We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, truly a castle of comfort and nothing too much trouble!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle of Comfort Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Certificate of Excellence
Robertsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, truly a castle of comfort and nothing too much trouble!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Carol and Julie are absolutely lovely and couldn't have done anymore to make my husband and I feel welcome! On arrival Julie said we were just in time for tea and offered us a complimentary afternoon tea with home-made cakes which was lovely. I wanted to use their swimming Poole and Julie was very obliging and immediately took the cover off, cleaned out some stray leaves and came back with a pool towel for me.

We stayed in room 1 which is a very spacious room, nicely decorated in a traditional style, with a lovely four poster bed. The bathroom is large and clean with a lovely in-keeping freestanding roll-top bath, separate shower and his and hers sinks. All the extra touches make this place a really great place to stay, nice quality toiletries, bathrobes, lovely fresh white towels with proper full sized bath sheets - none of those terrible postage stamp ones that wouldn't cover a gnat's bottom! They've also provided peanuts, sweets and complimentary sherry in the room which are just very nice touches. Also good fast wi-fi in all areas including the bedroom which was free.

Dinner was not Michelin star but good quality, nicely cooked and again they were very accommodating. The breakfast selection is excellent and we both thoroughly enjoyed the full English.

If I had to be critical, the only slightly negative thing is that as the house is on a main road, with the windows open overnight, we found the the traffic a bit noisy first thing in the morning as the road became busier. I would also say though that my hubby and I live in a very quiet spot so aren't use to any traffic noise, so this may not be a problem to most and I am sure if I had asked, they would have probably found us an electric fan so we didn't have to open the windows.

All in all we had an absolutely lovely stay and can't recommend this fabulous country house enough - definitely worth staying if you're looking for somewhere in the area..

Room Tip: Room 1 'Mariner' is definitely the one to choose if you want a romantic night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
105
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed with our 2 yr old daughter. They were very accommodating and the owners were friendly and flexible. The grounds have a nice garden and outdoor heated swimming pool which we felt very unusual but great. Unfortunately we visited on the first day of rain for a few weeks. We stayed in a newly furnished downstairs room its own external access just yards from the entrance to the main house. The room was immaculate and included a wet room obviously designed for those who are less mobile.

The breakfast was delicious and varied. We isn't eat in the restaurant as the menu was not above and beyond the normal family bar food and we wouldn't have done it justice.Nthe is a lovely large lounge with bar. There is Wifi for those inclined. Easy, close off road parking.

A lovely setting, we would recommend.

Room Tip: If you want more basic pub grub there is a pub within 2 miles on same road towards Minehead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyfamily42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed over for night, en route to Devon. My room was spacious, spotless and beautifully decorated. The bed was the most comfortable, I have ever slept in. There was even sherry in a decanter. I felt like a most honoured guest. The staff were helpful and friendly and capable of articulate and interesting conversation.

The food however, I must comment on. I had the best meal I ever had. Fresh vegetables cooked to slightly crunchy perfection and beef which actually did melt in the mouth. The chef here is honestly... definitely worth visiting. Her skills are exceptional !

Room Tip: Each room has its own exceptional merits (according to website). I was only in one room, a classic d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretannemartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We came across the Castle of Comfort by chance on a website because we were looking for accommodation which allowed dogs. After quite a long drive (from Holland), we were greeted with a very cheery reception and showed to our room which was the super king room - absolutely perfect for our four legged friend as it had direct access to the grounds, which were also stunning. The room itself was lovely and had everything we could possibly need for our 2 night stay. My family were also made very very welcome when they visited us and were able to share afternoon tea (with delicious fresh cakes and scones) and an evening meal with us.

The food was delicious! A very wide range of cooked breakfasts as well as a lovely range of evening meals which were very reasonably priced and delivered with lovely service. Our dog, Rufus was also treated like royalty!

Even though we only stayed 2 nights, it has certainly made a big impression, we are hoping to visit again soon and my family also have the Castle of Comfort high on their list to revisit! Lovely place and lovely service, would highly recommend paying a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On journey back from South West - hasn't realised what time was and pubs had stopped doing food. Took a chance on this, just stopping as we went past, and very glad we did. Though it was 2.30ish, very helpful staff found us a quite excellent cream tea. Very good value too. The C-of-C deserves to succeed with such a cheerful can-do attitude, and we were sorry we had to move on without looking round the attractive grounds. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenlock41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we only stayed 1 night first impression was great... when you enter it gets better & better..gardens, restaurant, guest lounge, bedroom WOW !, we were upgraded to room 4...so .comfortable with lots of original features plus luxury modern amenities. Owners are great hosts & made us feel welcome. They obviously work very hard to maintain their beautiful hotel to such a high standard. Hope to stay again next time for longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a wonderful place - we stayed with our 4 month old puppy, was fantastic and breakfast was just divine.

Can't wait to come back and try the food in the evening (not open on Sunday evenings)

See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodington
14.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
115 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Comfort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Comfort Country House

Property: Castle of Comfort Country House
Address: Dodington TA5 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Dodington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Comfort Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle of Comfort Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Comfort Country House Somerset/Dodington, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing