiler is in another occupied room... overall disgusted with this hotel !!! was looking with my partner at wedding receptions but i will NOT be returning !!!! Absolutely disgusting service!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soraya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Wow!! What a great experience. Had enormous room with the four poster bed and vast ensuite bathroom, then breakfast in medieval baronial hall. Lovely. There was one cobweb in the bedroom but I think it had been left to add to the atmosphere because everything else was spot on.

The medieval bit is pure theatre. Loved it.

I did leave the light on at night in case of ghosts!!! The building is grade 1 listed and so old it must have them.

Room Tip: West bedroom has the four poster bed
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldsportyrelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had our Wedding reception at Blackmore farm in 2003, we could not fault the food and service then and we can honestly say it just seems to get better. We have returned several times for friends Anniversarys and birthdays, we are also booking again soon to suprise a family member for their 60th birthday. Its a beautiful place and has so much to offer wether your just passing through to pop in to the shop and tea room or staying overnight you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

I went to the bnb just yesterday and it was amazing! After reading what other people said I would like to inform them that it is super clean now so I guess they have changed cleaning person. The room was huge, I was in a small little house on the side, I arrived at night and I have to say I was impressed by the main building. the main dinning Hall was amazing I never actually seen such room since I got in the UK 7 years ago. It's worth every penny, the people who own it are very nice and breakfast is superb! The local
Pub malted shovel also offers great services. I recommend this place in case you want to experience a royal experience :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fashiondude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night on the way down to Cornwall. I can only say that this was such a wonderful Surprise as I had no idea that he had booked this beautiful place.
It is full of character with the most wonderful open fire in the banquet dining hall where we had breakfast the next morning.
There is a charming farmhouse shop that sells local crafts and produce, or you can just have a good pot of tea if that's all you want.

Truly this is a little gem that we will be revisiting soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherrySaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Lovely one night stay. Arrived in wet windy weather to a warm welcome. 4 poster bed a bonus and had a cosy feel although a huge room. Ensuite great, hot water imediately and soft towels.
We ventured to the Malthouse just up the road not brilliant but good steak and chips. reasonably priced.
Back to watch tele in comfy chairs and warm room even in November. Breakfast was really good with log fire in Hall. If you don't like eating with other people its not for you as we sat at long refectory table with six others but everyone was friendly and enjoying the stay. I for one loved it.
The farm shop is really lovely lots to choose from and not too expensive. The working farm very interesting and ask Ian to look at the chapel really educational.
I hope it will remain just the same with the march of time.
Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannington
4.6 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
1.4 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
119 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 5 in Bridgwater
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Friendly Spirit Inn
Friendly Spirit Inn
#24 of 30 in Bridgwater
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackmore Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackmore Farm

Address: Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cannington
Price Range: £119 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackmore Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackmore Farm is a family run concern consisting of Manor House Bed & Breakfast, Farm Shop & Cafe serving light lunches and Barista Coffees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blackmore Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore Farm Cannington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing