We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant......yet again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Acres Country House
Ranked #4 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had our second stay at Three Acres in October 2013 and once again every box was ticked, several times over.

Edward and Julie are so welcoming. We feel as though we are staying with friends rather than a hotel, such is the effort Julie and Edward go to.

If you only ever visit this area once, stay at Three Acres.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Three Acres Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Tucked round the back of Brushford a couple of miles away from Dulverton the Three Acres gives peace and tranquility with the homely warmth from a couple who know what guests want. Nothing is too much trouble for Ed & Julie from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Great adviice on where to eat, booking restaurant tables & taxis all carried out efficiently. Breakfast is wrth the visit alone! In so many places it's a real dissapointment but at Three Acres it is freshly cooked to order & the mushrooms outstanding. Log fires with tea & biscuits after a long walk made a most relaxing afternoon. Definately worth going slightly off the beaten track to find.

Room Tip: Delux room had a H U G E bathroom :-o))
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likesmifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived on a dark November evening to be greeted by Roger the golden retriever - a lovely dog. Great venue beautifully refurbished in lovely grounds. Fabulous one night stay in a super comfortable and warm room. Lovely venison casserole at the bar and a superb breakfast of local produce. Just sorry we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: All beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My large family and I have just enjoyed a weekend at Three Acres where we were able to have the place to ourselves. It is impeccably presented and a beautiful location but the Three Acres's charm is about Julie and Edward. In a country where one expects awful hospitality, Julie and Edward are shining exceptions. They are kind, friendly, warm and wonderful cooks!! The cooked breakfast is the best i have had with locally sourced tasty food prepared sublimely. The big table in the dining room defies awkward silences.

The 6 rooms (i think!) are each decorated individually and genuine beautiful furniture grace each bedroom. The beds are comfy with crisp clean white linen. Fabulous!

There is a little park at the foot of the hill for little kids and the toddlers in our group were treated a well as the adults. There is accessible accommodation for the oldies too!!

To end the day off, settle at the cosy bar fully stocked with all sorts of lovely tipples and many a crisp cider. It may need some restocking this week .......

We will return!! Thanks to Julie and Edward

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank ELIZABETHCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Julie and Edward made us so welcome on our third visit to the Three Acres. Nothing is too much trouble for them in making our stays as comfortable as possible.
I must mention the breakfasts; Dorset cereals, local honey and I cannot think of better cooked eggs, bacon or the daily special.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotless as ever: great value
Even their friendly retriever, Roger, will come and welcome you and help you unpack the car!
Finally, Ed and Julie are great company in their snug bar at night, entertaining us with wide ranging, interesting discussions on all the important issues in life: rugby, where to eat at night and the weather forecast
We will certainly go back again

Room Tip: We have stayed in 2 different rooms and they were both excellent
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graystones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned from our fifth stay at Three Acres Country House and it is as delightful as our first pleasurable experience. Julie and Edward have become as friends over the years and their attention to detail is awesome - putting other more expensive and pretentious venues firmly in the shade. They maintain a record of each of your visits and your quirky details to be able to provide your likes, favourite tipple and remind you where you went to eat etc. Most impressive!
We have stayed in three different rooms in all and each one is furnished to a very high standard, extremely comfortable, very spacious and great attention to detail.
The breakfast is fantastic, the best we have ever had anywhere and we have travelled extensively. The choice of fresh local produce and the daily menu including the local weather forecast is done so easily but so effectively. We have returned time and again, even taking friends to share what we consider to be a really special treat. We hope they continue to do well but also want to keep it our secret for fear of spoiling this treasure. We will be back!
Keith and Annie, Morriston, Swansea.

Room Tip: Every room is fabulous.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome and special! Edward and Julie were the perfect hosts and I coundn't fault them at all.

Our room was large, spotlessly clean and very well appointed with nice little finishing touches.

The selection at breakfast was excellent which included fresh fruit and the usual hot offerings catered for everybody tastes.

The property is located just a short drive from Dulverton where there are numerous restaurants to choose from.

I highly recommend this establishment and look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
21.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
966 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Streamcombe Farm
Streamcombe Farm
#5 of 17 in Dulverton
125 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Country House

Address: Brushford, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Hotel Class:5 star — Three Acres Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in large secluded grounds on the edge of Exmoor, Three Acres offers the perfect atmosphere to relax and unwind. Experience a restful night’s sleep in one of six well appointed bedrooms, which have been individually decorated and styled with comfort in mind. Relax with a drink at the bar, in a comfy sofa by the open fire or on the sun terrace. Our award-winning breakfast is prepared to order using fresh local ingredients. The unspoilt charm of Dulverton is nearby and the options are endless for exploring Exmoor.Enjoy the peace and privacy of holding your special occasion at Three Acres, where the only guests are those you have personally invited. Exclusively Yours gives you the opportunity to host a dinner party tailored to suit your tastes. If you are looking to buy the perfect present why not give a special break on Exmoor. Three Acres Country House vouchers are personalised for either a specific style of room and length of stay or for a monetary value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Acres Country House Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing