We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary delight and cozy retreat”
Review of Streamcombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streamcombe Farm
Ranked #5 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely anniversary weekend stay at Streamcombe farm thanks to Karen and Ian. Ian's baking and desserts course was brilliant, got some amazing top tips and managed to make an unbelievable amount of treats. Ian takes care of all the oven timings etc so it's completely stress free fun cooking.
Ian cooked us a delicious dinner that night and likewise gourmet breakfast after a very peaceful night in the hay loft.
The farmhouse is impeccably done and I loved the local Exmoor china!

We can't wait to go back and have highly recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

The breadmaking course we attended was excellent. It was suitable for all levels of experience and very enjoyable. The room was very comfortable & we enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast. I would highly recommend Streamcombe Farm.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We Stayed at Sreamcombe farm as a last minute Birthday getaway. We stayed in the gorgeous Shepherds Hut which was set in it's own paddock with a fire pit, BBQ and picnic table set next to the little river.
The hut was beautifully decorated, cosy and with lovely attention to detail whilst still keeping it's original feel.
Karen and Ian were fabulous hosts, kind, generous and attentive when needed.
We enjoyed a stunning meal produced by Ian in their guest conservatory which was as good as an good gastro Pub / restaurant. Our Gluten and dairy intolerances were effortlessly catered for too.
We would definitely return, in fact it was so lovely we stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: The Shepherds hut was divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maidment79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Streathcombe Farm for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Ian and Karen were delightful hosts and breakfast, cooked by Ian, was delicious. Our room was not the biggest but it was comfortable and extremely clean, the bath was the longest ever! When we arrived we were offered tea/coffee and cake, unfortunately there was no decaf tea on offer, but our hosts were extremely accommodating and it was available for breakfast!!

I have no criticisms but one or two observations that may help future visitors: we stayed in the downstairs room and found that we could hear everything from the room above. It didn't bother us, it wasn't noisy but could have been slightly embarrassing if the other guests had realised. It would have been nice to have a little snack in the room to eat after a day out, a biscuit perhaps.

Would we stay here again, if we were in the area, yes we would, no hesitation. It is a little off the beaten track, but we like that. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was delightful. Breakfasts and dinner in the conservatory were delicious - and we couldn't have asked for a more lovely setting, looking out over sunny farmland and watching the guinea fowl scrabble around while we dined. Our bedroom & bathroom (we were in the Stable) were comfortable and nicely appointed, and Karen & Ian were perfect hosts. Phone reception is patchy as it's so lovely and secluded, and this added to a feeling of properly getting away. There are lovely walks all around - leaflets with suggestions in the lounge so you don't need to plan ahead. We are trying to work out when we can get away to come again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stable which can be made up as a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirdavidattenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our second time at Streamcombe. Spent three nights and as before our stay was a very pleasurable one. Ian and Karen always make you feel so welcome, offering refreshments upon arrival. We stayed in the Hayloft room which feels very luxurious with a comfortable bed, sofa, changing area, small outside space, but best of all was a huge roll top bath you'll want to soak in for hours! However all the rooms are beautifully decorated with expensive finishes. B'fast was relaxing and filling! You have to experience Ian's cooking one evening, just read all the other reviews if you need convincing. We look forward to returning again this year for another relaxing visit. Thank you Ian&Karen we wish you every success in the future keep up the good work x

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful but worth paying extra for The Hayloft as its larger with a roll top bath plus b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalisburyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a return visit for myself and the first time my husband and sons visited Streamcombe. Karen and Ian give you a warm welcome in this fantastic rural retreat where you truly can escape and relax from the bustle of everday life. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very comfortable and of a very high standard. Ian's cooking is delicious and the service and real attention to detail ensured our stay was memorable. We had a family Cookery Day which Ian had planned. His enthusiasm, knowledge, expertise and patience make Ian an outstanding teacher. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. I cannot recommend Streamcombe highly enough. Thank you Ian and Karen.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FishWrothamHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
4.0 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
189 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#2 of 5 in Dulverton
11 reviews
5.5 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#9 of 17 in Dulverton
5 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Wimbleball Holidays
#5 of 5 in Dulverton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streamcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streamcombe Farm

Address: Streamcombe Farm Streamcombe Lane, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural, romantic hideaway offering beautiful, contemporary accommodation within a converted stone barn, full of character and charm. An evening dinner menu is available on most days and cookery classes run weekly. A footpath leads from the garden to Dulverton, 2 miles, and the immediate, wild environment offers frequent sightings of wild Red Deer, buzzards and woodpeckers. A very unique and special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Streamcombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streamcombe Farm Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing