We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Service, Lovely food.....Looking forward to the roast dinners!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clevedon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn Tickenham
Ranked #4 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Lovely food.....Looking forward to the roast dinners!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Star Inn has recently changed ownership, I went in to have a look more than anything. It has a very nice atmosphere, quite homely feel to it with a hint of bistro. Nicely decorated with lots of attention to detail. The menu had some great options, so we decided to order. We chose a steak and onion ciabatta and a trio of sausages (you could choose from a huge range e.g. black pudding and caramelised onion, chorizo, leek..........) and spring onion mash. Both were excellent and good quality ingredients, was pleasantly surprised at the prices. Menu offers smaller, light bite style options too.

The service was very friendly and staff helpful. It was nice to see the owner/chef talking to the customers making sure everyone was fine. Great service with a smile. I have heard some good reviews about their roast dinners too, will be going back to try them after our visit today am looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BekGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    50
    28
    18
    23
See reviews for
54
69
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

the new star inn is really cool. Nice staff, good food, nice atmosphere. without comparisons with the previous restaurant that was another boss. really hot. From now on, I will be very happy to come here together with your friends and family

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank edyta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rye
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We knew people locally who told us not to go to the Star Inn - based on the way it used to be. We had a great evening! The food was excellent, the service likewise - one of the staff even gave us a lift back to our B&B, when we asked them to call a cab! The owner came out and asked us for feedback, and we both thought, "This team really deserves success". So, gve them a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Wow. What a transformation. So glad as it is our local! Good beer fantastic food and friendly service! Good value too! Make sure you get down there soon. I took my sister and her boyfriend and my husband. We had Camembert, white bate and black pudding to start. And fish cake, fish and chips, gammon and risotto for mains. They were all well presented and very tasty. 2 courses and 2 drinks for £20 a head!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MadeleineBashforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Haven't been to the star in a few years due to bad last visit. We have family local to the star and heard it changed ownership and thought lets give it a go. In arrival outside looked tired and messy, abanded toys in garden, hose pipe left out and the same shabby outdoor furniture was still there. Right here goes..... The area where the indoor kids area is located is in need of a good scrub down and re paint. Blue tact and selotape on ceilings, lots of issues with the plaster , nothing a good scrub and a paint brush wouldn't sort. Indoor play area still the same from years ago and boxes of old broken toys not great. Worst thing that's very apparent is the amount of kids running around causing chaos , was very apparent the kids lived at the pub and used the kids area as there living quarters meaning my 2 year old was not safe playing in area meaning she became frustrated with the whole visit. Food not great but service was polite which was one positive. The current owners really need to bring this pub back to a decent level of cleanliness and not treat it as a play area for there kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoops84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie a, Director of Sales at The Star Inn Tickenham, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
on the day in question a childrens party was being held and the cellotape and blue tack was used to hang banners and balloons yes it needs a new coat of paint the toys are a bit tierd but are only there if you want to use them i,m not quite sure what some people expect to find in a FREE play area .As for toys in the garden the children love to play outside in the sun and we have no problem with the children takeing the toys outside .So if you have kids that just like to play then please come and give us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Now that it is under new management.Good food, great service and the best staff , called in with a coach load of fussy passengers and every one of them was more than happy with the service. I will make sure that I will be taking more customers to enjoy this wonderful pub, My thanks go to the landladies and staff for their dedication. A Very happy coach driver.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Go and enjoy lovely home cooked food in a pleasant warm atmosphere with staff that go out of their way to make you feel very welcome , a very good menu to select from and a good selection of beers to choose. Highly recommended for those who wish to enjoy a traditional warm country pub. Well done to all the friendly staff at the star.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sootu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
3.6 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
2.7 mi away
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Walton-in-Gordano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Tickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Tickenham

Property: The Star Inn Tickenham
Address: Clevedon Road | Stone-Edge Batch, Clevedon BS21 6SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clevedon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms have been recently refurbished. We are a Country Pub ,Restaurant and Accommodation venue. We are proud of our Quality Cask Ales, Lagers and Home Cooked food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Tickenham Hotel Clevedon
The Star Inn Tickenham Clevedon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing