We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great short break with excellent restaurent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle of Comfort Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Certificate of Excellence
Wollaston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great short break with excellent restaurent”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed for Four nights and were well taken care of by Nigel and Carol , the rooms were one of the best we have stayed in and the breakfast had something for everybody.The restaurent had a superb menu with a good wine list and we will certainly consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: Note the restaurent is closed on Sunday , Carol did offer to cook us something but everyone needs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
104
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Warm welcome from Nigel, faultless rooms with surroundings that really echo the country house feel, although it was a bit cold for a dip in the pool. Had dinner in the restaurant and the locally sourced food was out of this world! Thoroughly recommended, I certainly intend staying again if I am in the area and would make a detour to enjoy the rack of lamb!

Room Tip: Try the restaurant, you wont be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevegresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here on our way to Cornwall. We arrived in time for a delicious cream tea which bode well! Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast and the service was very friendly. We stayed with our dog who was allowed in the bar after dinner. It's a perfect overnight stop but would also be great to stay for a holiday in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stopped for a weekend with family, lovely clean and tidy with excellent bathroom facilities. Didn't eat in hotel as menu doesn't cater very well for fussy ten year olds, but my wife and I would have loved to have sampled the food as it looked fantastic. The breakfast was very good, with more than enough options to please anyone. The warmth of the owners and staff are what really make the hotel though, lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stobbsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay here on many occassions for several years now and I keep coming back. This is my first hotel review as I have never felt motivated to write one and recommend such a homely, welcoming place. The attention to detail is spot on, the bedrooms are all well presented and I particularly enjoy the complimentary sherry. The food is beautifully cooked and breakfast is award winning. Special note to all the staff and Carol & Nigel who have always made me feel like a special guest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hel42Ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Old fashioned hospitality but with all the modern conveniences you would expect of a far more expensive place. Lovely stay. Lovely welcome. Lovely breakfast. We had the family room complete with 4 poster and roll top bath. The Horrocks family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We needed a one night hotel stay that prvovided everything under one roof (one stop shop). The Castle of Comfort did all we needed and delivered it with style, and with excellence.

The Hotel was superb, and reflected the name throughout. The food, bar and all staff found to be very, very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodington
14.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
10.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Comfort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Comfort Country House

Property: Castle of Comfort Country House
Address: Dodington TA5 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Dodington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Comfort Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle of Comfort Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Comfort Country House Somerset/Dodington, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing