We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely fantastic one night stay, would recommend to everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle of Comfort Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle of Comfort Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Certificate of Excellence
yeovi, somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely fantastic one night stay, would recommend to everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Me and my partner booked to stay at the Castle of comfort for just one night as we were attending a wedding 1 and a half miles up the road. from the moment we arrived we were totally delighted with the service and hospitality of the owners. the Tintern room was immaculately clean and had everything we needed, and more.... even little extras in the room like peanuts, shoe polosh, chocs, mints, robe...and the bed was so comfortable . the breakfast was superb, excellent choice and quality. the grounds are beautiful . an idyllic setting. then to top our stay off the owenrs kindly drove us back the following morning to collect our car. they couldnt do enough for us.... brilliant!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackyYeovi_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
100
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We spent two nights in the beautiful Castle of Comfort. The place is wonderful and I would suggest everybody to spend at least two nights there. We were four friends traveling from Somerset to Cornwall. The owners Carol and Nigel are very kind, Carol is also a great cook, her breakfast is excellent, she also won an important breakfast award. I suggest you to have dinner as well at the Castle of Comfort: it is deliciuos and not expensive. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. The surrounding landscape is so british, all is green. The place is close to the Exmoor National Park. We had really a perfect stay there!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolab61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We booked this hotel off the net, because we wanted a place to meet with family, and needed a good break ourselves. It's on the side of the A39, between Bridgewater and Minehead, and appears to be in the middle of nowhere. The welcome, from Carol and Nigel, is warm and friendly, and the place is delightful. There are extensive gardens, which our dog thought were unbelievably exciting - she raced round and round the perimeter and couldn't wait to get back out there - and the rooms are tidy, comfortable and well equipped. We had the best night's sleep we've had for months.

So far so good,but perhaps not unusual. But the food! we had an excellent evening meal - we recommend the local beef -and probably the best breakfast we've ever had in a hotel.The next day, after exploring some of the north Somerset coast, we met our cousins for lunch. Again, excellent, as was the post-lunch coffee in the cosy lounge. Service was relaxed and helpful, no-one hassled us to move on,and the very late arrival of one couple, because of awful road conditions on the M6, which kept thekitchens waiting for over half an hour, was waved aside with no complaints. We're delighted to give it 11 out of10,and are already planning to return on our own.

Nearby is Nether Stowey, home for Coleridge, and the place where he wrote his best poetry. Exmoor, the Somerset coast, and the Somerset Levels are all within easy reach. The place deserves to be better known, though I hesitate to make it so, because it might be harder for us to get in next time. We've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GussyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We booked into this hotel for a wedding in the local area. A little sceptical on booking and not knowing what to expect. On entering the property, there was a wonderful warm welcome with a tour to and around our room, instantly making us feel at home. We requested a room with a nice view and found we were in the Italian. The room was fantastic; the small touches here and there added to the luxury and comfort, demonstrating the eye for detail. A sofa positioned with a view over the hills. A bathroom with separate shower and bath; a deep and long cast iron number enabling a 6 footer to fully lie flat and immerse in the provided Radox Muscle Soak bath foam and constant hot water. Luxury tea and coffee facilities including cafetiere and ground coffee. The bed positioned to take in the best views over the hills and out to sea, the mattress with a lovely soft topper leading to an unexpected lie-in. A complimentary decanter of lovely Sherry on the dressing table. A quality Panasonic TV offering excellent viewing and sound quality. In the morning, breakfast was served with a fresh welcome and the full english was very tasty, and not greasy in the slightest. A home from home; this really didn't feel like a hotel but more of a pampering in our own home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmieTrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Wonderful stay of 4 nights. Carol and Nigel and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and Carol coped with our unexpected dietary requests very well.
Hotel is well situated for exploring the Quantocks and for visits to the coast.
We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentishMaid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I got a deal through last minute.com and got the top room for£105. I would have stayed here paying the full price! What a fantastic, friendly hotel! The rooms were immaculate and the food was exquisite! If I lived near here I would use this hotel as my favourite restaurant. If u do stay here the mushroom soup is a must! Can't wait till the next time we need to stay near here :). Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doornobs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

for a small hotel the food was of an extremely high standard and cream teas "to die for".all the staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.we will return and explore other parts of the coast from here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodington
14.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Comfort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Comfort Country House

Property: Castle of Comfort Country House
Address: Dodington TA5 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Dodington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Comfort Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle of Comfort Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Comfort Country House Somerset/Dodington, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing