We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai meal in lovely town of Dulverton”
Review of Tongdam Thai

Tongdam Thai
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tongdam Thai
Ranked #9 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai meal in lovely town of Dulverton”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Having spent a lovely break in Dulverton on the edge of spectacular Exmoor, we enjoyed a delicious Thai meal at the Tongdam Thai. The warm welcome, excellent food and delightful setting made a fitting end to a relaxing break. Dulverton is a warm, friendly place so enjoy yourselves if you visit and don't miss a great Thai meal.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatrixKiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I stayed with a friend at Tongdam Thai in late December and cannot thank Robert and Tino enough for their hospitality.

We stayed in the largest room, which had a separate lounge and private bathroom, above the restaurant. The room is bedecked in the colonial style and benefited a tiny balcony (though not of much use in the freezing cold!) Entrance to the rooms is generally through the restaurant, but if you prefer to wander out in the late evenings, a key to a side entrance is provided.

Tino and the front of house staff were very accommodating to our every request and we enjoyed a great Thai meal in the restaurant on the night of arrival.

The following morning we enjoyed the excellent breakfast others have mentioned and the pleasure of chatting with both Robert and Tino. They offered us advice on walks, places to visit and other information on the local area. We only stayed for the one night, but Robert was kind enough to let us use the room until the late evening - so we could shower and change after spending the day walking around Exmoor.

All in all, a faultless stay at Tongdam, which is testament to the hard work that Robert, Tino and his team have put into the place. We would definitely recommend anyone visiting Dulverton to stay at Tongdam without any hesitation.

  • Liked — Service from staff
  • Disliked — Room was a bit cold without additional electric heater
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HPW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Tongdam Thai was recommended to us by another establishment in the town and we were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and were thrilled by the room we were given for the night which included a small lounge. Beautifully furnished and comfortable.

We ate at the restaurant and it is the best Thai meal we have ever had. As it was my husband's birthday, balloons had been placed over the table and a card was waiting for him, such a nice touch which had been repeated on 2 other tables. Attention to detail is faultless,our jug of water was replenished without having to ask.

Breakfast was as described in the previous review, beautifully cooked and presented by the charming proprieter, Tino.

We look forward to revisiting Tongdam in the not too distant future.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank suej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeythec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Tongdam Thai is a simply lovely Thai restaurant in the heart of Dulverton. What you might not know is that you can stay there; we happened upon this by chance when going to a friends wedding and I have nothing but absolutely fabulous things to say about the place. In fact, I regret not having written this review sooner, but it just goes to show that 9 months on, I'm still raving about the place.

The room suite, the service, the little 5* touches like bottled water by the bedside, the privacy, the quaintness and the authenticity all came together to give us one fantastic night. I cannot thank the owner - whose personal service we received - enough.

The food... we didn't eat dinner here (...the wedding) but would have if we'd stayed another night. Breakfast on the other hand was a complete and welcome surprise. Nothing kills a hangover more that an authentic thai fruit platter, followed by a full english with seemingly as much tea, toast and juice as we could handle.

I can honestly say we felt better treated here than in most other places we've stayed, not just B&Bs, but hotels too. Certainly it's more personal and that makes it all the more special.

All this for really very little money, if fact I would have felt it justified a far higher final bill... thank you, we'll come again.

  • Liked — The service, the attention to detail and the value
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
3.2 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#13 of 17 in Dulverton
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paddons
Paddons
#16 of 17 in Dulverton
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Streamcombe Farm
Streamcombe Farm
#4 of 17 in Dulverton
123 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongdam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongdam Thai

Property: Tongdam Thai
Address: 26 High Street, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tongdam Thai Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing