We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub.”
Review of The George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pub.”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I'm a regular, if infrequent, visitor to the George: I tend to visit for lunch on a Saturday or Sunday about twice a year, with a bunch of like-minded, thirsty, large friends who also like excellent ale and proper food. We were very sad when the previous tenants, whom we'd got to know quite well over the years, had to move on; so we were delighted to learn that the pub is open again, after some refurbishment. We piled in for lunch on Saturday (10 Nov 2012) and were very pleased. The owner is currently running the pub and is looking for tenants - he has some in the frame so we hope that turns out well. It's looking lovely, and the Exmoor Ale and beef pie were both in fantastic form - quite equal to our happy experiences over the past several years. And it's a delight that the cooking is being done by the same person who's been looking after us so well over the years. We have no experience of staying at the George, just of eating/drinking there, but it's a Proper Pub, and it is still in absolutely splendid form. Thank you and good luck to the owner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChallGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Like some other reviewers we too have been coming to this little known jewel in deepest Somerset for years and have always found the landlords and staff to be warm and welcoming. They say you make your own atmosphere and the pleasant surroundings of this 16th century inn certainly add to that. Good food and beer, and an hearty breakfast. An excellent location to get away from it all and a stones throw from Wimbleball Lake, ideal for sailing, fishing and walking. Definitely a treat in the country and somewhere I would thorougly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been coming to the George Inn for the past few years and have always found the atmosphere very welcoming Our recent visit to the George recently at lunch time we had noticed that it had changed ownership. The pub has seen a minor refurbishment which was greatly needed. However it lacked the atmosphere of an old English pub There was no interaction between the landlord & landlady and customers seemed to be a inconvenience to them. We never came to the George for the food, we came for the atmosphere of and old English pub in rural Somerset. The new owners have to learn to be more customer orientated. This pub has so much potential and is situated in an area of outstanding beauty but if you are on Exmoor on holiday there are better places to visit, hopefully the owners will read this report and improve their customer service, may be we will visit the George again.

We in Britain want to support our traditional pubs but some landlords/ landladies do not understand customer service

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed in The George Inn on Saturday 16th June. My partner was taking part in the Ironman 70.3 event in Wimblewall. The accommodation was clean bright and comfortable, we had everything that we needed. The pub was very busy, which is good to see, but the staff took the time to chat without being intrusive. The food was just right and the Inn provided a picnic breakfast as we had to leave for the event at 5am. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I and my fiancé visited the George for Sunday lunch recently. We had visited the George last summer whilst on holiday on Exmoor an enjoyed the atmosphere and all the local people seemed very friendly.

We wanted to sit in the garden as the George Inn has great views over Exmoor but unfortunately the garden furniture was not set out and it was not avery pleasant environment to sit in as it was not maintained. When you get the occasional nice day in this country you like to sit outside. Such a shame the Landlord does not make the effort as this is with out doubt a major asset to this pub. As it was it started to rain and we had seek shelter in the Smoking area, which is half a garden shed with no proper seating and ash tray full of cigarette butts.

Wanted to speak to the landlord but apparently he was not there, this being a Sunday lunch with only 2 staff, had it been busy I am sure we would have to had waited ages to get served.

The meal was of a low standard, Next time we are down on holiday we will not be visiting George Inn.

Such a shame as this Inn has so much potential. Obviously the landlord has no idea how to run a pub and customer service is a very low priority for the landlord

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sandra s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had booked this for a weekend away just after Christmas as a present from our son.Our check in time stated 5pm and we arrived at 4.50pm to find the pub totally locked up.

We were greeted by a resident across the road advising that the pub didn't open until 7pm and to come back. When I explained that we were staying he looked shocked and told us everyone was out!

After a four and a half hour journey all we wanted was to have a coffee and use the toilet- none of which was on offer.

We then had to drive away and go in search of this and wait until someone could be bothered to greet us.

Once we had managed to gain entry to the pub, the landlord informed us that the previous tenant had gone and he'd checked with his solicitors and yes we could still stay.

Not the warm welcome you would hope for and as the entire place stank of fresh paint and they had only reopened a few days earlier, we did wonder if they had bothered just because we had booked.

The first night we had no heating in the room and the fan heater provided was broken. We had to open the window as the smell of paint was so bad i ended up with a sore throat.

Breakfast the next morning was fine, better than the steak the night before which wasn't cooked to our request, although the landlord did huff and puff his whole way through and then we could hear him muttering as obviously one of his staff had let him down. This happens in business but don't do it in front of your paying customers!

The fan heater was swapped and they did put the heating on the next day but due to an emergency at home, we left a day early.

Was I sorry, no not really. A shame because my son spent his money on this present for us and we felt like we were a total inconvenience and the landlord didn't want to be there.

Would I visit again - NO

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else more welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chezza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just got back from a long weekend in Exmoor. We had 4 nights at the George, and found Howard and the girls friendly and very welcoming. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and the food good. The atmosphere was enhanced by extra touches such as candles, fresh flowers and a wood-burner that was actually alight! Great value for money break, would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: room 3 lovely view but we understand all rooms had a similar view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
7.5 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
4.5 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#13 of 17 in Dulverton
3 reviews
3.2 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Brompton Regis, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The George Inn Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing