We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon & Sixpence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon & Sixpence
Ranked #7 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Checked in, warm welcome from the staff, shown to my room, asked if I wanted help with my bags.
Got to room, room 2 I think. On opening the door it was a bit musty. The room was small but appeared clean enough and well presented. The shower room & toilet, now that was a joy, it was foul, and clearly the grout was porous. It was blackened and hadn’t been cleaned properly for quite a while. On further investigation there were 2 large damp patches on the bedroom wall hidden behind the chair in the room. I left without paying.
I had tried this for a change but I’ll be reverting back to my old faithful Walton Park, its maybe not the best Best Western, but always clean and fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Choose an other Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xraybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    39
    14
    12
    14
See reviews for
20
46
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked room 5 but got room 2, no explanation as to why given. Room was a good size with large disabled friendly bathroom. No heating in the bathroom with large sea facing rooms made the room a bit cold, so would not like to stay here during the depths of winter.
The bathroom had no shower gel or shampoo only two small rounds of basic soap, at the room price is this good enough ?
The room was clean, furnishings are basic, T.V too small for todays standards and expectations.

All in all an ok stay but the M and S could do alot better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stay at The Moon & Sixpence as it is convenient for visiting our daughter, this was our second visit. Bedroom was clean, bathroom small, basically clean but needs some mould remover and regrouting. Don't stay in room 2 on a Thursday morning unless you leave the room before 8:15am, the barrels of beer, which are just the otherside of the window are collected and delivered by the draymen! If you haven't got the curtains closed you could get quite a surprise, as well as being very noisy.

Breakfast was adequate, but when our daughter wanted to join us, we were asked if we had pre-booked this, and whilst we were offered an extra plate, to be able to share our breakfast, we still had the feeling that we weren't obeying the rules. We did get a pot of tea and extra orange juice for her at no extra cost though.

We just had a feeling hat this was primarily a pub and that overnight guests were not as important as the pint drinkers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuetheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding at Clevedon Hall, which is walking distance... The whole weekend was wonderful, The M&S is a lovely pub with amazing views, our room was very clean and great value, we will be going back. Breakfast was wonderful and staff all very friendly and helpful. Mr & Mrs Hobbs. from Essex

Room Tip: Take extension lead for Hair Dryer and Straightners as mirror too far from plug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the Moon and Sixpence. It has an amazing view of the sea front and pier. The service and food was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night - lovely room overlooking the sea and pier. Comfortable, clean and good wifi connection. Evening meal in the pub very good and great value - even the wines. Make sure they write your breakfast order down though - asked for just scrambled egg and got full English - but I managed! Also check out the little gallery/craft shop in the alley next door got some lovely gifts here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkBunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Moon and Sixpence as we had a wedding in Clevedon. The service, accommodation and food were all very good! The extremely friendly staff couldn't do enough for us! Breakfast was great and they were so accommodating to all of our requests.

We would definitely go back if ever in Clevedon again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
7.0 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon & Sixpence

Property: Moon & Sixpence
Address: 15 The Beach, Clevedon BS21 7QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clevedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Moon And Sixpence
Moon & Sixpence Hotel Clevedon
Moon & Sixpence Clevedon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing