We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Candlelit 25th. Wedding Anniversary dinner at wonderful Streamcombe Farm”
Review of Streamcombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streamcombe Farm
Ranked #4 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Candlelit 25th. Wedding Anniversary dinner at wonderful Streamcombe Farm”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Ian & Kaen were great hosts in looking after us. The accommodation has been created with great sympathy from the farm outbuildings to a very high standard. This is only bettered by Ian's culinary skills & enthusiasm for everything he does.
Janet is returning for the cookery course in a few weeks.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pangbourne, Berks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Really enjoyed staying at Streamcombe Farm - Ian is a really good chef and we had a lovely evening meal here. The breakfast also great, lots of choice and very high quality. Peaceful setting down long unmade lane, adored the free range chickens and guinea fowl wandering past the breakfast room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Streamcombe Farm is situated in the most idilic hidden spot just up behind the magical town of Dulverton. We were warmly greated by Ian who it turns out to be one of the most amazing chefs and a really nice bloke! We were shown to the downstairs room which had a cute stable door leading out to a courtyard. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom total luxury and every where extremely clean. we met Karen who again was warm, welcoming and interesting. We spent two nights and enjoyed Ian's fantastic breakfast but best part of it all was Saturday evening enjoying a five star evening meal. If you are thinking of staying on Exmoor stay at Streamcombe Farm,trust me we are fussy and you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: All rooms will be 5star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at Streamcombe Farm and we can confirm that the accomodation and hospitality were first rate. Our parents were staying at a 'rival' B+B and were green with envy at the location and facilities. We arrived at Streamcombe Farm damp and with aching feet after a long walk; however our spirits were soon lifted when Karen served us a large pot of tea and warm chocolate brownies! Dinner was fantastic; this coupled with Ian's fabulous breakfast means we will definately be booking a place at the cookery school.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IssyA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just spent the night at Streamcombe and enjoyed the stay. Hospitality and welcome was very good (although website needs to be updated since the signs to show the entrance no longer exist), really nice homemade sponge and tea... Room (hayloft) was a good size, very clean and nice bathroom. Evening meal was excellent, good quality and presentation good. Breakfast was brilliant, Ian knows how to cool a full English breakfast, so make sure you try everything.
Take the walk across the fields into Dulverton after breakfast to burn those calories off!

A few things to point out if you are tall - the bed has a foot board, so if you are upwards of 6ft 4in then you will probably a few problems and in addition the shower is not adjustable so you may well not fit underneath it. Bath towels aren't really big enough either.
minor points maybe but worth stating just in case

Only other minor gripe was the quilt wasn't a summer one, so if like me you like being on the cooler side in bed, you might not sleep to well.

However I recently recommend this for the location, hospitality and food...
I'll probably return for the cookery school, that looks good

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We've just stayed the weekend at Streamcombe farm to celebrate my husbands birthday. We arrived Friday afternoon and spent a couple of hours with Ian in the cookery school learning how to make focaccia, lemon tart and how to chop like a pro! We then went to our room, the lovely hayloft and had a relaxing bath before going down to the conservatory for a wine and food matching evening. We spent Saturday in porlock at the exmoor owl and hawk centre then back to Streamcombe for a delicious dinner! We would definitely recommend eating at the farm, the food is wonderful, you take your own wine and then you just have to stumble the few steps to you room. As for the rooms, the bed and the pillows in the hayloft were so comfortable that it must be very hard not to have a good nights sleep (unless you are very tall, as if you are you may find the bed a little short in that room). The room was spotless and very quiet, except for the relaxing
twitter of birds, chickens and guinea fowl and the odd sound of a sheep or cow! The bath was great too. The cooked Breakfast was delicious, especially the bacon and the eggs, but the pancakes were equally scrumptious. We'll definitely go back, maybe next time taking some friends so we can take over the whole place and perhaps ask Ian to give us another cooking class! All in all a lovely place to stay

breakfast was amazing too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at Streamcombe and loved every moment of our stay. We stayed in the Stable Room which was an absolute treat. The room is a very generous size, has its own entrance, has a luxurious bathroom and very comfortable huge bed. The whole B&B is very beautifully furnished and all the fittings are of a very high standard.Ian and Karen are the perfect hosts - friendly, helpful and relaxed. We had dinner at Streamcombe on the second night of our stay and were so happy we took up this option. The meal was absolutely superb - every mouthful a taste sensation. Breakfasts too were delicious. Streamcombe Is a fantastic choice if you happen to be in this beautiful part of England. We highly urecommend it.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
19.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#16 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
5.1 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#3 of 5 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streamcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streamcombe Farm

Property: Streamcombe Farm
Address: Streamcombe Farm Streamcombe Lane, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural, romantic hideaway offering beautiful, contemporary accommodation within a converted stone barn, full of character and charm. An evening dinner menu is available on most days and cookery classes run weekly. A footpath leads from the garden to Dulverton, 2 miles, and the immediate, wild environment offers frequent sightings of wild Red Deer, buzzards and woodpeckers. A very unique and special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Streamcombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streamcombe Farm Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing