We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elm Tree Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Walton Park Hotel(Clevedon)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel(Portishead)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Portishead(Portishead)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Bristol M5(Easton-in-Gordano)
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warrens Village(Clevedon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Commodore Hotel(Kewstoke)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
77
18
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep drivewayb bclean roomsfull englishcomfy bedbevhostsrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We found Elm Tree Cottage with very little difficulty, but found David & Bev wonderful hosts, the room was very clean and confortable - including the bed. Views spectacular and even though it was very wet at the time of our visit, we enjoyed it very much. Breakfast selection excellent as was the food on arrival. We loved the cottage and will use it again - its on our "tick" list of places to revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanPullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Very hospitable friendly hosts who welcome you into their home. Good clean facilities a good bed and freshly cooked breakfast is everything you want. 'Does it what exactly what it says on the tin'...and as we are into sayings..'I'll be back'.

16-17 Aug 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here with the aim of looking around Bristol. The first thing we noticed is the driveway is a bit on the steep side and the parking can be a bit awkward. Hosts were warm and welcoming and very helpful. The view from the room was very good; you can literally see for miles. The room was basic, clean and bright. The bathroom was very clean with an excellent shower - use it early in the morning though, as the hot water goes quickly if there are lots of other guests in the house - we had to shower using cold water one morning which woke us up a bit... I would recommend that the mattress was changed as it was really uncomfortable (worn out) and unfortunately we didnt sleep very well. The bed also needs an extra set of pillows. Cant fault the breakfasts though - would put more expensive places to shame.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J1mmy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmTreeCottage, Owner at Elm Tree Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Well, this is new territory for us. The closest we have come to a complaint is that the butter was too hard to spread. So we are very saddened that you felt your stay with us was uncomfortable, suffering cold showers in what you describe as a basic room in an uncomfortable bed with insufficient pillows. Why you tolerated such discomfort in silence is incredible. It would have benefited us both if you had raised these problems whilst you were here. You just needed to let us know.

The assessor from Visit Britain was here in March and he rated our beds as high quality being good mattresses on sprung divan bases and very comfortable. Good quality furniture, fabrics, bed linen, towels, bathrooms etc, all well presented and worthy of us retaining our 4* rating. 45 previous reviewers also found their stays with us to be mostly excellent or very good. One reviewer even found the bed to be so comfortable they enquired about the make and bought one themselves.

We have a purpose designed pressurised hot water/heating system so our guests can enjoy a powerful shower with no loss of pressure or change of temperature even, when up to 7 showers are all running at the same time. Could it be that the thermostatic control in the shower was in the wrong position, because that is the only thing that may explain why your showers were not hot enough. During the past few days and with a full house we have regularly checked temperatures and it is working fine.

My wife and I have been offering guest’s accommodation for over 10 years and constantly update rooms to ensure they are always presented to a high standard. so we do take comfort that you found us welcoming and enjoyed our breakfasts as well as the stunning view, so thank you for those generous compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A very comfortable and welcoming B&B, with small (in my case) but adequate and well planned room and bathroom. A good breakfast with a selection of dishes, and very welcoming hosts. A small criticism: it would be useful to have the tips for the best way to park in the parking area, as well as in the rooms. However, a good position with very nice views.

Room Tip: There is one room on the ground floor should stairs be a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a lovely little B and B. the owners are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is excellent!
The rooms are fairly small, especially downstairs but nicely furnished, comfortable and very clean.
There is a steep narrow lane up to the house which can be tricky to negotiate but there are lovely views from the house.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is comfortable but small.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews