We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please do not waste your time and money coming here, stressful and awful!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Inn Tickenham

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clevedon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn Tickenham
Ranked #4 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Please do not waste your time and money coming here, stressful and awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have never written a review before but if it helps stopping even one family experiences the 'delights' of this establishment I will have taken something away.
We have dined at this pub quite a few times over the last couple of years, the food was always on the average side but we forgave this as it was always friendly and the facilities such as the outside play ground and indoor soft play area were great.
On our last visit (and it will be the last on Sunday 25th November) we arrived to find only one other table occupied. We found out that there has been a change of management, maybe the food had improved we hoped. It hadn't, but that wasn't why the experience was so dreadful. It was the children of the staff/manager running riot in the pub. Now I have 5 children and I don't mind noise and children having fun but these children (primary age) were out of control, fighting each other, swearing, literally screaming, they emptied the toy boxes and proceeded to hurl them against each other or at the windows. All with the sound track of a couple of loud toy machine guns and all right next to us. When the waitress came over she gave them a 'ah bless them' look, I was just utterly amazed. The other table left and we couldn't eat our microwaved meals quick enough. When asked if everything was ok I had to say no, it was so stressful having to eat with this level of noise and chaos, she said she quite understood then proceeded to do nothing about it, in fact they just got worse. I did ask one of these half dozen children where his parents were and he said he lived there. Considering its such a big pub why would you let your children run riot next to the only customers in your establishment?! I hope the new management read this and maybe it'll be an insight why a pub in a great location and with fantastic facilities for families is EMPTY on a Sunday when it should be packed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelynanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    26
    18
    23
See reviews for
51
66
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Star has just changed hands in the last couple of weeks. The staff are nice and welcoming now run by two ladies, food was very good, much better vibes now becoming the pub it should have been......Last time I went the old landlords were running the star, food was cold and so was the the pub with little atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r1ch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

First visit Sunday lunch today. Disappointed to find dirty, creased tablecloth; sauces in greasy spice jars; weird salt and pepper affair with a bit of foil and Sellotape to serve as a stopper! These were apparently table decorations - odd. Not enough staff to take orders and serve tables. Two of us had what was described as cod and chips - i very much doubt it was cod with its overly strong fishy taste and smell - or perhaps it was just not very fresh. Either way not very nice. my daughter had sausages which she normally likes but she left them as there weren't very good. Such a shame as the pub itself is nice and had s beer garden and nice little play area for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoubylouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clevedon hotels

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

we went here as my mother in law had been previous but it has changed owners or so you would assume the food was absolutely disgusting we ordered 3 roast dinners and 2 children's one then we had pudding too £55 it came too ,and it was horrible food came within 10mins if sitting down the meat was like cardboard very very thin almost like microwaveable meat for what we paid I expected slightly better quality food and the staff aren't exactly friendly all looked miserable, I will never ever eat there or recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I would never go back to this place, I went here with my child and was a little concerned about the place when the play area smelt of mould. The food we ordered came out far too quickly after ordering for it to be fresh and cooked! I had to send it back as it was cold and regretted eating it after it was heated. I really felt that the hygiene in the kitchen was questionable as the chips tasted like they had been cooked in oil that had never been changed...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The ideal location kids - just as long as you don't eat or speak to the staff either would leave you empty and unfulfilled.

The food is so poor, on every level sadly. Kids food it's either tinned or from the freezer / packet. The meatballs were so processed the were perfect smooth circles. Everything from grissly
burgers to limp lifeless salad it's all hear. It's very cheap ingredients and pre packed portions which ever way we turned, dried out quickly put together. Old Heniz Mayo bottles washed and refilled with cheap alternatives and dried out pickles and crusty condiments. All of the above served without a smile, friendly dialogue or even In some cases speech at all.

Sincerely,a quick drink so the kids and can stretch their legs, maybe chance a packet of crisps but other than that regardless of your wealth or lack of save your money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheretoeatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I have stayed at the Star on several occasions over the last couple of years and have to say that it is deteriorating every time I visit.
I visited again last week and have to say that that will be the last time. Shame as it is convenient for my needs.
Rooms remain pretty much as always a bit dated but are adequate for a one night business stay costing £45.00.
That’s of course if you don't want breakfast as they no longer serve it during the week.
Just to add insult to injury they had no beer at all and very limited bottled or canned beer.
To me it looks like they are slowly going out of business by the lack of stock.
Oh well will now have to find an alternative

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentSteve33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
4.0 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
2.7 mi away
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Walton-in-Gordano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elm Tree Cottage
Elm Tree Cottage
#2 of 8 in Clevedon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Tickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Tickenham

Property: The Star Inn Tickenham
Address: Clevedon Road | Stone-Edge Batch, Clevedon BS21 6SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clevedon
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms have been recently refurbished. We are a Country Pub ,Restaurant and Accommodation venue. We are proud of our Quality Cask Ales, Lagers and Home Cooked food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Tickenham Hotel Clevedon
The Star Inn Tickenham Clevedon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing