We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Moon & Sixpence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon & Sixpence
Ranked #8 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Came in for food on a Thursday night had a lovely stay. We had the chicken wraps off the specials board and the food was great. waitress was lovely, explaining everything to me and my partner one of the best service I've had around clevedon. would definitely come back again and advice my friends and family too.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becklee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TONY A, Owner at Moon & Sixpence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We are sorry for your experience but as I pointed out to you , the insect was not from our kitchen but from the outside balcony area where you were sat . The day was very hot and eating in the
Open does have risks beyond our control. We apologise for the mix up with your Order and wait
But we were extremely busy. We did notify our customers that there was a minimum wait of 45
Minutes both verbally and by our Notice Board.

Many Apologies,
Tony Antoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Went to Cleavedon for a party and decided to stay here. It looks like a converted manor house but very nice from the outside. We stayed on the upper floor, which had a few rooms there. Room was very clean and well laid out. Very spacious toilet with fantastic shower. Stairs were a tad steep, so ask for a downstairs room if you dont like stairs. The hall light was on a timer which can be a nuisance if you put the light on going to the loo in the middle of the night!! The breakfast, that was included is fantastic and very filling. Good for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you dont like steep stairs, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubberheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Checked in, warm welcome from the staff, shown to my room, asked if I wanted help with my bags.
Got to room, room 2 I think. On opening the door it was a bit musty. The room was small but appeared clean enough and well presented. The shower room & toilet, now that was a joy, it was foul, and clearly the grout was porous. It was blackened and hadn’t been cleaned properly for quite a while. On further investigation there were 2 large damp patches on the bedroom wall hidden behind the chair in the room. I left without paying.
I had tried this for a change but I’ll be reverting back to my old faithful Walton Park, its maybe not the best Best Western, but always clean and fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Choose an other Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xraybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked room 5 but got room 2, no explanation as to why given. Room was a good size with large disabled friendly bathroom. No heating in the bathroom with large sea facing rooms made the room a bit cold, so would not like to stay here during the depths of winter.
The bathroom had no shower gel or shampoo only two small rounds of basic soap, at the room price is this good enough ?
The room was clean, furnishings are basic, T.V too small for todays standards and expectations.

All in all an ok stay but the M and S could do alot better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stay at The Moon & Sixpence as it is convenient for visiting our daughter, this was our second visit. Bedroom was clean, bathroom small, basically clean but needs some mould remover and regrouting. Don't stay in room 2 on a Thursday morning unless you leave the room before 8:15am, the barrels of beer, which are just the otherside of the window are collected and delivered by the draymen! If you haven't got the curtains closed you could get quite a surprise, as well as being very noisy.

Breakfast was adequate, but when our daughter wanted to join us, we were asked if we had pre-booked this, and whilst we were offered an extra plate, to be able to share our breakfast, we still had the feeling that we weren't obeying the rules. We did get a pot of tea and extra orange juice for her at no extra cost though.

We just had a feeling hat this was primarily a pub and that overnight guests were not as important as the pint drinkers.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuetheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding at Clevedon Hall, which is walking distance... The whole weekend was wonderful, The M&S is a lovely pub with amazing views, our room was very clean and great value, we will be going back. Breakfast was wonderful and staff all very friendly and helpful. Mr & Mrs Hobbs. from Essex

Room Tip: Take extension lead for Hair Dryer and Straightners as mirror too far from plug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the Moon and Sixpence. It has an amazing view of the sea front and pier. The service and food was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
0.5 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
212 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
7.0 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
360 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon & Sixpence

Address: 15 The Beach, Clevedon BS21 7QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clevedon
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront Pub/Restaurant and 5 Bedroom Hotel overlooking Clevedon Pier and Bristol Channel. English & Mediterranean influence in Restaurant. Parking for Guests. All Rooms En Suite - Shower & W.C. FREE WI FI. T.V. Tea/Coffee Facilities - 1 Bedroom suitable for Disable with Facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moon And Sixpence
Moon & Sixpence Hotel Clevedon
Moon & Sixpence Clevedon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing