We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food & service”
Review of Moon & Sixpence

Moon & Sixpence
Ranked #20 of 59 Restaurants in Clevedon
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food & service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I waited for over an hour for our food to arrive and when it did, the standard of the food was very poor. The fish was tasteless and the potatoes only lukewarm.
Nearly every table around us complained about some aspect of their meal and one lady on the next table was given a full refund on her chicken meal after complaining that the chicken was like a piece of rubber.
Another adjoining table, three women waited a similar time to us and when their meals did arrived only two meals had been cooked.
I even had to ask the barmaid to give me another pint as the original one went flat within a couple of minutes.
Absolutely terrible service which is a shame as the pub itself is very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robotvinnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    105
    63
    25
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very busy place on Clevedon's sea front and the food is the reason. Nothing fancy, just good simple pub food cooked well and plenty of it. Nice atmosphere - on a nice day you can eat outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Is this the best pub food in Somerset ?”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My answer is yes .... I would give this top rating ,my wife and I met my cousin their for Sunday lunch ,we sat on the balcony with great sea views ,we had nut roast for me and the girls had baked sea trout with salad and new potatoes ,my veggie meal was so well cooked ,tasty with fresh veg new pots and veggie gravy nicely served separately ,(a note to the chef ..this was slightly let down by frozen roasters.). Service was very good ,all food is cooked to order ,so it takes what it takes ,and it's worth the wait .the pub is friendly nice atmosphere,and I really felt at home here .i would recommend this for a visit ,limited parking available at the front ,great walking clevedons Victorian sea front ,try popping in next door to the pottery and the gift/jewellers this has an extraordiary garden hidden it the back you can look round.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely views and food very good.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have been here a handful of times and the food has always been very good.

There is a downstairs area and then a few steps to the bar area (this is the locals domain-but all are friendly) and there is an upstairs dining area and there is a seating area at the front of the pub.

We sat upstairs overlooking the Welsh coast and the estuary (tide out as per). I had the steak and ale pie and my partner had the bacon baked potato. The pie was loaded with meat-too much for me-the chips were really good too. My partner really enjoyed her baked potato and it was proper butcher's bacon and not the water injected stuff that the supermarkets sell these days.

There appeared to be a fair selection of cask ales. The menu is quite short and "pub", which is what you want. It's not going to give you the "wow" factor but it won't let you down and is always hearty. All in all well worth a punt when you're next in Clevedon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lookslikerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The service and accommodation at this pub are always excellent, nothing being too much trouble, we have stayed on a number of occasions, the best room being the largest at the front, although the disabled room on the ground floor takes some beating.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CruisingRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moon & Sixpence also viewed

 
Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing