We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good birthday night”

The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 61 Restaurants in Clevedon
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A warm, cheery welcome greets everyone and their dog on arrival at Clevedon's Premier Bar & Restaurant 'The Salthouse' - the venue of choice by locals & visitors alike. This prominent listed building complete still with many of it's original features is surrounded by woodland & overlooks the spectacular views of the Severn Estuary along with the newly revamped 'Marine Lake' & Victorian Pier' creating a buzzing hive of activity in every direction. This 'something for everyone' venue offers an extensive range of specially selected wines, local ales & ciders which combined with a meal from its' wide selection of home cooked gourmet food, you are guaranteed satisfaction - even the dog gets a biscuit & bowl of water. For the businessman or company 'The Salthouse' has two private function rooms suitable for corporate meetings, training, & private events. An array of regular entertainment includes top local bands, fun quiz nights and ad-hoc events all adding to the fun vibe. We look forward to 'Welcoming' you and hearing your feedback.
Reviewed 17 November 2016

had a good night last Tuesday night for my 76 birthday first class services good beer good food top rate staff will be back again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDSearle, Owner at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Good day,

Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Salthouse Bar & Restaurant' - we always appreciate feedback from our customers as we continually strive to offer the best experience possible.

What a lovely review and thank you. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Seated in a quiet seat in the window with lovely views.
helpful waiter helped with menu and the specials and ensured allergies were considered when ordering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDSearle, Owner at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Good day,

Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Salthouse Bar & Restaurant' - we always appreciate feedback from our customers as we continually strive to offer the best experience possible.

So happy to hear that you were well looked after and enjoyed your visit to us. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We went here for lunch with our 18 month old grandson. The children's menu was good and we all enjoyed our meals very much. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and made us feel welcome . Nothing was too much trouble. Reasonable price too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TessT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDSearle, Owner at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Good day,

Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Salthouse Bar & Restaurant' we always appreciate feedback from our customers as we continually strive to offer the best experience possible.

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to us and I will pass on your comments to my staff - we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We have visited this restaurant in the summer and had lovely pub meals sat outside. We therefore decided to treat the family to Sunday lunch several weeks ago. The adults had either beef or pork or chicken. The chicken portion was good size but the beef and pork appeared to be more like cold cooked joints that had been sliced thinly on a machine. More like deli meat covered in gravy rather than from a joint of meat. The food was luke warm and the vegetable choice downright odd. We asked for a Yorkshire pudding for my granddaughter and were told it would be 50p extra. Ok fine we'll have one but it never arrived. Will still visit for pub meals during week time but that was one of the most disappointing Sunday lunches we've had.

Thank ORPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDSearle, Owner at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Good day,

Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Salthouse Bar & Restaurant' - we always appreciate feedback from our customers as we continually strive to offer the best experience possible.

While we always do our utmost to ensure the quality of our food and service is at a high level, there are times like this where things do go wrong and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. I apologise for you disappointing encounter and have spoken to our chef and managers to ensure it doesn't happen again.

On a positive note, I can reassure you however that all our meat and vegetables are locally sourced and freshly cooked and definitely not processed

Warm regards,

Gary



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We have visited this Public House on at least five occasions over the last six months. The staff recognised us as soon as we walked through the door on our last visit, we had booked a table overlooking the pier this had to be altered due to us having a wheelchair and not able to master the step. The staff promptly reorganised a suitable table within seconds. We have eaten a wide variety from the menu between the family group that visits, we have no complaints from anyone, the food is always at a good standard and the service excellent. Well done to all staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDSearle, Owner at The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Good day,

Many thanks for taking the time to review 'The Salthouse Bar & Restaurant' - we always appreciate feedback from our customers as we continually strive to offer the best experience possible.

I am so happy to hear that you have been well looked after by my staff and have enjoyed our food. I will be sure to pass on your comments to them and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to The Salthouse Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing