We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tongdam Thai

Tongdam Thai
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tongdam Thai
Ranked #12 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Good food & attentive service - only visited the restaurant for dinner, didn't stay overnight.
The menu presents all the usual dishes you'd expect to find in a Thai restaurant.
The prices were a bit higher than I thought for this part of the world - on par with London (if not higher than some I've been to), but worth a visit nonetheless if you're in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit-Born-Cyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We only ate here but the food was amazing and staff friendly. I'm vegetarian and there was a wide range of choice.I tried this restaurant after being recommended it by my partner and his friend. I will be returning in the future when I'm next down in Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keely887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clevedon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Having picked up a takeaway menu during the day to see the menu before eating in the evening, we were a little bit taken aback by how much more expensive it was in the restaurant (you expect it to be slightly more expensive but my dish was £9.80 on the takeaway menu and £13.95 in restaurant). That said, it was worth every penny. Delicious fresh food, great service & atmosphere. We were camping nearby and it made a nice change from Pub Grub & BBQ food. Highly recommended, will definately return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Really nice people - you feel very welcome as if you were at your good friends'. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
The Food/dinner was good. A good restaurant.
Breakfast starts with a refreshing bowl of fruit salad. The cooked breakfast however is terrible.
Accommodation: Clean and comfortable bed. The bamboo blinds have character but let the light in - you are waken-up by the day light very early. Unfortunate for a relaxing week end.
More generally lost of cobwebs that it would not take long to get rid of - this lets down the place a bit. The B&B does need some TLC - a bit of paint, getting rid of the old carpets (showing off the original floor boards would add charm and character to the place and would not cost much to do).
I would go back though; the friendly service makes us for some of the things that are not quite right.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiDeFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were staying in knowstone and Tongdam Thai was recommended to us in the welcome guide, ate here for dinner on our last night. The food was amazing, service was perfect. Definitely need to book a table as its obviously very popular, lots of people in there for a Thursday evening. Nice traditional decor. Would definately return to taste some more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were staying nearby in Dulverton when we were recommended the Thai restaurant Tongdam. We went in and booked lunch time for a table table in the evening.

We were attentively served in the evening very polite waiters. we also enjoyed the food. It was fairly busy and I am glad we booked. I had asked for particular table an thought it was very sweet of the original waiter who kept the table I wanted for us to sit at.

My one and only moan and this is an observation is the chairs, i don't know why such lovely restaurants choose such uncomfortable wooden chairs, that are hard. I am afraid I did ask for a cushion which was supplied but a very thin one, so in no time it was flat. as soon as the people from the nearby table left i requested one of only 3 chairs that had padding on which the your Waiter swopped for me.

Lovely restaurant great decor, people want to sit and enjoy but its like sitting on a park bench when it is a hard surfaced wooden chair and if like me people suffer on hard surfaces they can't enjoy it.

other then that I recommend it and was pleased.
If this is helpful please give me a tick

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Came with my family for Sunday lunch - we ate off the menu although there was also a lunch option available (which seemed like good value) The food was lovely, the service discreet but attentive (without being intrusive) and the ambience was perfect for Sunday lunch (I'd imagine it's pretty good in the evening too!) I'll be returning soon!

Room Tip: didn't stay the night so can't help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
0.1 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#4 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#4 of 5 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamcombe Farm
Streamcombe Farm
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#16 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongdam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongdam Thai

Property: Tongdam Thai
Address: 26 High Street, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tongdam Thai Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing