We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, fantastic service.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clevedon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn Tickenham
Ranked #2 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I visited for an evening meal after being recommended by our friends. I'm glad to say that we were not let down! I had the duck and my wife chose off the special sausage menu. The meals were great and the young barman's service was impeccable. We then spent the rest of the evening on the sofas by a warm fire place feeling right at home. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I live near to the Star, it has a terrible reputation locally. I took my son in law for a drink there and he said it was the worst pub he had ever been in. It was dirty, staff miserable, atmosphere totally missing, cold and unwellcoming. I heard there was a change in management so gave it a try at lunchtime. OMG WHAT A CHANGE. The new landlord who is Turkish gave me a beaming smile and a huge genuine welcome. Poured my drink and ushered me to a seat right next to a roaring log fire. After a plate of really good ham and eggs (and another drink!) I felt warm and comfortable and thought to myself what a miracle, this is a real pub now, its clean, has a heart and is beginning to serve really nice food. I am going to try the Turkish meatballs next time (tomorrow maybe?)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Murat Gumus has just taken over this pub ,which used to be our 'local' over 30 years ago and we never returned ,due to negative feedback.
However, on our recent visit, we found the service friendly and most welcoming and the food superb not just superb EXCEPTIONAL!.
Now we are recommending it to our friends who feel just the same
May this enterprise expand and prosper
John and Emily

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alicemaudbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Star Inn has recently changed ownership, I went in to have a look more than anything. It has a very nice atmosphere, quite homely feel to it with a hint of bistro. Nicely decorated with lots of attention to detail. The menu had some great options, so we decided to order. We chose a steak and onion ciabatta and a trio of sausages (you could choose from a huge range e.g. black pudding and caramelised onion, chorizo, leek..........) and spring onion mash. Both were excellent and good quality ingredients, was pleasantly surprised at the prices. Menu offers smaller, light bite style options too.

The service was very friendly and staff helpful. It was nice to see the owner/chef talking to the customers making sure everyone was fine. Great service with a smile. I have heard some good reviews about their roast dinners too, will be going back to try them after our visit today am looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BekGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

the new star inn is really cool. Nice staff, good food, nice atmosphere. without comparisons with the previous restaurant that was another boss. really hot. From now on, I will be very happy to come here together with your friends and family

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank edyta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We knew people locally who told us not to go to the Star Inn - based on the way it used to be. We had a great evening! The food was excellent, the service likewise - one of the staff even gave us a lift back to our B&B, when we asked them to call a cab! The owner came out and asked us for feedback, and we both thought, "This team really deserves success". So, gve them a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Wow. What a transformation. So glad as it is our local! Good beer fantastic food and friendly service! Good value too! Make sure you get down there soon. I took my sister and her boyfriend and my husband. We had Camembert, white bate and black pudding to start. And fish cake, fish and chips, gammon and risotto for mains. They were all well presented and very tasty. 2 courses and 2 drinks for £20 a head!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank MadeleineBashforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clevedon hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Walton-in-Gordano
92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cavell House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Tickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Tickenham

Address: Clevedon Road | Stone-Edge Batch, Clevedon BS21 6SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clevedon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms have been recently refurbished. We are a Country Pub ,Restaurant and Accommodation venue. We are proud of our Quality Cask Ales, Lagers and Home Cooked food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Tickenham Hotel Clevedon
The Star Inn Tickenham Clevedon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing