We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle of Comfort Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Class Accommodation”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed over for night, en route to Devon. My room was spacious, spotless and beautifully decorated. The bed was the most comfortable, I have ever slept in. There was even sherry in a decanter. I felt like a most honoured guest. The staff were helpful and friendly and capable of articulate and interesting conversation.

The food however, I must comment on. I had the best meal I ever had. Fresh vegetables cooked to slightly crunchy perfection and beef which actually did melt in the mouth. The chef here is honestly... definitely worth visiting. Her skills are exceptional !

Room Tip: Each room has its own exceptional merits (according to website). I was only in one room, a classic d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretannemartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
108
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We came across the Castle of Comfort by chance on a website because we were looking for accommodation which allowed dogs. After quite a long drive (from Holland), we were greeted with a very cheery reception and showed to our room which was the super king room - absolutely perfect for our four legged friend as it had direct access to the grounds, which were also stunning. The room itself was lovely and had everything we could possibly need for our 2 night stay. My family were also made very very welcome when they visited us and were able to share afternoon tea (with delicious fresh cakes and scones) and an evening meal with us.

The food was delicious! A very wide range of cooked breakfasts as well as a lovely range of evening meals which were very reasonably priced and delivered with lovely service. Our dog, Rufus was also treated like royalty!

Even though we only stayed 2 nights, it has certainly made a big impression, we are hoping to visit again soon and my family also have the Castle of Comfort high on their list to revisit! Lovely place and lovely service, would highly recommend paying a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On journey back from South West - hasn't realised what time was and pubs had stopped doing food. Took a chance on this, just stopping as we went past, and very glad we did. Though it was 2.30ish, very helpful staff found us a quite excellent cream tea. Very good value too. The C-of-C deserves to succeed with such a cheerful can-do attitude, and we were sorry we had to move on without looking round the attractive grounds. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenlock41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we only stayed 1 night first impression was great... when you enter it gets better & better..gardens, restaurant, guest lounge, bedroom WOW !, we were upgraded to room 4...so .comfortable with lots of original features plus luxury modern amenities. Owners are great hosts & made us feel welcome. They obviously work very hard to maintain their beautiful hotel to such a high standard. Hope to stay again next time for longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a wonderful place - we stayed with our 4 month old puppy, was fantastic and breakfast was just divine.

Can't wait to come back and try the food in the evening (not open on Sunday evenings)

See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

But I will definitely return. Wonderful welcome, nothing too much trouble. We live quite close so do not need to stay, unless we sample all the wine menu, which would be no problem as there is a very good selection and next time I am going to leave room for that dessert wine! Drinks in a cosy lounge, food was served quickly and efficiently and was delicious. Just the right sized portion and a menu choice to make you want to go again!! They had just finished the garden make over that day, so will look forward to seeing it in all it's glory next time. A lovely lady gave us the lowdown on this fascinating piece of history here in the Quantocks. I would love to be able to stay, I am sure I am missing out on a really good room here!

Room Tip: As I did not stay I cannot help here, but if you can certainly eat here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having a business need to travel down to South West of Bristol and needing overnight accommodation, Carol and the Castle instantly came to the forefront of my mind. A quick phone call-yes-room available tonight but not tomorrow-fully booked. Oh sugar !!!. No worries, I'll sort you out with somewhere to rest your head.
M5 was a car park, Jct 14 southwards to Jct 23 took 4 hours instead of 1.5! Eventually arrived, carol had researched the room I was in last April (2013) and made it ready and welcoming. Two minutes refresher then the garden for a welcome chilled white and a personal chill. Unfortunately swimming pool was MT having just been refurbished but understand it is back in service now. Splendid dinner, great breakfast, great send off, I will be back.

Took the opportunity to visit Coleridge Cottage in Nether Stowey this time, met by three very enthusiastic and knowledgeable NT volunteers, recommend you don't miss out on this. I did The Ancient Mariner for my O level GCE English Literature 54 years ago---------and passed

Room Tip: All rooms face the garden away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodington
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
13.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
236 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.3 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
691 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Comfort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Comfort Country House

Property: Castle of Comfort Country House
Address: Dodington TA5 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Dodington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Comfort Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Castle of Comfort Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Comfort Country House Somerset/Dodington, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing